We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,362)
Filter reviews
4,362 results
Traveller rating
2,102
1,494
517
176
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,102
1,494
517
176
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar prestigehalf boardstar barside sea viewpheasant pluckerpool areasky sportsplenty of choicegreat holidayplenty of sunbedsanimation teamwalk in showermeal timeslas americasreception staffbreakfast and dinnersomething for everyone
Filter
Updating list...
1,021 - 1,026 of 4,362 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Our holiday at the Bourganville Playa was based on a recommendation from someone who sat next to us on the plane home last year.

First of all, the comment recently about the Hotel being full of wrinkles is totally inaccurate. All age groups were on holiday there, which is as it should be. We are in our mid sixties, perhaps we are wrinkles I don't know, but we had conversations with lovely people of all ages.

We had originally booked with Low Cost Holidays. We are able to recover our money because we paid by credit card. The hotel were excellent in that they kept our sea view room for us and we paid on arrival.

Our room was on the 9th floor which is usually part of the premier set-up. It was a lovely room but a bit frayed around the edges, chipped tiles etc. It has previously been said that the showers have been improved so that they do not leak around the doors, but ours definitely did! I do feel that the bathrooms in general are not up to scratch.

The beds are very comfy and the bed linen clean, but on two occasions the cleaner did not clean our room. On one occasion as we were going down for breakfast, we saw her disturbing a couple in another room, but she completely missed ours. We ended up drying the towels on the balcony. Having said that, I must stress that the staff can not do enough for you, they are all extremely pleasant.

As has been said before, the food is good but repetitive, we definitely would not be all inclusive again.

The Hotel is in the area of Tenerife we like, so maybe if we holiday there in the future we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Early60s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Guest,

We want first of all to thank you for reaching out to us on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent holiday with us IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa and apologize you feel your experience was not as perfect as it should have been. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be making sure your remarks are brought to the attention of the appropriate management so they can make the necessary adjustments in the areas you highlight in your review.

We apologize for the technical problems you encountered with your room as there are absolutely no excuses for details being overlooked. In this instance, your room should be checked by the housekeeper or housekeeping manager prior to your arrival. We will make sure that this procedure is being reinforced with immediate effect. However, we do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of the issues you mention in your review whilst you were staying with us as naturally we would have had one of our technicians visit your room or subject to availability we would have changed you to another one.

On a happier note it has been great to read such enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars of IBEROSTAR that were set in place to insure splendid holiday experiences for all our guests. Great locations, helpful and friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms and high standards of gastronomy are some of the most important elements of IBEROSTAR and knowing that you found them all worthy of mentioning in your review is excellent news.

Once more we thank for choosing IBEROSTAR for your holiday, we hope you had a nice journey home and that you will return to visit us in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the Bouganville eight times now the last three times we chose the Star Prestige package and have never been disappointed the service is second to none. All the staff at this hotel have been well trained there friendliness and manners are excellent. All areas are spotless, food is good. Also the entertainment team work very hard to give a varied program. We can't wait to go back again in November.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Just got back from staying at this hotel rooms light and airy superb walk in shower rooms cleaned daily towels changed found food very repetitive always chicken not a lot of choice some more fish would have been nice stayed at a Iberostar resort before and the cuisine was a lot better plenty of sunbeds round the pool no need to get up early to bag one did not get the usual glass of cava on arrival but we were two hrs late pool bar quick with self serving area motown night was best night entertainment give rest a miss awful lifts very slow especially the mornings a load of wrinklies staying the week we were there as it is used by saga holidays overall good hotel very helpfull staff great location will be back if I can get a good deal

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This was around the ninth time I've visited this hotel with my wife and brother and sister in laws. We were last year and reviewed the hotel which was in the process of being renovated. All the work has been carried out now, and I must say that I am very pool area has had hedges removed giving more space for extra sun beds etc, making it that little bit easier to get a bed. The rooms had been updated last year but I had pointed out a problem with the new walk in showers, they all leaked badly at the bottom of the glass doors. This has been rectified this year, no leaks, brilliant, and very powerful showers. The dining room is bright and airy, and the selection of food amazing, I came home unable to button the waistband on some of my trousers! One little problem I had was that there was any amount of red sauce in the dining room, there was bowls of the stuff, but if you wanted brown then that was a different matter. For some strange reason they put out a few bottles of HP Sauce amongst the hundreds of tables, and they disappeared very quickly. Bring a few sachets for your own use, that's what we ended up doing.
We had a room overlooking the pools on the eighth floor, if you get one of these then request on closer to the sea end, gets you further away from the roads, wee bit quieter, Although the noise isn't too bad. Rooms to other side from pools will give you a good view of the volcanic mountains, and the sunset over La Gomera island, but make sure you are above floor seven or the next hotel gets in the way. Also if you get a room on other side from pools, make sure they are closer to sea, the ones closer to the road get noise from the Pheasant Plucker bar, not too noisy, in fact we had a room near it one year and quite enjoyed the noise, live music and karaoke etc.
The lifts have always been a bit of a problem, always very busy, this didn't annoy us, we just waited, but if it is a problem then get a room between floors three and six, no higher unless your training for the next olympics, and use the stairs if necessary.
One great bonus this year is the free wifi which was very strong and worked well.
Staff were all very friendly as usual, hotel was spotless, Food was great, I will be back again next year!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank WilliamandHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This was our second visit to this hotel and would consider going again. We love this area of Tenerife and the hotel is in a good position with good sea views and very close to the promenade which provides excellent walks in either direction. It's also close to main bus routes. There are just niggley little bits of concern which are from a personal point of view.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank daigeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews