We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
10
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
1
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at Villa Pulciana in September. The location was accurate. Close to
Perugia, Assisi, Orvieto, Rome, Siena and Florence. The property was very
clean. The owner was super friendly and provided great customer service. The
villa was georgous and well maintained. Many bedrooms, many bathrooms!. The
view fantastic and the pool excellent.
Thanks for a remarkable, unforgettable vacation.
Paula

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

5 star experience. Extremely hospitable owner that was very helpful. Welcoming meal was amazing and we would highly recommend it. Owner was able to recommend and put us in touch with all the right people from car rentals, to wine tasting tour, to various excursions throughout the region and recommendations for shopping and dining. Our group of 14 had an amazing stay at this villa and without any reservations recommend it. We look forward to a return trip to Villa Pulciana. The Villa was extremely clean and has everything you need on each of the 3 levels including 6 bathrooms, 3 kitchen areas, 3 living room and dining room areas, and amazing 2nd floor outdoor sitting/dining area. Pool area was spotlessly clean, well cared for and had several very comfortable lounge chairs in sun and shaded area. Amazing views for plenty of picture opportunities. The owner was extremely attentive to all of our needs, we were very comfortable with checking in with her to ask for recommendations to dine out, to arrange for travel or even for local food shopping area. Can't say enough about these accomodations. Great experience, thanks for your generous hospitality, and we look forward to coming back.
Kevin and Diane

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kv d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My dream was to take our family, all 13, to Tuscany/Umbria for a vacation. Villa Pulciana was the perfect place. The 5 children loved the pool and there was enough room for soccer games. The owner, Odilla, could not have been more helpful. Upon arrival my wife was ill. Odilla lead us to the local hospital where they took very good care of my wife. We ate every meal on the upstairs veranda looking at the wonderful views, almost like a movie set! We enjoyed the local town where we found good restaurants and for the children, good gelato. The villa was very comfortable with 4 king sized beds and plenty of bathrooms. The location proved to be excellent for traveling to Tuscany or Umbria. The restaurant Bistrot Del Duca in Citta della Pieve was an excellent restaurant with Christian, the owner, taking great care of all 13 of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My family dreamed of a vacation in Italy, and this trip beat our expectations. Having a beautiful private villa in the romantic setting was of Città della Pieve was spectacular. It was the best of two worlds. The villa itself was big enough for our family of 15 to spread out with everyone having a spectacular view. The villa was immaculate with terra cotta floor tiles which reminds you continually of being in Italy. Relaxing with a glass of wine while sitting on the terrace, and looking out on the countryside, was the perfect ending to a busy day. Its location was perfect. We could hop a train and in one hour and half see the exciting sites of Rome, walk among the crowded streets, and eat in fabulous restaurants. Then we could return to the peace of the villa, away from all the noise, and see the little hillside towns and churches away from all the tourists. We used the villa as a base to return to after a day of riding a horse, or a quick stop at a fantastic lake, or a trip to the numerous sites within an hour of the villa. We would recommend a stay here to anyone who wants a memorable dream vacation.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful house, disappointing stay. This is a lovely farmhouse with stunning views of the Italian countryside. As in life, however, the property has some quirks. First, the property is listed on it's website as having four apartments and 15 beds when, in fact, it has three apartments and bedspace for just 15 guests. This will be important later on in my review. Second, the property is very isolated. To get there, you need to drive quite a distance up a dirt/gravel road. Third, the fiery owner (Odilla) stays on site during your stay which was rather a disadvantage during our family holiday. If you're expecting a, "here are the keys...enjoy!" type holiday as we were, you're in for a treat. Within hours of moving in, Odilla had already checked our freezers, told us not to put certain items on the wood tables, and demanded a 600 Euro supplement from my mother (aged 68) and aunt (aged 60). A dramatic start to our relaxing holiday. The reason: the Italian authorities were at any moment going to undertake a surprise August inspection and fine the owner because we had extra guests (my son, 4, and a 78 year-old German grandmother who left mid-week). The "inspection" of course never happened yet, not surprisingly, the money was kept. The lowpoint was Odilla rather hysterically yelling at me poolside in front of entire family, including my three small children. My offense: I'd asked for a translator (she speaks limited English) to understand why were were paying even more on top of the hefty rental fee. We spent the entire time walking on eggshells as she stormed around. My advice: stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odilla G, Owner at Villa Pulciana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

My English is rather poor, Ryan is right, but there is a translator who helps me to speak with the guests. Villa Pulciana has 15 beds, as it is announced in the description; Ryan got it right, too. He booked for a group of 14 and showed up with a group of 18 people, with no previous notice. On arrival he was given the choice either to check three people in a nearby hotel, or to leave with his group and be refunded, or to pay an extra charge for the extra guests. He chose the third option.
I don’t think anybody would expect to arrive at a hotel in similar circumstances and expect additional guests to be accommodated without an extra charge.
The villa is in the countryside, near enough to a town with lots to offer. Normally our guests investigate the location when selecting our property, so that is not a surprise when they arrive and most people feel that it is part of the charm.
The house is beautiful, it's true Ryan, and the forniture is antique so it's important to be aware not put wet glasses and bottles on that because they get ruined irreparably and for us it is important that the villa will remain beautiful for all future guestes to enjoy the great interior comfort and with stunning views of the italian country side.
We are sorry that these guests did not have a similar experience to the many families who have stayed in our farmhouse over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews