We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely countryside place close to Guildford”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dagley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area at one end of the room Log fire for cosy nights in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Seating area at one end of the room
Log fire for cosy nights in
Kitchen and dining table at the other end of the room
Kitchen has small hob and a combi oven/ grill/ microwave
Spacious bedroom with kingsize bed
Bath with shower
Snow in January
Roses in June
Shalford Common in the background
Seating area overlooking our garden
Steps to front door - once inside it is all on one level
Nearby footpath down to the River Wey
Floor plan of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shalford, Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon D
1 review
“Lovely countryside place close to Guildford”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself and my wife stayed here on the night of our wedding as a getaway before we went off on honeymoon. Joanna was lovely and helped me arrange flowers that I had brought with me. She was extremely friendly and helped make it a special weekend. Perfect place for us to relax. It is very quiet and in a beautiful location in the countryside, yet it is very easy to get into the centre of Guildford. Would definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxed getaway from the city, so calm and tranquil!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I and my other half celebrated our anniversary together. It was completely what we wanted in terms of somewhere quiet and just relaxed to recharge the batteries. The Hamper was a nice touch. The cottage is intimate and beautiful with a great fire place which we used and all the kindling and wood was supplied. Not far from Guildford, train station is only 5-10 minutes walk from Shalford railway station. There are some great local walks along bridal ways close tot he cottage to. Thanks Joanna for a great anniversary stay! Strongly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sd_norman
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage to stay in, set in picturesque surroundings”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wonderful cottage, clean and tidy, very homely.. Especially liked the fact a small selection of provisions were left, very thoughtful. Would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the look of the property, very homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretorium
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little slice of bliss”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This lovely cottage is cosy but spacious, standing in a gorgeous garden with lots of birds in the trees. It is very well equipped and comfortable.The location is central to sightsee around Surrey and the town of Guildford is a few minutes away where the shopping is great.
The family is very friendly and accomodating yet respectful of privacy. We had an amazing time there relaxing, driving around and taking walks through the multitude of bridleways and paths. We hope to be there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We could smoke outside
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBUSA62
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent rental”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage (very clean, too), perfect location (in walking distance of Guildford and also of a long river walk), lovely owners. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing