We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful House and Informative Trip!”

The House of Yeap Chor Ee
Ranked #90 of 207 things to do in Penang Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Yeap Chor Ee is a social history gallery tells the story of Yeap Chor Ee, a young immigrant who arrived in Penang in the 1880s. Through the journey of Yeap Chor Ee, the Gallery gives an insight into his life and the lives of immigrants who arrived on the island from China more than 100 years ago.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Beautiful House and Informative Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016

A very beautifully restored place with a slightly modern touch, the House of Yeap Chor Ee provides a very quaint experience going through informative exhibits located on all 3 floors of the house. Information is well-disseminated via appealing infographics and photographs. Artifacts in this museum are items actually used by Yeap Chor Ee and his family.

This museum provides a holistic view of the life of Yeap Chor Ee and his family. I learnt a lot about his life, culture and contributions to society.

I highly recommend this place as a place for one to learn more not only about this man, but also about the way of life in the past (e.g. arranged marriages, societal norms of the past etc.).

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank pspam1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Remarkable Story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2016

This museum about the life of Yeap Chor Ee is fascinating and an inspiration for any would be entreprenuer. A man whose parents died when he was very young and then a misearble childhood until at seventeen he emigrated to Penang. Lived in squalid conditions working as a hairdresser and then acquired a business and became weathly from sugar import and refinement using the capital to start a bank. He bought a huge mansion and furntiure from that house forms part of the exhibition. It is well worth a visit to get an insight into the life of an immigrant and the story of success. The audio commentary is very helpful.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Roy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016

How did a young, penniless Chinese 19th century immigrant become one of Penang's wealthiest men who at various times controlled Malaysia's sugar business or the world's tin trade?

The House of Yeap Chor Ee advertises itself as a "social history gallery," and that is what it is. If you are looking for the feel of a "home" ("How did people live in those days?"), you'll be disappointed. But if you are curious about history, culture, or people, you will find the personal history of this Chinese entrepreneur totally fascinating. Along the way, you'll learn about Chinese wedding customs, you can study a graph of his unbroken 2,500-year old lineage, and yes, you'll also see some amazing pieces of inlaid furniture.

You can listen to a 20-minute interview with one of his bank employees. (This was a personal favorite of mine, though we ran out of time and I couldn't finish it.)

You're free to roam the gallery on your own; the audio tour included in the price is very good (though the actual machinery is a bit finicky at times - I wish it worked a bit better. But it does the job...)

I like to see things I normally don't see and learn about people from a different segment of life. After a slow start, I got into things and found this gallery a real treasure trove. I definitely rate this one of Penang's top attractions!

We could only stay 90 min., so I'm already planning to find a time when I can go back and look more carefully at what I missed. (And listen to the rest of that interview...)

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank rugiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting family house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2015

Interesting family house filled with history, style, class, and antiques. The house is clean and well kept and one is free to roam around. The audio guide and video provide good information. Worth a visit if you are in Georgetown.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Reise2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1,675 reviews
641 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
“Chinese immigrant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2015

This is a chinese immigrant who came to malaya worked his guts out to become a millionaire. He is a well know philantrophist in penang. You will be taken on an audio tour of his house showing his early livelyhood in malaya and how he worked his way to become a millionaire. these are a few of the early people who helped to develop penang to what it is today. A truly malaysian.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank jeff1955malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House of Yeap Chor Ee also viewed

 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to The House of Yeap Chor Ee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing