We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten trail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Liscomb Mills
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a conference. Upgraded to one of the chalets. Beautiful location, excellent food; but pricey. Pet friendly but place could use some sprucing up. The main inn is a little shabby. Good activities for kids and beautiful, tranquil location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Reena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Our location is one of the most beautiful in Nova Scotia - it's always nice to hear that our natural setting is appreciated. We hope that overall you enjoyed your time with us while staying for your conference.

Thank you,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2015

This was going to be a rating of 4 but after some unprofessional billing practices, it had to be revised.
We were checked in by a strange but very friendly woman at the reception and were given the keys to our rooms in the "Lodge" part of the resort, which was dead apart from one other couple staying. We had requested rooms with a king bed in each but for some reason, this had not been honoured and instead both rooms had two queen beds. The rooms were fine enough but quite dated. Most importantly, however, they were clean. Both had a nice balcony with a view over the river.
The best reason to stay here is the food. We had a fantastic meal and especially enjoyed the planked salmon and homemade pies for pudding. The breakfast was also excellent, with fantastic choices à la carte. Service in the restaurant was brilliant and really friendly.
The resort is very well located and has nice grounds for an evening stroll but even in early June there were a lot of biting insects about. There also looked to be a riverside hike within the site. The Lodge where our rooms were had a communal sitting room area, which was pleasant but rather soulless.
Upon our return home, we received a letter in the post to say that we were being charged an extra $105 as the bill for room 103 had been transferred to ours. As we had been in rooms 101 and 102, this made no sense to us and we called the hotel in order to understand the situation. The woman I spoke to, making no apology in doing so, stated that we had not been charged the correct amount when we checked out and that we were being billed accordingly. Indeed that is fair enough but for the hotel not to admit their error in the previous correspondence nor for them to apologise for the error was quite unprofessional. With none of this having been explained, we were, naturally, alarmed when we learnt of the additional charge. The hotel would be a lot better if the rooms were updated somewhat and bookkeeping was done properly.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you for the honest review about your stay. We're happy that you brought this to our attention as we can take steps to remedy our billing process as this is not normal. I assure you that this will be looked into further.

Reviews like yours are what allows us to improve in our practices - I'm very sorry for the miscommunication. We hope that you will consider staying with us again if you return to Nova Scotia.

Sincerely,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We looked at two rooms both nice. The room in the main lodge had a balcony overlooking the the water. All rooms face the water. There was a common area with fireplace and area to go out to the water. We chose to stay in the cabin it was a little quieter. The cabin has two hotel rooms on one end and two on the other. The middle is a common room with fireplace that we could light. We were the only ones in the cabin and so we had the whole place to ourselves to sit in front of the fire before retiring. It was very nice.
A little deck with deck chairs to enjoy the water or the stars. The beds were comfortable and the hotel room was clean. Our room had a fridge, t.v., hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
The restaurant had gluten free options which were important to me. The food was very good. I hear the plank salmon is excellent.
Breakfast buffet was good. They made me gluten free pancakes which were delicious. The staff were very friendly.
Trails for hiking, it was a peaceful stay.
It's a little out of the way so I recommend bringing snacks.
Wifi is free, but we were not able to get connected.
No cell phone worked there which actually made for a peaceful night.
We got a great deal online and so I rate this 5/5 for our experience, staff, food...everything was great. If I paid more I might have been more critical, it is a little dated however it was clean and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N_Charlie7619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

We're happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us at Liscombe Lodge. Our many rooming options are wonderful way to shape your trip to be exactly how you like it. The common area in our cabin is wonderful addition for resting by the fire. We hope that you have a chance to return to us in the future to be able to try our signature planked salmon.

Until then,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Yes it's off the beaten track but when you can sit in a restaurant, enjoy a superb meal or breakfast and watch finches and humming birds feeding inches away through a window that overlooks a river, you know it was worth the trip. Comfortable and clean rooms. excellent service. Perfect end to a two week bus tour. Make sure you walk down to the falls.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you for the lovely review of Liscombe Lodge. We provide ourselves on being able to bring nature to the people - we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility of our resort.

Sincerely,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here one night on way to Lunenburg so can only comment on room and breakfast, although having walked around the lodge there is plenty to do if you are staying longer.

The rooms though spacious and also with the balcony still look very dated and tired. The breakfast was plentiful and varied and the views outside the windows were very relaxing.

Overall suited our needs but the place could do with updating as it is looking very dated.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the Riverside Dining Room.

Thank you for your honesty with your feedback. We have shared the problems you had mentioned with our team, and we are working to make your next stay even better. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Karen Wenaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2884 Highway 7, Liscomb Mills, Nova Scotia B0J 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Liscomb Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Liscomb Mills
Price Range: RM 530 - RM 690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Centre is any nature lover's dream destination. Overlooking Liscomb River on Nova Scotia's Eastern Shore, just two hours from Halifax, the resort offers guests a secluded destination to enjoy nature in its truest form. Their well-appointed Riverside Lodge offers 30 guestrooms and a luxury junior suite, while their 17 open-concept chalets and five four-bedroom cottages feature cozy fireplaces and spacious private-use verandas. Keeping you busy, 16 km of hiking trails, a heated indoor pool, 2 whirlpools, a sauna, fitness room, tennis court, shuffleboard, giant chess board, canoeing, kayaking, and bicycles all contribute to the many complimentary recreational options for a fabulous East Coast vacation. Enjoy Maritime cuisine with spectacular river views at the Riverside Dining Room. The savoury menu features incredible flavours, such as Nova Scotia maple syrup, and our resort's famous planked Atlantic salmon, cooked over an open fire. And, for a more casual experience, the Lone Cloud Lounge offers a relaxed atmosphere with traditional Maritime pub classics. Whether you are planning a success-inspiring Nova Scotia conference for your organization, an exciting Nova Scotia vacation, or a romantic destination wedding, Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Centre offers a rustic and comfortable experience for every occasion that will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liscombe Lodge Hotel Guysborough
Liscombe Hotel Guysborough
Liscombe Resort Guysborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing