We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oasis Motel and Campground(Antigonish)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claymore Inn(Antigonish)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Inn(New Glasgow)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
162
137
65
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
137
65
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliscombe lodgethe rivernova scotiadining roomplank salmoneastern shorehiking trailsindoor poolsherbrooke villagebreakfast buffetbird feederswood stoveget awaybeautiful locationgames roomstayed one nightseafood chowder
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This was going to be a rating of 4 but after some unprofessional billing practices, it had to be revised.
We were checked in by a strange but very friendly woman at the reception and were given the keys to our rooms in the "Lodge" part of the resort, which was dead apart from one other couple staying. We had requested rooms with a king bed in each but for some reason, this had not been honoured and instead both rooms had two queen beds. The rooms were fine enough but quite dated. Most importantly, however, they were clean. Both had a nice balcony with a view over the river.
The best reason to stay here is the food. We had a fantastic meal and especially enjoyed the planked salmon and homemade pies for pudding. The breakfast was also excellent, with fantastic choices à la carte. Service in the restaurant was brilliant and really friendly.
The resort is very well located and has nice grounds for an evening stroll but even in early June there were a lot of biting insects about. There also looked to be a riverside hike within the site. The Lodge where our rooms were had a communal sitting room area, which was pleasant but rather soulless.
Upon our return home, we received a letter in the post to say that we were being charged an extra $105 as the bill for room 103 had been transferred to ours. As we had been in rooms 101 and 102, this made no sense to us and we called the hotel in order to understand the situation. The woman I spoke to, making no apology in doing so, stated that we had not been charged the correct amount when we checked out and that we were being billed accordingly. Indeed that is fair enough but for the hotel not to admit their error in the previous correspondence nor for them to apologise for the error was quite unprofessional. With none of this having been explained, we were, naturally, alarmed when we learnt of the additional charge. The hotel would be a lot better if the rooms were updated somewhat and bookkeeping was done properly.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you for the honest review about your stay. We're happy that you brought this to our attention as we can take steps to remedy our billing process as this is not normal. I assure you that this will be looked into further.

Reviews like yours are what allows us to improve in our practices - I'm very sorry for the miscommunication. We hope that you will consider staying with us again if you return to Nova Scotia.

Sincerely,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We looked at two rooms both nice. The room in the main lodge had a balcony overlooking the the water. All rooms face the water. There was a common area with fireplace and area to go out to the water. We chose to stay in the cabin it was a little quieter. The cabin has two hotel rooms on one end and two on the other. The middle is a common room with fireplace that we could light. We were the only ones in the cabin and so we had the whole place to ourselves to sit in front of the fire before retiring. It was very nice.
A little deck with deck chairs to enjoy the water or the stars. The beds were comfortable and the hotel room was clean. Our room had a fridge, t.v., hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
The restaurant had gluten free options which were important to me. The food was very good. I hear the plank salmon is excellent.
Breakfast buffet was good. They made me gluten free pancakes which were delicious. The staff were very friendly.
Trails for hiking, it was a peaceful stay.
It's a little out of the way so I recommend bringing snacks.
Wifi is free, but we were not able to get connected.
No cell phone worked there which actually made for a peaceful night.
We got a great deal online and so I rate this 5/5 for our experience, staff, food...everything was great. If I paid more I might have been more critical, it is a little dated however it was clean and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N_Charlie7619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

We're happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us at Liscombe Lodge. Our many rooming options are wonderful way to shape your trip to be exactly how you like it. The common area in our cabin is wonderful addition for resting by the fire. We hope that you have a chance to return to us in the future to be able to try our signature planked salmon.

Until then,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Yes it's off the beaten track but when you can sit in a restaurant, enjoy a superb meal or breakfast and watch finches and humming birds feeding inches away through a window that overlooks a river, you know it was worth the trip. Comfortable and clean rooms. excellent service. Perfect end to a two week bus tour. Make sure you walk down to the falls.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you for the lovely review of Liscombe Lodge. We provide ourselves on being able to bring nature to the people - we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility of our resort.

Sincerely,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here one night on way to Lunenburg so can only comment on room and breakfast, although having walked around the lodge there is plenty to do if you are staying longer.

The rooms though spacious and also with the balcony still look very dated and tired. The breakfast was plentiful and varied and the views outside the windows were very relaxing.

Overall suited our needs but the place could do with updating as it is looking very dated.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the Riverside Dining Room.

Thank you for your honesty with your feedback. We have shared the problems you had mentioned with our team, and we are working to make your next stay even better. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Me and my family stayed at Liscombe lodge for one day and a night, it was a great stay, the food and the service was great. We stay in very nice and cozy cottage by the river. Even though we had no cellular phone reception their free Wi-Fi service compensate for it. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Liscombe lodge resort a great place and in a great area of Nova Scotia.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ashton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

We love hearing from families that have enjoyed our resort! Sometimes being able to escape from it all has it's perks - you truly get to experience what untouched Nova Scotia is about. We hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Yours truly,

Karen Wanaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews