We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Remarkable Story”

The House of Yeap Chor Ee
Ranked #93 of 218 things to do in Penang Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Yeap Chor Ee is a social history gallery tells the story of Yeap Chor Ee, a young immigrant who arrived in Penang in the 1880s. Through the journey of Yeap Chor Ee, the Gallery gives an insight into his life and the lives of immigrants who arrived on the island from China more than 100 years ago.
Newark
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Remarkable Story”
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This museum about the life of Yeap Chor Ee is fascinating and an inspiration for any would be entreprenuer. A man whose parents died when he was very young and then a misearble childhood until at seventeen he emigrated to Penang. Lived in squalid conditions working as a hairdresser and then acquired a business and became weathly from sugar import and refinement using the capital to start a bank. He bought a huge mansion and furntiure from that house forms part of the exhibition. It is well worth a visit to get an insight into the life of an immigrant and the story of success. The audio commentary is very helpful.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Roy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed 21 January 2016

How did a young, penniless Chinese 19th century immigrant become one of Penang's wealthiest men who at various times controlled Malaysia's sugar business or the world's tin trade?

The House of Yeap Chor Ee advertises itself as a "social history gallery," and that is what it is. If you are looking for the feel of a "home" ("How did people live in those days?"), you'll be disappointed. But if you are curious about history, culture, or people, you will find the personal history of this Chinese entrepreneur totally fascinating. Along the way, you'll learn about Chinese wedding customs, you can study a graph of his unbroken 2,500-year old lineage, and yes, you'll also see some amazing pieces of inlaid furniture.

You can listen to a 20-minute interview with one of his bank employees. (This was a personal favorite of mine, though we ran out of time and I couldn't finish it.)

You're free to roam the gallery on your own; the audio tour included in the price is very good (though the actual machinery is a bit finicky at times - I wish it worked a bit better. But it does the job...)

I like to see things I normally don't see and learn about people from a different segment of life. After a slow start, I got into things and found this gallery a real treasure trove. I definitely rate this one of Penang's top attractions!

We could only stay 90 min., so I'm already planning to find a time when I can go back and look more carefully at what I missed. (And listen to the rest of that interview...)

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank rugiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting family house”
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Interesting family house filled with history, style, class, and antiques. The house is clean and well kept and one is free to roam around. The audio guide and video provide good information. Worth a visit if you are in Georgetown.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Reise2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
1,908 reviews
780 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 745 helpful votes
“Chinese immigrant”
Reviewed 5 July 2015

This is a chinese immigrant who came to malaya worked his guts out to become a millionaire. He is a well know philantrophist in penang. You will be taken on an audio tour of his house showing his early livelyhood in malaya and how he worked his way to become a millionaire. these are a few of the early people who helped to develop penang to what it is today. A truly malaysian.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank jeff1955malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“New knowledge ”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

I like the audio thingy they gave for the visit. Each section will have audio explanation and make the tour more informative instead of just looking at photos.

Things inside are well maintained. And the place is very clean.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank epun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House of Yeap Chor Ee also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to The House of Yeap Chor Ee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing