We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
314
237
95
40
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
237
95
40
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscan pastillasea viewhalf boardclose to the airportquick transferplenty of storage spacesuperior roomrooms overlookingbus stopthree single bedsplenty of bars and restaurantsdouble balconyplenty of choicefantastic locationeach morningshort breakthe dining room staff
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

An older crowd staying at the hotel and I assume the hotel itself was a bit older so maybe it has a reputation as an old school place, not positive. The pool was freezing, could not get into it, and hard to get a lounger. My room was very big and had all the stuff I needed including a kettle, the bathroom as well large and very clean. The location of the hotel is superb its right by the beach and playa de palma is fantastic. Dining was overrated, I could not find a thing to eat that I really liked, food and drinks could improve and they are not cheap. So mixed review of pros and cons.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abristolmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Abristolmee,

Thanks for your comment, but regarding to your comment, I want to say that where you say that the hotel is old and has an old school place reputation, this information is not as true as you say, because for example your room is new one and has been renovated this year, and also from the restaurant, the tables and the chairs are also new from last year. Year by year we renovate the hotel to look better.

About the pool, I am sorry if it was cold for you, but the month of September is autum and it is normal that the weather changes and the water gets colder, but regarding this, there is nothing we can do.

You also say that get a lounger is hard, but as I am sure that you know, we have two pools, and we have plenty of loungers for our guests. Also in the month of september, the hotel has not been full and it is easier than in summer to get a lounger.

It is true that the loungers from the pool facing the beach, get full very fast, but in the other pool you can also find loungers.

Finally, you say that our food is overrated, but in the papers that the guests fill about their experience at our hotel, they rate our food in a good way.

On the other hand, we will keep on working in order to improve our skills, and we hope to see you again with us.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Perfect for a quick break - relax by beach/pool - minutes from airport - close to old town and must see cathedral. Pay extra for sea view. Nice and peaceful. Breakfast good - would not opt for dinner again but others seemed happy - prefer a tapas in old town.
Will definitely be back.
Hotel is a 4 star not 5 but a jolly decent 4 star.

Room Tip: floor 4 sea view perfect for sunset
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank garyaO3579LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear garyaO3579LT,

Thanks very much for your comment. We are very lucky to have the hotel in such a good place, because as you say, the hotel is close to the airport, and the old town. People can reach the main places in few minutes, and that is also very important for us and for our guests.

We are glad to see that you would definitely come back, and we hope to see you in a near future.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Returned on Sunday, second visit this year. Last time had a sea/pool view room this time partial sea veiw found this a better veiw as could see airport as well. Quite a few people saving sunbeds an hour before opening, unlike in May no issues.
Breakfast good, evening meals some food could be hotter. Staff great. Would suggest free water at evening dinning. Would return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Chris01Eastleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Chris01Eastleigh,

Thanks very much for taking some minutes to write about your experience in our hotel. We are glad to see that your stay was good with us and that the breakfast ant that the food were also good.

Thanks also for your nice words about our staff who try always their best in order to give he best possible service to our guests.

We take note of your suggestion about the free water, and we also hope to see you again in a near future.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I booked the EL CID online. Adult only, what a find. A five star hotel, with a four star rating.king size bed, walking shower, large balcony, towels changed daily. And very clean. We did half board. Food and variety excellent. evening ends ,five times a night. The staff throughout the hotel are well trained and very friendly and polite. We have booked to go back next year.

Room Tip: A side sea view room was just right, there are six floors,with lifts.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nilocremitrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear nilocremitrom,

Thanks very much for your nice words about our hotel. We really appreciate the fact that the room was as you expected, and that it was well equipped and also clean.

Thanks also for your words about our food. It is very important for us to see that you liked our food and also the variety.

Also we want to thank you about your nice comment from our staff, who always do their best in order to offer a good service for the guests.

Finally we want to thank you for your booking with us in 2018. It will be a pleasure for us having you back in our hotel.

Thanks very much,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Superb room, excellent location and the hotel is very clean throughout. What strikes you most it's the staff, which is so important for an enjoyable holiday. Everyone is friendly, professional and helpful. The service was second to none, from reception staff to restaurant, bar, cleaning ladies and must add maintenance. The added value was having the spa, which I used on several occasions. I certainly recommend a treatment from Luisa, which helped me relax/ unwind. I hope the management will keep this kind of service level in the years to come. All in all, a brilliant hotel, in a nice location, close to Palma, should you want to visit. There is much to do locally, as the hotel organises trips too. The added value also is having a restaurant with terrace, where one can enjoy breakfast and evening meals Al fresco, something so important when you come from a rainy/ cold country. Wish I could book it every night :-) Also ideal for people who wish to stay in a Adults only hotel, which El Cid is. Great added value.
Thank you for a wonderful stay! I shall return in 2018!

Room Tip: Personal choice but sea view room is a must and certainly part of my holiday. I recommend one! Nice, bright and spacious!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Mari3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Director del hotel at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mari3400,

Thanks very much for your comment about our hotel. We are happy to see that all of our staff were friendly to you. All of our staff members try their best in order to offer the best possible service to our guests.

I am glad also to see that the spa was good for you and that you were able to relax there with a massage.

About our restaurant, we always open outside for breakfast and also for dinner, and that is very good and useful when we have good weather.

You also say about the hotel which is Adults only. I want to say, that from this year we are an only adults hotel.

Finally we want to thank you again for your words,and we will be very happy to see you again in 2018.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews