We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
168
141
68
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
141
68
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liscombe lodge the river nova scotia dining room plank salmon eastern shore hiking trails indoor pool sherbrooke village breakfast buffet bird feeders wood stove get away beautiful location games room pool table stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The Lodge could use some updating but the setting is lovely and the rooms are clean and spacious. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly and had a lot of knowledge about the area. The beds were very comfortable. A small refrigerator in the rooms would have been appreciated but there is plentiful ice near the rooms (which those of us from the U.S. appreciate! Why are Canadian restaurants so stingy with ice in general?) We loved our room overlooking the water! The food was quite good at the restaurant - we enjoyed the planked salmon (the "signature" dish) though we understand that all the salmon is now farmed. The waterways in the area no longer support wild salmon apparently. Very pleasant wait staff for both dinner and breakfast. We also canoed and went on a tour of the harbor with Chester, a charming boat operator who has worked at the Lodge most of his life. Great experience in a beautiful atmosphere!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Wizemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for your great comments about our food, guestroom and various amenities included at Liscombe Lodge and yes we are very fortunate to have the beautiful atmosphere and the local staff that brings the charm to our nature resort. We hope that when you return to Nova Scotia that Liscombe Lodge will be on your return trip in the future.
Karen and all the Liscombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Our first impression of the Liscombe Lodge was not the best: foggy weather, buildings needing a fresh coat of paint and a not very appealing large car parking in front of the main entrance. The room was clean, functional but without any wow factor and not as nice as on the picture of the web site. Wi-Fi was available (albeit very slow at time )which was a good thing as there is no cel coverage.

However, the place grew on us and we did enjoy our 2 night stay there. The grounds, once you leave the parking area, are very nice, the staff was friendly and efficient and you will definitively have a relaxing stay. The restaurant is quite reasonable which is good as there is not really other alternative for meals within 20km. There are bird feeders in front of the restaurant which lead to an endless parade of birds of various species competing for food. Watching them is a nice way to wait for you meal.

Last but not least, the prices are quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you for your comments and we are glad that overall your stay was a good one.
We hope that we will see you in the future to enjoy our rustic nature resort.
Karen and all the Liscombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed here a few weeks back and were very disappointed. It is very outdated and a little rundown. The location is beautiful and I imagine at one time it was a great place to stay. The playground was rusted ( with 2 small kids this was disappointing) and the pool area was dirty. The rooms are okay...nothing special. We were also very disappointed with the restaurant. The meals we ate were nothing special and had no taste. It was definitely over priced.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank msviolet18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had planned to stay in Sheet Harbour but the little motel was full, and then we found the hotel in Port Dufferin had closed, so we pulled out our phones and booked this based on Trip Advisor reviews.

We were so pleased that we found this place. Our room in the main lodge was clean with two queen beds with soft white sheets, the bed was comfortable albeit a little creaky. The view over the river was lovely. We ate dinner on site which was pretty good, but the breakfast the next morning was even better, with many options.

As an FYI, there is no cell phone coverage here. They do have wifi which seemed to work better in the restaurant than in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you for your review and we are glad that your travels brought you to Liscombe Lodge to experience an Eastern Shore's nature's getaway.
I hope that you will come back in the near future and stay alittle longer to enjoy our canoes, kayaks or a tour with Chester on our pontoon boat.
Have a great summer
Karen and all the Liscombe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Stayed only one night, but would have been happy to say longer. We had evening dinner which was of a very high quality. Often a breakfast can be termed 'gourmet' well Liscomb Lodge lives up to that billing, the choice, quality etc epitomize the term.

Room Tip: Delighted we were in the main lodge as we had easy access to all facilities.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for your great comments and it is the dedication of our culinary team that continues to provide these wonderful experiences for our guest in our dining room.
I trust that we will see you at Liscombe Lodge on your next trip to Nova Scotia.
Enjoy your summer,
Karen and all the Liscombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews