We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly Fish Mataura in Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This father is a fly fisher tragic for trout and so too is his middle aged son!
Fortunately, both accompanying wives are very considerate women.
So, whilst father and son enjoyed 3 wonderful days fly fishing for brown trout in the great Mataura River, under the wonderful guidance of Wentworth Heights B&B owner, Barry Perkins, the ladies enjoyed the excellent hospitality of Barry's lovely wife and co-owner, Diane.
The rooms are immaculate and the sumptuous breakfast and provided lunch means can fish for ever! Afterwards, drinks and nibbles allow a few tall stories to be told!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks Chris. It was great having you and Evelyn along with Peter and Pim to stay and fish with us. Always nice to see a father and son fishing together and your ladies were a pleasure to host.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Both Barry and Diane were fabulous hosts. The B&B was very well appointed and very cosy. The breakfast was very good, with lots of homemade jams & preserves. Went out fly fishing with Barry, who is a patient and very experienced guide. We liked it so much that we have booked our trip for next year! Thanks again Barry & Diane for making our stay really perfect!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kim-Lock P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks Kim Lock
It was an absolute pleasure. We are looking forward to having yourself, Chong and friends back next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay with Barry and Diane. They were so accommodating. The rooms were spotless and comfy warm beds. The breakfast was outstanding with Diane's homemade fruit compotes from their garden. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank candidabeveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Thank you so much Candida, we really appreciate your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you, Deb and George to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Barry and Diane welcomed us into their home.We were offered our own lounge but chose to share their's because they were so talkative and helpful with local knowledge. Being Kiwi's it was great to share their farming and family experiences. Clean rooms, comfy beds and beaut showers make for an enjoyable stay. And breakfasts are to die for- homemade muesli & preserves taking centre stage with a cooked option also available. We will definitely be recommending.

Room Tip: Ground floor room available for those less able
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenda910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thanks so much Glenda. It was great having you, Ross, Bob and Jill to stay with us over Gold Guitar weekend. Always a good time in Gore and we are pleased you enjoyed your time here. Even the weather was kind!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We spent 22nd and23rd March staying with Barry and Dianne and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Dianne and Barry were very welcoming and provided very comfortable accomodation and wonderful breakfasts during our stay.We had two great days fishing with Barry.He immediately put us on to fish and nothing was too much trouble for him.He went from one to the other netting the fish untangling leaders etc.We highly recommend their B and B and plan to return

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pcoffey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

It was great to have you stay and fish with us. Thanks Peter and Paula.....come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
2 km away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
4.2 km away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
4 km away
The Reservation B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
47 reviews
4.5 km away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
1.8 km away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range: RM 345 - RM 517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing