We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Charming 'Home from Home'”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Pub Cottage

Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic
Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Kitchen of Old Pub Cottage
Flower bed and lamp in front of cottage
Glenmore Lake local beauty spot 5klms away
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Glenmore Valley walk 6klms
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
river sheen on the caha pass. day trip from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
reflection of knockatee mountain in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm  visitor centre day trip from cottage
Local waterfall at The Pocket, Glenmore, 10klm from cottage
Coom Bridge on Healy Pass Road 4klm from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Nearest restaurant. 4 klms from cottage
Local bar serving food on the pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Yvonne S
Esse, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Charming 'Home from Home'”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent the most wonderful week in this charming cottage in a fantastic location. Our hosts, Eileen & Robert could not have been more helpful & the welcoming cup of tea, log fire & basket of goodies on our arrival was a lovely personal touch.
The cottage had everything we could have wished for for a comfortable & romantic stay, apart from a tea cosy, which we bought in Kenmare & left in the cottage for future 'tea addicts' to enjoy & make use of!
We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the gorgeous Beara Peninsula & we hope to return to Old Pub Cottage sometime - it is a gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm & character
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marina g
Ravensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a cosy dream”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a wonderful cosy week in this cottage - that we highly recommend!
Originally we just wanted to have a central located base to explore the Beara Peninsula, Inveragh and Dingle, and thought this Cottage would be well located. As we arrived (in the evening) we have found much more: a wonderfull warm-hearted Eileen who made us a warm tee and a inviting fire in the oven and gave us plenty of suggestions, what we could visit and see and patiently answered all our questions. It was wonderful! So we found much more interesting destinations than the "Standard turist way", we would never have reached otherwise. The Beara Peninsula fascinated us the most with diversified impressions: rough mountains, gentle hills, wild coasts, colourful settlements, spectacular views, breathtaking scenic landscapes and very little tourists...! so beautiful!!
and the Cottage: it was our home far from home, a place to feel well! Inviting, warm, lovely equipped and furnished with love to the detail: we didn't miss a thing.
Eileen and Robert are the loveliest hosts! we pested them with questions and the were always smiling available.
the only negative element was: one week is toooooo short!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry1015
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This Cottage Completely Charmed Us!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you've seen the pictures of The Old Pub Cottage, then I can tell you that the reality is even better than the lovely photos! This beautiful and charming abode is perched on a small hill off a quiet country rode on the Beara Peninsula, a region of Ireland which we soon discovered is one of the most wildly scenic parts of the country and is still relatively undiscovered by tourists.
We were warmly greeted at the cottage by our hosts Eileen and Robert who had already laid a blazing fire for us and made a pot of tea. There were fresh flowers in the windowsill and a basket of treats to last for our stay. Because the evening was chilly, they even made sure the bed warmer was on. What a welcome!
This lovely couple are gracious hosts who helped us plan our day trips for the five days we spent at the cottage. Yes, we did the Ring of Kerry but I can tell you that the smaller and more scenic Ring of Beara, on which the cottage is located, is worth taking at least a few days to explore.
We drove over spectacular Healy Pass, explored small farm and fishing villages, rode the cable car over the Atlantic to Dursey Island and visited Garinish Island, a beautiful paradise with spectacular gardens. Much of our time was spent gazing at green valleys and ancient, rocky slopes and watching lambs in the fields. The Beara Peninsula is also home to many ancient stone cairns and circles. These are magical, haunting places and not to be missed.
Back to the cottage: it was spotlessly clean and had every convenience we could need, including a washer and dryer. It reminded us of a cottage our of the shire in Lord of the Rings. So cute and well cared for.
The cottage is about 20 minutes from the gorgeous little town of Kenmare and is perfect for visiting Killarney (about an hour away). Muckross House and Killarney National Park are worth a visit. The lake is lovely and you can rent rwoboats to explore.
Because restaurants are about half an hour away from the cottage, we stocked up on local breads, jams and cheeses for breakfasts then ate our dinners in Kenmare and some of the cute roadside pubs (a nice, nearby pub with good food and good Guinness is called The Sailor's Bar, I think).
Anyway, our great thanks to Eileen and Robert for being such warm hosts. We will never forget our visit and we hope to return one day. We would give this place 10 stars if we could. — Kerry and Chris from Vancouver Island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming atmopshere of the cottage and the location and hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantgetan...
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chris's persepective”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a wonderful little hideaway. If you ever want to get away from it all, this is the place to go. A simple 23k drive away south from Kenmare on the ring of Beara. Great value for the $, wonderful hosts with lots of humour and concern to make sure you have a good time. The cottage is cute, clean, heritage rustic in a way, but has wireless, electric heat and a fireplace, washer and dryer etc. I could easily imagine building a place like this to live in here in BC. As far as the area goes the Beara Peninsula wins hands down compare to the Ring of Kerry. We spent a week and saw no other tourists and spent time out in valleys at stone rings with no one for miles. There is so much to se on this peninsula you could spend years here. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a wonderful getaway from it all place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts were super helpful and friendly
Liked least: Couldn't walk to a pub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RYChang
1 review
“A quaint, relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My boyfriend and I heard about this place from a mutual friend who had stayed there over te summer, and they were absolutely right about this place! Albeit the Feb month was a little bit chilly, the O'Shea's did a fantastic job in ensuring that we had all that we needed to stay warm and cozy. We had plenty of wood to feed te fireplace, the heater was on, and they even equipped the bed with an electric blanket! They gave us wonderful directions for what to do and where to eat in the area. Even though we were only able to stay for 2/3 nights we had booked, we would highly recommend anyone to pay a visit to this lovely hidden gem! If you love the old school feel and the countryside, this is a place you MUST stay at! - Ruby & Dylan (feb 2015)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$49
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing