We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exterior soso, Food very good”
Review of Le Pissalat

Le Pissalat
Reserve with
Le Pissalat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We wanted to eat next door, at the Licorn, but hadn't reserved, so we looked and found the 2nd choice on our list of restaurants for that day, Le Pissalat. It doesn't look like much on the outside, nor, to be honest, on the inside (didn't see the patio as we were there in February). The amuse bouche were delicious. My husband had been looking for a beef tartar, and he found it there. I was craving vegetables, others than the proverbial potatoes one gets in France. I also found what I craved: grilled carrots, onions, zucchini, and others. They arrived with the fish I had ordered which was also delicious. We ordered a pitcher of the house wine for 7 Euros which was quite acceptable. We had no room for dessert, but the decaf espresso was served with excellent dark chocolate and was perfect to end a pleasant lunch. The restaurant is owned and run by a husband and wife team who are extremely efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank R Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry P, cuisinier at Le Pissalat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre avis !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Le Pissalat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2016

This Restaurant is not located in Grasse although it is listed under this name of the well known City.
In summer or autumn you can sit outside or inside.
We ordered prawns with garlic, Pernod sauce and vegetable. For Starters you will get from the house some bread with onions and also with Olives.
The prawns were big but deep frozen. I was unable to find the taste of Pernod sauce.
The price of the Gambas (prawns ) was 21,00 € per person.
The bottle of white wine Macon was charged with 26,50 €.
What a pity that the Boss of the Restaurant was unable to give us the correct password for the Internet access.
The ambiance is looking quite simple.
The Service was good.
My personal individual rating:
Ambiance : 2-3 points
Quality and preparation of meals: 2-3 points
Service : 3-4 points
Price and value for money :2-3 points

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlsterHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry P, cuisinier at Le Pissalat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016
Google Translation

Bonjour , apparemment le fait de ne pas être arrivé à vous connecter sur internet vous a mis de mauvaise humeur , je vous ai donné le boncode et j'y suis pour rien , j'ai souvent moi aussi une mauvaise connection . Poue le reste , vous avez mis des prix , vous paraissent ils trop élevés ? Faites donc un comparatif , vous n'avez pas senti le pastis dans nos gambas flambées au pastis , soit ! C'est peut être pour ça que vous avez pris trois pastis à la fin du repas ! Au moins la terrasse et le service vous ont plus , c'est deja ça .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Very nice patio which you wouldnt expect from the outside. Very interesting and untraditional menu with burgers so unconventionals. Nice seafood. Friendly staff. To be recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Atout V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Really good, home cooked, tasty food. Fish always fresh, burgers good, steak excellent. Pretty terrace for summer dining. Chef is an excellent pastry chef too as witnessed by the free pissaladière served up on arrival. His wife and daughter help. Watch out for their Persian cat hiding amongst the olive trees on the terrace.

Thank juliehfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry P, cuisinier at Le Pissalat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre gentil avis et le chat vous remercie aussi !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Well prepared local produce which deserves better patronage. Recommend that you give it a try. The burgers are excellent.

Thank Bastapasta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pissalat also viewed

Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Le Bar-sur-Loup, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 

Been to Le Pissalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing