We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short break”
Review of THB El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THB El Cid
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stayed here with my husband Thursday to Monday for our anniversary weekend. Chose a THB hotel as we had stayed at the Los Molinos in Ibiza in May which was lovely. Again, we found the hotel very clean, lovely friendly staff, comfortable beds and a very good breakfast. Only 5 minutes taxi ride from the airport and we were upgraded to a seaview when we arrived which was unexpected. Great views of the beach and the harbour. Short bus ride to Palma and we cycled there one day as a very good cycling track. Lots of restaurants nearby for the evening. Only downside were our neighbours who seemed to spend all their time on their balcony playing music which made us feel we couldn't sit out there, but that's not the fault of the hotel. On our last day we had an evening flight and had to check out of our room at 12, but our luggage was stored for us and after a day on the beach we could use the spa showers to get changed to go home, towels and shower gel was provided. Again lovely clean and had it all to ourselves. I would go back for another short break.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Dee C,

Thanks very much for your comment. We thank you for your nice words, and we are happy that your holidays with us were good.

I am glad that the breakast was good for you, and that you also had a good room.

We always allow our guests to leave their luggage on the last day, and in case they want to take a shower, we also provide them with towels and shower gel.

Finally we want to thank you for saying that you would come back for another hollidays. If this is as you say, it will be a pleasure having you with us again next year.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

An older crowd staying at the hotel and I assume the hotel itself was a bit older so maybe it has a reputation as an old school place, not positive. The pool was freezing, could not get into it, and hard to get a lounger. My room was very big and had all the stuff I needed including a kettle, the bathroom as well large and very clean. The location of the hotel is superb its right by the beach and playa de palma is fantastic. Dining was overrated, I could not find a thing to eat that I really liked, food and drinks could improve and they are not cheap. So mixed review of pros and cons.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abristolmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Abristolmee,

Thanks for your comment, but regarding to your comment, I want to say that where you say that the hotel is old and has an old school place reputation, this information is not as true as you say, because for example your room is new one and has been renovated this year, and also from the restaurant, the tables and the chairs are also new from last year. Year by year we renovate the hotel to look better.

About the pool, I am sorry if it was cold for you, but the month of September is autum and it is normal that the weather changes and the water gets colder, but regarding this, there is nothing we can do.

You also say that get a lounger is hard, but as I am sure that you know, we have two pools, and we have plenty of loungers for our guests. Also in the month of september, the hotel has not been full and it is easier than in summer to get a lounger.

It is true that the loungers from the pool facing the beach, get full very fast, but in the other pool you can also find loungers.

Finally, you say that our food is overrated, but in the papers that the guests fill about their experience at our hotel, they rate our food in a good way.

On the other hand, we will keep on working in order to improve our skills, and we hope to see you again with us.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Perfect for a quick break - relax by beach/pool - minutes from airport - close to old town and must see cathedral. Pay extra for sea view. Nice and peaceful. Breakfast good - would not opt for dinner again but others seemed happy - prefer a tapas in old town.
Will definitely be back.
Hotel is a 4 star not 5 but a jolly decent 4 star.

Room Tip: floor 4 sea view perfect for sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank garyaO3579LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear garyaO3579LT,

Thanks very much for your comment. We are very lucky to have the hotel in such a good place, because as you say, the hotel is close to the airport, and the old town. People can reach the main places in few minutes, and that is also very important for us and for our guests.

We are glad to see that you would definitely come back, and we hope to see you in a near future.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Returned on Sunday, second visit this year. Last time had a sea/pool view room this time partial sea veiw found this a better veiw as could see airport as well. Quite a few people saving sunbeds an hour before opening, unlike in May no issues.
Breakfast good, evening meals some food could be hotter. Staff great. Would suggest free water at evening dinning. Would return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Chris01Eastleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Chris01Eastleigh,

Thanks very much for taking some minutes to write about your experience in our hotel. We are glad to see that your stay was good with us and that the breakfast ant that the food were also good.

Thanks also for your nice words about our staff who try always their best in order to give he best possible service to our guests.

We take note of your suggestion about the free water, and we also hope to see you again in a near future.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I booked the EL CID online. Adult only, what a find. A five star hotel, with a four star rating.king size bed, walking shower, large balcony, towels changed daily. And very clean. We did half board. Food and variety excellent. evening ends ,five times a night. The staff throughout the hotel are well trained and very friendly and polite. We have booked to go back next year.

Room Tip: A side sea view room was just right, there are six floors,with lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nilocremitrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear nilocremitrom,

Thanks very much for your nice words about our hotel. We really appreciate the fact that the room was as you expected, and that it was well equipped and also clean.

Thanks also for your words about our food. It is very important for us to see that you liked our food and also the variety.

Also we want to thank you about your nice comment from our staff, who always do their best in order to offer a good service for the guests.

Finally we want to thank you for your booking with us in 2018. It will be a pleasure for us having you back in our hotel.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
1.9 km away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
376 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Java
Hotel Java
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
648 reviews
1.9 km away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
450 reviews
3.1 km away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,715 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB El Cid

Address: Calle Vaixell 2, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: RM398 - RM953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB El Cid 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he hotel has 210 rooms and 6 suites, all featuring incredible views of the sea, fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer, terrace, telephone, air-conditioning, satellite television, mini-bar, safety deposit box, etc. plus all the services you would expect from tourist accommodation of this category, such as a gymnasium, sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, solarium, snack bar, lounge bar, internet connection, dinning room with buffet service, show cooking and conference room. It also features three swimming pools (one heated), garden tennis court, bicycle workshop, client parking, volley ball and table tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb El Cid Hotel Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing