We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect honeymoon cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dagley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shalford, Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

joandy201...
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Oh my, what a wonderful cottage and what a perfect location.
Everything we could have possibly wanted for our honeymoon in this lovely holiday home and the goodies on arrival were so welcome. The location was perfect, with pubs serving great food and shops within a very short walk to buy bits and pieces.

This for us was a perfect location, and the fact that we had the most perfect weather (possibly the only summer we might have in 2016) was the icing on the cake. The walks along the canal / navigation into Guildford and Godalming were so pretty and close by were several National Trust properties.

Wonderful memories, and perfect hosts. Would recommend and love to visit again.
Thank you.

(Plenty of entertainment to be had, working out how to work the oven; never did crack that one!)

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome goodies
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. I've had other guests comment about trying to work out the oven - it is certainly not intuitive. So I shall endeavour to write my own instructions and hope that they are clearer for guests than the ones that came with the instruction manual!
Do hope we see you again, perhaps for an anniversary celebration in the future. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve265
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy cottage with tons of character.”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We are currently staying in the cottage for 12 days and after arriving from a Southern Hemisphere summer we have been snuggly warm with the central heating and the use of the open fireplace which adds to the ambience.
The cottage is as it looks in the photos and a good size for two with room to move. Great shower and comfy bed and good sofas for lying around on on a rainy day.
Great location with 2 pubs serving food and a Thai restaurant all within 5 mins walk and Guildford is only 10 mins walk if you need a shopping fix.
It was lovely to arrive on the first evening to find the cottage warm and a welcome pack with breakfast supplies and biscuits so didn't have to rush out in the morning .
Would highly recommend Dagley cottage.

Date of stay: January 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean W
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in a cosy cottage”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Me & my partner stayed at the picturesque Dagley Cottage for 2 nights & I must say it was better than we hoped for!!

Lovely pubs & restaurants within walking distance as well as a local shop, which stocks everything you could possibly want. We visited The Seahorse Pub & Thai Terrace restaurant (both serve quality food)

We also went for a walk through Chantry Woods which boasts some amazing views of the North Downs.

In addition, the cottage is bigger than the photos suggest.

All in all I would definitely say this cottage is worth a visit

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madpals
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

All directions to the property were very clear and easy to follow. Joanne had a welcome package of tea biscuits milk etc waiting for us on arrival. The cottage was a delight very clean comfortable and tastefully decorated with everything needed for your stay.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.