We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Pub Cottage

Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Exterior of old pub cottage illegal pub dating back to  the 1860s
Bedroom of Old Pub Cottage .4 poster.cosy and romantic
Sitting Room in Old Pub Cottage. Free logs for fire provided during your stay
Kitchen of Old Pub Cottage
Flower bed and lamp in front of cottage
Glenmore Lake local beauty spot 5klms away
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Glenmore Valley walk 6klms
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
river sheen on the caha pass. day trip from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
reflection of knockatee mountain in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm  visitor centre day trip from cottage
Local waterfall at The Pocket, Glenmore, 10klm from cottage
Coom Bridge on Healy Pass Road 4klm from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Nearest restaurant. 4 klms from cottage
Local bar serving food on the pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
John M
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Seldom have we been able to say that we could find no fault at all with places in which we have stayed. The old pub was as close to perfection as any potential guest is ever likely to find ; Eileen and Robert were quite charming, and although all good things must come to an end, both Barbara and I were quite sad to be leaving two people who in such a short time had become friends.
Tips and guide lines ? any future guest need do nothing more than to look in the red guest book, if you think this an over simplificatuion, NOT SO ,
John and Barbara Marshall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Read our review
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreaR34...
The Netherlands
1 review
“A warm welcome in a cosy cottage in a beatiful area!”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our stay in this cottage very much! After a warm welcome, we enjoyed the cosy living room with a fire place, books and ideas for things to do. We slept very well in this quite area. During our holidays we travelled by bike and car in different areas in Ireland. We were impressed by the nature of Beara. A lot of options for beautiful walks, bike tours and nice villages. Our stay was too short! We hope to return to the cottage in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kind hospitality and the cottage
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agnieszka...
Banagher, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice place, nice people, a great adventure...”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are family - travelling with young kids... and a dog. All of us, older and younger, humans and animals, we were very happy with the stay in the cottage. Everything is provided as promised, clean and welcoming. The cottage, its self, has a bit of history to tell - a good break from our 'plastic' world...Surroundings are special - wild and rich in walks, lakes, mountains, waterfalls... Ocean is not far away... The weather wasn't at its best, after a long walk a cup of tea and fire in the range was a nice treat - the owners provide as much fuel as you need to keep you warm. Nice place, nice people, a great adventure, what do you need more?...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historical futures
Liked least: -----
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage has real real authentic rustic charm, cosy and comfortable. Well equipped, everything we needed was available. Even in June it was lovely to curl up by the log burner after a day walking in the GLORIOUS Beara Peninsula.
The owners Eileen and Robert made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We appreciated the amount of time they spent with us sharing their knowledge of the area.. Genuinely lovely people.
The area is spectacular , the range of walks, the scenery, the pace of life, the lovely helpful people and very little traffic on the roads actually made driving an enjoyable experience.
We were also impressed with the availability of Gluten free options in the restaurants and supermarkets as one of us has Coeliacs.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend and Thank You Eileen and Robert , we may well be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The authenticity of the property and igenerosity of the owners
Liked least: Maybe some nice big mugs for tea after a walk would be a welcome addition ?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisainwis...
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Enchanting and welcoming”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We, two adults and an 11-year-old, made the Old Pub Cottage our home for a little more than a week. It is a lovely, authentic space that has retained its historic nature thanks to Robert's loving carpentry and his respect for traditional and artisanal craftsmanship. Architecturally and aesthetically, you get to step back in time in this beautiful and bona fide story-book cottage, yet be cozy and comfortable in doing so. We were there to hike and appreciated also the setting of the cottage a bit up a small road--not on the main road. There's much to explore on foot right outside the cottage door, right in the Caha hills. This was our second extended stay (one month each of the past two summers) on the sublime Beara Peninsula, and to really experience the best hiking, a car is needed (paradoxically). At the Old Pub, you are very close to some of the best bases for hikes, such as Knockowen via the Healy Pass, Hungry Hill, and others. We loved being close to Cashelkeelty and the Owenshag River and the lush forests on this side of the peninsula.
The Old Pub Cottage hosts, whose roots in this magical area go very deep, are truly wonderful people, exceptionally kind and generous. They live nearby and provide an enchanting welcome with fire in the hearth, tea and refreshments on the table, and so on, and they are more than willing to help with their native local knowledge and insight.
It's a very affordable and most charming accommodation, strongly recommended, especially for those who appreciate natural building materials, historical authenticity, and the surrounding wilderness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See review
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$49
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing