We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
168
141
68
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
141
68
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liscombe lodge the river nova scotia dining room plank salmon eastern shore hiking trails indoor pool sherbrooke village breakfast buffet bird feeders wood stove get away beautiful location games room pool table stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful view from the restaurant, lots of bird feeders and a good variety of birds to watch during lunch. Service was good, Scott was very attentive and efficient. The smoked fish chowder was lovely but tiny, about 6 small bites in the cup. The remaining 5 guests found their meals average at best. The two piece fish and chips were smaller pieces than the one piece. Portions were very small. Gluten free bread was good, nice to have options for celiacs.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank RandR-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The accommodations were excellent. We had hoped for a Chalet but they were all booked. However, we were lucky to be assigned a Room in one of the Lodges for 4,as it were. 2 rooms face the river and 2 the roadway. You would not want the latter. We had #19-4,facing the river and a big bonus was NO One was assigned to the other 3 sections. This meant we had the common room and fireplace all to ourselves..as good as if not better than the chalets given the location. The room was fully equipped with fridge, coffee/ tea maker 2 Queen beds , lovely bathroom and a deck facing the river. Interesting info package in the room, a TV which we never watch, don’t own one, et cetera. Just a 2minute walk to the Main lodge and dining area. We were given a $30.00 Coupon to use towards our evening meal.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jnanayog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

I would give it 3.5. Have to keep in mind expectations - it's basically in the middle of nowhere in a relatively poor part of the province.
The location is great with superb views and it's a birder's paradise I am sure - there were many here at the same time as us. The hotel itself is really looking tired. The room and lodge were a bit shabby, though decent enough and clean. The tennis court is delapidated and cracking. The gym has not been updated or spruced up since 1980 by the looks of it. The main area with the restaurant is nice.
The service is spotty at best. The housekeeper just would not give us soap or shampoo - we were here 4 nights and didn't get any replacements at all the whole time, and we even tipped to encourage some service. I don't know if is she is selling the fancy soap bars on ebay or what, but that is ridiculous. I understand it's tough to find competent staff out in the middle of nowhere, but... OTOH, some of the other people were great, like the handyman/boat captain. Great cruise around the harbour.
Anyhow, will stay here again - just have to know what to expect.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Vladimir1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We loved the location and the room was large. We even found the dinner menu excellent! The chef did amazing things with both swordfish and salad. Unfortunately the buffet and the service were below standard. We were hard pressed to find a waitress who could tell is whether they were serving breakfast or lunch. When items ran out in the buffet they were not replaced until a patron let the staff know. Also, the wait staff did not seem to be educated about the menu, unable to answer basic questions like 'sandwich of the days is...?'.

The place is outdated and needs updating, especially for the price. Our kids loved the games room even though the pool table was shabby and the foozball table falling apart. It would take so little to shine this place up. Overpriced for the quality of what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Recently, on the way home from Cape Breton back to the Eastern Shore, we decided to stop at Liscombe Lodge for dinner. It was our first visit and we had heard great things about Liscombe. Unfortunately, we had a poor experience. When we arrived, it was obvious that the dining room was not busy, and yet it took about 10 minutes before we were even acknowledged as we stood waiting to be seated. When someone asked if we had reservations and we said no, we felt like we were an inconvenience. The dining room was over 3/4 empty and there were at least 4 servers working. We were finally seated and were told that our server would be with us shortly. We sat and watched other patrons be seated and be served even before we offered something to drink. After sitting close to 30 minutes without having our order taken, we were moments away from getting up to leave for home. Finally, a waitress came to take our order. She must not have been having a good day. To say the least, she was emotionless. She did not attempt to even converse with us or aplogize for the delay. Watching other customers seated after us be served dinner and dessert even before we got our dinner was mind boggling. To top it off, there was a young couple seated in the corner of the room with one of the Liscombe Lodge staff members (they were seated after us as well). They were obviously planning a wedding. It did not help the situation to see them be served hors doeuvres, main course and dessert well ahead of us, and have the staff hover all over them. Their loud conversation with the staff member was also very distracting. Let me make a suggestion - if you are going to meet with clients over dinner as you plan an event, maybe you should meet somewhere that is more private. We could hear every word of their plans. When the food came, we were pleased with what we got. However, the whole experience of being made to feel that we were imposing on the staff ruined our meal. Sorry, but we are not planning the drive back to Liscombe Lodge anytime soon. One positive note - the lady on the front desk greeted us both on the way in and on the way out. Maybe she could be of use in helping to train the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your comments and I have reached out to you via email,
as this is not the memory we want you to have of Liscombe Lodge.
Again I thank you for taking the time to send us your comments
as we donot grow unless we see both the bad and the good
Karen and the Liscombe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews