We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
92
39
17
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
39
17
4
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017

I'd say the strong point of this hotel is its location overlooking goregous Gran Bahia. The building is colorful and each room has a balcony with a magnificent view.

Room, bathroom, beds, furniture, linen and towels were all clean and smelled clean.

The overall price includes all meals, buffet style. This we found to be the hotel's weakest point: most of the food was ordinary and uninspiring. Exceptions were their pescado sarandeado and ceviche verde, both of which were extremely good. These you should be able to enjoy on Saturdays when they specialize in mariscos (seafood). Alcoholic drinks are included in the overall fee. Their wine is mediocre but their beer is good. They do mixed drinks as well and their margaritas are quite good.

The staff are mostly local youths whom we found very friendly and competent.

In regard to peace and quiet, the rooms have thick walls to keep out noise from neighbors, but the hotel puts on a show Friday and Saturday nights from about 8 PM to midnight, which could drive some people crazy if their room is located in the wrong spot. Thanks to Tripadvisor, we knew about this problem in advance and asked to be located far from the loud music. This resolved the problem nicely.

Let me add that this hotel has three attractions you are unlikely to find in any other: these are a trio of playful mapaches (raccoons) that, say the staff, show up at 7 PM every night, trying to steal food that gues have left on their plates.

Finally: the hotel is located next to the only town-and-beach combination in Mexico offering full facilities for the handicapped and aged. You can, for example rent a floating wheelchair for only 25 pesos per day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the music as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

The beds have ren faint stains, and some have light yellow stains. That i hope are not urine. We needed someone to come in to fix our room's air conditioner, because it was dripping water and the room was warm. I also found multiple bed bugs in the sheets. And received multiple bites, as well as my other family members. (as shows in pictures) You are better off renting a room next to the resort from one of the local hotels for half the price and just walk into the private resort and enjoy all the amenities for free. I saw a multiple groups of people doing that, next time ill know :(. So be wary of your sorroundings as the resort is not private and is open to anyone around. The beach is also not private, it gets really scary and risky if you feel like walk out past 7:00. The wifi is a false advertisement. You only get wifi if your in the main lobby and even then i could not even get one email loaded?!!! The drinks are a pain to access in the dinning area since there is only one spot to get them from, and the dinning area is so small i was constantly bumping into people with each other plates. The male Bar tender in the pool area was one of the rudest employee in the resort, I cant even explain his behavior. As we waited in the lobby we were prohibited from requesting anything to drink as we were told our services ended at 12?! The children could not request drinks or snacks while we waited or we would get charged a plate. I found their behavior ridiculous as they had tourists from outside coming in and out freely. Total rip off.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Angdema13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I highly recommend this hotel because it is a beautiful property the rooms are large and have recently been refurbished- everything looks immaculate and the staff is very helpful and kind. I like that they have the option to pay all inclusive "this might be a good choice if you drink a lot and or travel with children" we chose the non all inclusive option- a few steps down the hotel we found the small palapa local restaurants and the food was delicious- We didn't eat in the hotel- therefore I can't say good or bad on the meals-
The pool area is amazing with a swim up bar and the grass area with the lounge chairs between the pool and the beach made our pictures look like paradise-

We stayed there in May of 2016- and now I am looking forward to organizing a family trip there again- hopefully sometime in October for a warmer beach- The beach is clean no high waves- almost feels like a small lake- the water was a bit cold, but not as cold as our California beaches.

Room Tip: all rooms have oceanview
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _riosirma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Terrible food, too many steps, under renovation, not recommended until renovation it is finished, friendly staff, but the food was close to be inedible. I can not imagine staying there as an all inclusive.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Beachandsnowbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We stayed here Jan 9th- Jan 11th, and we loved every minute of it. The service is great, all rooms are beautiful and have an amazing view. We purchased the all inclusive package, unlimited food and drinks and it was well worth it! Every Friday and Saturday night there is entertainment by the pool area, very fun! The pool is very big, and the swim up bar is so fun! The owner Don Pepe was so amazing, he helped to organize something very special for my in laws on the Saturday night we were there. They absolutely loved it and we will forever be very grateful!

Room Tip: Every room is great, they all have an amazing view of the ocean, all rooms have AC!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta H, Propietario at La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015
Google Translation

muchas gracias los recuerdo muy bien tambien nos quedamos muy agradecidos con ustedes por que se les veia muy contentos .. en nombre de todos mis compañeros les damos las gracias esperando verlos pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews