We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,458)
Filter reviews
2,458 results
Traveller rating
1,125
898
309
82
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,125
898
309
82
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar sister hotel plenty of sunbeds lovely hotel evening entertainment main building facing the road wi fi thomson reps per day plenty of choice tribute acts half board emailed the hotel main pool breakfast and dinner reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 2,458 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Like most people, we'd spent days researching where to go on holiday and once we'd narrowed it down to Costa Adeje, the challenge then was where in CA?
We found a great deal, compared with other travel companies, with TUI (previously Thomsons) and the TripAdvisor reviews were consistently positive, with only a few dissatisfied customers, so we took the plunge.

Simply put, we had a wonderful holiday and 2 things, aside from the great weather (30C+ most days in late Oct), made it so: firstly the staff, from reception to the restaurant and bars, who couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and then the wonderful food each breakfast and dinner - plenty of varied choice and always good quality.

Each night there was entertainment, starting with the kids party at around 8pm and then 2 adult acts, one at 9:15pm and the second at 10:15pm - usually a singer or band, magic shows etc and generally of a decent standard too (although we missed the cycling parrot show - probably deliberately!).

The hotel probably deserves its 4 stars for the reasons I've mentioned above. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean as is the hotel and the resort generally.

A couple of gripes: like many people, having to pay 19 Euros for the internet, for one device per week is a bit unreasonable these days and then there are additional charges for use of the safe and the fridge in the room. Still water at the restaurant is also chargeable, although there is water shortage in Spanish territories, so perhaps we can forgive them for charging.

One thing my wife and I were impressed with, was the recycling facilities. Wherever you look at the hotel and in Costa Adeje, colourful, separated recycling bins are evident.

One of our daily highlights at the hotel, was the 12pm water aerobics sessions in the main pool, if only to get us off the sun lounger to burn off some calories. The guys who ran this session are hilarious and we probably spent more time laughing than working out.

In summary, my wife and are not fussy holiday makers but we do have standards and we felt these were well met by the hotel and its staff. The hotel and the rooms are well kept although I would suggest that some areas are beginning to look a little tired now and it wouldn't surprise me if the Bahia Princess doesn't soon have a makeover, which is planned for its sister hotel, opposite, next year.

A few of tips of for you:

- Take an electric extension cable, there's only one plug socket next to one side of the bed, unless you start unplugging the TV or lamps.

- There's small hair dryer in the bathroom.

- If you want a sea view room let the hotel know beforehand(there's no difference in charge whether you face the road or the sea - one is definitely nicer than the other though!) but if you forget, let them know at reception and from our experience they will do everything to change your existing room, with minimal fuss.

- To avoid excessive costs for WiFi maybe consider purchasing some additional mobile data, it might be cheaper. WIFi works well in most areas of the hotel although it wasn't quite so strong outside at the upper sun lounger terraces.

- Using WIFi on different devices: What reception doesn't tell you is that you can use the WiFI access on different devices, as you're given a log-in code. You just can't be logged in on more than one device simultaneously.

- Bottled water can be bought cheaply from the supermarket, just 2 minutes walk, left out of the hotel.

- The aircon in the room seemed to be a bit hit and miss. We found setting it to 15 and turned the fan right up and was the best setting.

Great holiday and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linked2Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLACIDO G, Manager at Bahia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with the Trip Advisor users.

Our primary goal is to offer our guests enjoyable holiday´s so we are proud that we have achieved our aim. Such excellent feedback encourages us to work harder and to enhance our service. Please, accept our thankyou for your kind words.

We hope to see you again soon and have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,

Placido Gonzalez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel & was as good as the first . We also took another family to the hotel with us , who had not been to tenerife before . They were not disapointed .thanks once again to the staff , who work as a great team . Just booked for easter 2018 . Cant wait to return .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LordGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLACIDO G, Manager at Bahia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review of our Hotel Bahia Princess; we are glad our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

We are very pleased that your holiday was so enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and for the courtesy of your time.

Best Regards,

Placido González

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Just returned from a relaxing two week holiday at the Bahia Princess. Was a little apprehensive when reading some of the reviews but was not disappointed. Yes there was building work right beside our room but as long as we kept the internal door shut in our room at night this did not disturb us and had little impact during the day. Room was lovely and spacious and cleaned every day with nice view of the pool. We found the food good and never struggled for something to eat and found all the staff friendly and helpful! Omelettes in the morning were delicious! Hotel is perfectly positioned and lots of good walking along the front. Only down points for us were the extra charges for the safe, wifi and fridge. most 4 star hotels have these included free of charge but again are all optional. Would definitely return here again!!!!

Room Tip: pool view rooms on higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLACIDO G, Manager at Bahia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Bahia Princess; we are glad that overall our hotel and staff were able to meet your needs during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and for the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand for any special arrangements you may need.

Best Regards

Placido Gonzalez

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

This is the third time that we have stayed at the Bahia in the last five years and we have previously written a really glowing review of the hotel but this year we were really disappointed.

- The food didn’t seem to be as nice as usual and the waiting staff certainly didn’t give service with a smile.

- We were given a ground floor room at the front of the hotel, even though we had requested a sea view room - unfortunately as the hotel was full they couldn’t move us. We were unable to open the curtains or the patio doors as there were people and traffic going right past our window. The rooms are not very well lit so not having the curtains open meant the room was dark and it was also VERY noisy from traffic and bars across the road.

- The evening entertainment was very poor (apart from the Michael Jackson tribute who was excellent). The rest just seemed to be people singing to backing tracks on their iPads.

- for the first time we noticed how everything cost extra (eg safe, fridge, WiFi, scales to weigh your bag, fresh orange juice at breakfast, coffee after dinner). For a 4* hotel, and not a cheap one at that, all these things should be included.

- there is only one power socket in the room which is frustrating.

But it wasn’t all doom and gloom, the hotel itself is still beautiful and the pool is lovely. I think they just need to really improve their customer service.

The sports team were great though - Good fun and friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank CDawson_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLACIDO G, Manager at Bahia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest

We were sincerely saddened to read that your experience at our hotel did not live up to your expectations and are grateful for the time you spent to share your comments for us to improve the levels of our services.

At peak times such as Half term, Easter, Summer and Christmas the hotel is full and we have to allocate according to the reserved room type, we are sorry that on this occasion that we were unable to meet your requesti.

Once more thank you for your constructive remarks these will certainly help us to quickly improve the aspects you mentioned; thanks again for the courtesy of your time, we all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future if you decide to give us another chance.

Yours Sincerely

Placido Gonzalez

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Hotel booked through Tui and we weren't disappointed. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, the hotel is a little dated, but very clean, the room are a nice size and the facilities are very good. The food (we were half board) was wonderful, different items each day and well cooked.
The only down side I would say is having to pay for Wi-Fi, in this day and age even the smallest of establishments can provide free Wi-Fi, and the only other negative is the archaic rule for men having to wear trousers in the restaurant in the evening, while I appreciate why they do it, men can wear very smart shorts if needed, and in the heat of Tenerife trousers are a nightmare.
The location is great, close to beach etc and the evening entertainment (not to our taste) was good. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cowboy358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLACIDO G, Manager at Bahia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Bahia Princess; we are glad that overall our hotel and staff were able to meet your needs during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and for the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand for any special arrangements you may need.

Best Regards

Placido Gonzalez

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews