We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$295
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$1,619
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$797
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$152
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$520
US$388
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,264)
Filter reviews
3,264 results
Traveller rating
2,114
757
238
88
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,114
757
238
88
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelkidz clubjerk shackmontego baynew buildingitalian restaurantunion jacksmichael jackson showchoicez buffetkelly anndi rozabarefoot jerkzbutler suiteall inclusive resortairport loungeziva poolnightly entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 3,264 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third time at the resort over the past few years. We are always happy, as the resort is nice, service good, food is good and rooms spacious.

The resort itself is located only 10-15 minutes from Montego Bay airport. Once pass customs, a welcome lounge is there where staff will greet you and get you ready for your transfer. My one complaint here is that all of the other resorts offer some sort of welcome drink, while the Ziva/Zilara only offers bottles of water.

The resort requires you to prepay up front, which is a little unusual for our other Hyatt/vacation experiences. We stayed in the presidential suite in building 2 (room 2546). The butler showing us our room failed to mention the concierge lounge on our floor, which we didn’t discover until our third day there. The suite is sprawling, very large, with a king bed and large master bath, large living room, dining room and very large two balconies. We also had a second regular room a floor below, which was fine.

Food is very good for an all-inclusive. Being foodies, we were rather pleased again. Asian cuisine was good, Brazilian steakhouse decent, and Calypso (Caribbean fare) solid choices. The buffet breakfast is excellent. There is a small ice cream shop which we frequented daily.

Drinks and bartending service was again below expected quality. One should be able to easily pay for upgrades alcohol, eg Grey Goose Vodka. Instead, whenever we asked about this it seemed like pulling someone’s arm to try to find better alcohol— they DO have it, but it is difficult and often you have to buy a whole bottle. The bartenders in general seem very unhappy. You have to flag them down to get their attention, and they rarely smile. Kinda strange— others at the resort were also saying the same thing.

The pools and beach area are nice. We rented the Royal Palm cabana- was a good deal considering it was huge, and came with two 15 minute massages, fruit plate and service to bring lunch. We have paid well over $250 at other resorts for smaller, not as nice cabanas. Servers came by regularly at the pool, although they were harder to find by the beach.

Jamaica is VERY wavy, and so the beach area for swimming is a smaller area which has been built up to make the ocean swimming calmer/easier. Our kids enjoyed it. We didn’t have any good days to go deep sea fishing, as it was too windy, but our butlers did rig some fishing poles for us and we were able to catch little fish off the local dock.

Entertainment was decent. There was a magician one night for the kids, other evenings they had bands playing.

Overall- if you want a good family resort (or adults only- we have enjoyed Zilara too), with decent food, close to the airport, Hyatt Ziva/Zilara was better than most of the Beaches/Dreams locations we have been to. It is not Four-seasons/5 Star, but decent quality to make us come back for the third time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank DrMikeinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlettcampbell, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DrMikeinNJ,

Thank you for such a meticulously review. We are grateful that you have repeatedly chosen Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall to host your family vacation, and are delighted to know you were impressed by the level of service you received from our colleagues. Thanks for the Four-Star review, in spite of your experience with the bartenders

We do pride ourselves with offering genuine service from the heart to ensure all our guests leave with unforgettable experiences and fondest desires to come back soon.

Allow me to especially thank you for your comments, suggestions and referrals. It is comments like these that allow us to improve our product year after year.

On behalf of the Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall colleagues, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

“With Service from the Heart”,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have travelled to many all inclusives and this may be the best one yet. We had three teenagers with us that were entertained on their spring break. There were a lot of other kids and families, but it never felt like the kids overhelmed the pool or the fun the adults were having. Food was very good. French may be the best restaurant, but the Jerk Hut at the pool won the prize with our group. Don't skip the breakfast buffet (this is not a buffet to stay away from).The fitness room was one of the largest and most current I have been to at any hotel property. We got cabanas at the pool and at the beach on several days. The poolside drink service was good regardless if you had a cabana or not. Kenroy at the pool is a great bartender. The staff is fun and energetic. Kelly Ann and the Z Crew were always getting people involved and had tremendous energy. Rooms were fine and looked like they had been redone. Bathrooms were very nice. We did not spend much time in the room. We did do an excursion one day and were glad we did. Felt very safe and taken care of the entire time. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JD42017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlettcampbell, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JD42017

From the management and staff thank you for choosing Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall to host your recent vacation, and especially for taking the time to share with us your FOUR-STAR review!

We are delighted to know you received an outstanding level of service from our colleagues at our All-Inclusive Resort, as we do pride ourselves with offering genuine service from the heart to ensure all our guests leave with unforgettable experiences and fondest desires to come back soon. I will personally commend Kenroy and Kelly-Ann on the service they meted out to you.

Allow me to thank you once again for your comments and on behalf of Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall colleagues, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

“With Service from the Heart”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 5 day trip with our 18 year old daughter. It was a beautiful stay.

Our room was 2121, an ocean view one bedroom swim up butler suite. The room was beautiful. Seemed to be updated with nice furnishings, 2 bathrooms, a pull out sofa, stocked mini fridge, 2 TVs, 2 balcony areas and its own pool area with 3 lounge chairs. It was in the main building which was convenient to the 2 Ziva pools, the main lobby coffee shop and bar and the beautiful gym - we were also in the same area as the kids club. This is a room marked for 3 people only. I’m unsure of why as there is certainly room for 4 but what was even stranger was that there were only 3 chairs on 2 balconies. Only one balcony had a table and there were only 3 lounge chairs. The fold out sofa was not a regular mattress, it was a foam futon which sat close to the floor that was quite “firm” so I wouldn’t suggest this for an adult necessarily.

Unfortunately the swim up pool was never used since it was in the shade all the time, the water was very cold. There was zero privacy as there is a walkway to the pool directly behind it. As for the ocean view - because there were shrubs lining the walkway, you really didn’t see the ocean. If you’re looking for an ocean view, I would suggest a higher floor.

We were assigned 2 butlers throughout our
stay but frankly, I didn’t see the value in the butlers here. Upon arrival we were met by our butler at the shuttle who informed us we were “early” as check in is 3pm - well yes our flight landed at 10am so I would think we would arrive earlier than 3pm! We marked our reservation with our flight details for the shuttle so they knew when we’d be arriving so I’m unsure of why it was such a surprise. Anyway, we were aware our room may not be ready at that time so we had a bag with a change of clothes and asked where we could change. The butler showed us to a restroom near the pools and then began to walk away. I asked where we could eat and she pointed in a distance that the food for lunch is served over there. Um okay - thanks for the tour? And maybe some lounge chairs? Nope she didn’t attempt to help with that either. The butlers cannot reserve a restaurant, nor can they reserve a beach chair or poolside lounge chair as they have a policy that if you’re not at the beach or pool you cannot hold a chair. I find this extremely interesting given that every morning we walked through the pool area to find nearly every poolside chair covered in a towel with no humans in site. (See my photos as proof of this phenomenon). There was one morning where we asked our butler to meet us at the pool and find us chairs and umbrellas. He did so but only after he saw how annoyed I was that I had to deal with this nonsense of hunting for a lounge chair.

The pool area at Ziva is very “lively”. There is one pool that is closer to the beach where all of the activities take place. There is water aerobics, in water spinning, dance lessons, a family friendly dance contest, amongst others. The other pool, where we stayed the first day, has the swim up bar. So not “as loud” but you still had the music in the background. The poolside and in pool bar service is very good although if they run out of something they don’t go to get it right away - you basically need to pick something else. Mojito? We ran out of mint. AND??? And what else would you like? Mimosa - we ran out of champagne. Oh ok guess I’m having something else or walking to another bar....

The liquors are Jamaican rum, rum cream, Jamaican gin. The vodka is Smirnoff. For $95 you can buy a bottle of grey goose.

The rum drinks were fantastic (I always asked for an extra float on top and they happy to provide it) the vodka drinks were weak. They also have no lemons or limes to put in the drinks - they have “bottled” lime juice. Yuck (it’s not lime season).

In the Ziva, the Rose Hall is the newest building but it is in the “noisy” part of the resort at night. It overlooks the sea and the courtyard surrounding the restaurants and the stage where the music starts nightly at about 7 and runs until about 10pm.

We spent the last two days at the Zilara adults only pool. It is quieter there and the lounge chairs are cushioned. You also don’t have the “reserving” of lounge chairs at the crack of dawn here. The poolside service is excellent.

The food at the resort was good, not great. We ate at the Italian restaurant where the pizza and pasta were good. The risotto was terrible as was the calamari. The Asian restaurant was disappointing. They show a menu with wok service, Japanese bbq and Indonesian dishes. Problem is you can’t have all these options. It’s either wok, or Japanese or ala cart with the Thai and indonesian. We wound up at a community wok station and amongst 3 of us could only order 2 proteins. Service here was very rude and rushed. Food tasted fine. I highly recommend the Jamaican restaurant for dinner on the zilara side (it’s adults only) the food here was the best of our trip along with the jerk chicken they make at the beachside hut during the day. The buffet for breakfast was great but for dinner was very weak. Lots of pasta and rice very little “high end” protein. (Chicken legs, roast turkey breast). The burgers at lunch are over cooked and dry. There is a pizza counter that is good but you have to typically wait for the margarita pizza as it seems as soon as they put out this pizza it’s gone.

At night the entertainment is lovely as are the different fire pit areas to sit and enjoy a drink. The service is great here at night as well. The British pub has a dj at night that runs late.

All in All I would recommend this resort. It seems great for families with little kids as well as adults on the zilara side.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank perfumegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlettcampbell, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear PerfumeGirl,

From the staff, thank you for choosing Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall to host your recent vacation, and especially for taking the time to share with us your FOUR-STAR review irrespective of the unmet expectations!

We are delighted to know you received good service from my colleagues at our All-Inclusive Resort, as we do pride ourselves with offering genuine service from the heart to ensure all our guests leave with unforgettable experiences and fondest desires to come back soon.

Allow me to thank you for your comments and suggestions on ways we can improve the food and beverage experience. It is comments like these that allow us to improve year after year.

On behalf of the Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall colleagues, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

“With Service from the Heart”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the lounge at the airport to the return shuttle, everything was perfect. The staff were so gracious & sincerely there to assist you with anything. We had a small problem at check in with our room swim up room category not being available and were charged for any upgrade. We went back to a manager & the money was credited back since it was their fault. The buffet was okay, but the Brazilian, Italian & Blue Grill were excellent. Loved the Jerk Hut & Bitez.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Mimi52056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlettcampbell, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mimi52056,

From our "graciuos and sincere" staff, thank you for choosing Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall to host your recent vacation, and especially for taking the time to share with us your FIVE-STAR review!

We are delighted to know you received an outstanding level of service from our colleagues at our All-Inclusive Resort, as we do pride ourselves with offering genuine service from the heart to ensure all our guests leave with unforgettable experiences and fondest desires to come back soon.

Allow me to thank you once again for your comments and on behalf of Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall colleagues, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

“With Service from the Heart”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

amazing experience - don't blink just book - amazing hotel resort for an inclusive - great for families and adults - i would go back again and again and again - really enjoyed all the service, food, endless beverages and assistance with local attractions

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank rjcamp2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlettcampbell, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear RJCamp2002,

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Ziva and Zilara Rose Hall to host your recent vacation, and especially for taking the time to share with us your FIVE-STAR review!

We are delighted to know you received an outstanding level of service from our colleagues at our All-Inclusive Resort, as we do pride ourselves with offering genuine service from the heart to ensure all our guests leave with unforgettable experiences and fondest desires to come back soon.

Allow me to thank you once again for your comments and on behalf of Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall colleagues, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

“With Service from the Heart”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews