We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is a nice hotel with some great features but it was spoilt by one thing for us. The view from the room was poor.

we booked a Junior Suite and it was furnished beautifully. It had a large bathroom too and plenty of wardrobe space. It was situated on the lower floors and so our view consisted of three large palm trees which obliterated the sea view. We asked for a sea view and were told to come back a few hours later. This meant not unpacking for several hours and as we were only booked for 4 days, our first evening was wasted waiting for a change of room. Unfortunately when we were offered another key, the room we went to was down a dark passage and located on the side of the building overlooking the car park and buildings with the sea off to the left hand side. It wasn't as nice a room as the one we had, so we gave up our sea view and stayed put. perhaps we should have insisted on another room but with the length of our stay in mind we just wanted to get on with the holiday.

The reception staff didn't seem concerned that we were still not happy and felt the upgrade price had been wasted. My tip would be ask, if the sea view is on the front of the hotel and ask if it's uninterrupted

The hotel is large, clean and well located for shops and restaurants. Not bad but we wouldn't go again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank i61Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,963)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jardin Tropical
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 938 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2010

My wife and I travel extensively and always stay in 5* hotels and have just been to the Hotel Jardin and in fact Tenerife for the first time. The hotel itself is nice and quite classy to look at. We were made very welcome, check in was great and we were given a room with seaview and balcony in Mascha block. Unfortunately for our 5 day trip 3 days we cloudy which may have tainted my view a bit.

Positives - Short trip from airport, Hotel very appealing to the eye and clean, Good overall service, Fantastic pool with very warm water and great breakfast, very fresh and a lots of choice.

Negatives - The sunbeds by the pool were very uncomfortable and not plentiful for the amount of guests which is not expected in an expensive hotel (also unfortuantely people still put towels down first thing in the morning which is very annoying but you have to join in). The rooms were typical spanish and not in my opinion luxurious in fact quite basic with hard uncomfortable beds, which is not what I was expecting for a 5* hotel in fact our room was a little dark and dank ( our clothes got that funny damp smell and dressing gowns didn't dry). The main restaurant was buffet style felt like a posh holiday camp and was not very appealing. The bar areas were very uninviting and empty. Location is not great when coming out of hotel to promenade you feel you have entered Benidorm with restaurant staff dragging you in, beach is not very good, and cheap shops selling tack. If you make the short walk to the right to Duque it is much nicer, good beach and overall 5* atmosphere( it feels like the hotel is in the wrong place!)
Overall, I was a bit underwhelmed after the many positive reviews of this hotel and would summarise as good but not great and not in the same league as many 5* hotels we have stayed in elsewhere in Europe. It just lacks that certain something you look for from a 5* hotel that makes you, in our opinion, want to come back again but many others as you can see from the reviews love it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here after checking out of an apartment complex we didn't like. Unlike some hotels in this area, reception were extremely helpful ( a man with a russian sounding name was particularly helpful) and we had a room overlooking the street and the sea, as we were there for only a few days we didn't bother with a full sea view as the room was very spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated on the same floor as reception.
The pool attendant gives out towels when you give your room number and when we were there we didn't experience any pool loungers being reserved by people - something I hate! so we relaxed and enjoyed the views. There are plenty of quiet terraces to sit with a book both in the sun or shade.
~There is a pedestrain path running along the front of the hotel between the main pool area and the lower area by the rocks (there is a tunnel for hotel guests connecting the two). It is a popular walk and links to Porto Colon in one direction or Playa das Americas in the other, lots of bars/restaurants in walking distance. We had a car but you don't really need one if you are not planning on touring the island.
Breakfast food excellent as was service.
Hotel Restaurants a bit lacking in atmosphere apart from the one by the rocks and sea where the views are great.
We would go again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This was our first time in Tenerife and we (well I) decided to get the cheapest flights we could and spend a little more going B&B instead of self catering. I am so pleased I made this decision and stayed at Jardin Tropical! From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the place- wonderful decor; a kind of blend of colonial and moorish styles and just my cup of tea! Initially the lady on reception was a little ignorant, prioritising a cal lover her face to face customers, but her collague took over and he was very helpful. Our room was simple, but very large and spacious, very clean and with plenty of storage space. Our balcony was also large - we think much larger than in some other rooms. Lovely to have a bath too rather than just a shower. The ONLY thing that could have made the room better is tea and coffee making facilities- but I guess I'm just too British! The next day, having arrived in the evening, we went for breakfast and were stunned at the huge range of food available. It was also really tasty, fresh and the service was excellent. You can have pancakes, waffles, and omelettes made just how you want them and there is a massive selection of fruit, cereals, pastries, breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, juices, and even sparking wine for breakfast!

There are two pools available- both are amazing. The bigger pool is at the top end and there were ample sun beds, towels and parasols to go round. The staff here, as everywhere in the complex, were really helpful. The bottom pool is fresh (very fresh in terms of temperature!) sea water and again there was plenty of room when we were there. Tip- get towels at the top pool before you go to the bottom one; it’s a long trip back up if you forget!

Honestly, I can’t say enough good things about this hotel- I have already recommended it to friends and family. The carpet in the Mimosas restaurant could do with replacing- that aside, I have nothing to gripe about! Go!

We didn't eat dinner in any of the hotel restaurants, preferring to investigate local fare; but I think you could easily spend your whole holiday and never leave the massive grounds.

One last thing, I think maybe the wealthy and well connected stay here- the Mercedes Maybach and Mclaren Mercedes soft top parked outside suggested such!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourleafclover73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

just returned from tenerife (extended hol due to vol. ash) stayed in the jardin tropical for 8 nights. booked this with sovereign - on a 'promotional room' b&b basis - once we arrived we were shown into a room akin to a dungeon (room 422) - down 2 floors, dark and bordering on the dingy. we were moved to another room no problem and the following day we upgraded to a sea view room ( they didnt charge us for this which was good - the first thing you will see when you come into the hotel is a poster advertising the price of upgrades) these rooms are much superior and better appointed than the others - would not recommend that anyone stays in those downstairs rooms. breakfast is good - usual busy buffet, pool is really lovely, agree with the previous review about las rocas being over priced - dont bother with it for dinner but have lunch outside - views are gorgeous. (tip: the wine they serve at 22.50 is in the supermarket for 6 euro 'marquis de riscal') )the pool bar food is ok, handy and not too expensive. all in all i would recommend this hotel, it is definately the nicest in the area, but beware of having a non-sea view room. best thing about it is the pool and the views from las rocas.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 km away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,701 reviews
1.5 km away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
2.8 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.7 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
724 reviews
2.3 km away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tropical

Address: Calle Gran Bretana, s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: RM738 - RM1,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tropical Hotel
Jardin Tropical Adeje
Hotel Jardin Tropical Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing