We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
93
20
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
93
20
8
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2014

My boyfriend and I originally planned to stay at El Gamoneu for 2 nights but after the first day, we quickly decided to spend our entire vacation there. Though the drive up to the hotel is a little long, it's well worth the views, the peace, and comfort. Patricia was a lovely host and dinner each night was delicious and warm. We also had our dog Rocky with us who loved running around the grounds and surrounding area - he even became friends with a local dog, Poli! We enjoyed the nearby trails (best hiking I've done in Spain!) during the day then went for long walks during the evening to take in the beautiful mountain sunsets.

We absolutely loved our time in Asturias and cannot recommend a stay at El Gamoneu more!!

To respond to the negative reviews:
- We stayed in the beginning of September, so it was off-season and very quiet
- It's true there aren't menus but each night there were 2 choices each of first course, entree, and dessert all at the same cost: 13 euros. This was clearly explained (in Spanish) upon arrival.
- My boyfriend is Spanish and I also speak some so perhaps this is why we had a more enjoyable stay.
- We did have to move rooms because we decided to stay longer than 2 nights but they were more than helpful and accommodating for this!

Room tip: We stayed in Avellano and Castaño. Both were beautiful, but Avellano was our favorite by far!
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soopi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The place is clean and have comfortable rooms. The owner Patricia is very helpful and nice.
Dinner quality good, but you never know what you are going to eat until dinner time. No menu or price list on site. Breakfast is in the poor side.
My bigger concern was the noise pollution outside and inside the house. Dogs barking during day and night (I am a dog lover) without stopping for hours...Also, if children are playing inside or outside the house you may not find a quiet place to relax. Even in the bedroom you can hear children crying and people talking.
If you are looking for peace and tranquility you may not find it here.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Facundo418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Read this long text, unbelievable. We came in late at night at Friday in EL QUESAR DE GAMONEU. We saw several barking dogs and we approach carefully the small hotel in the dark. The lady of the house welcomed us, she was standing in the door. She did not speak a word of English. While entering the open space of the hotel a doggy smell attacked me, you know the smell of a wet dog. I saw a lot of children and their family playing in that open space. She, the lady of the house, pointed a room for us and it looked nice. A double bed as desired (the cause of our nightmare). We unpacked and went to sleep on a very hard bed with a flat long pillow.
The next day I opened the curtains and an astonishing view took my breath away. The room and the bathroom was well decorated in a mountain way with cheap materials, but ok and lovely. I felt happy.
Looking outside I saw near the hotel an open space some with coca cola tables and chairs. It looked also a little bit messy outside, more decoration with plants was more then welcome.
We left the room for breakfast. One table was ready, for us... I assumed… no one to welcome us. Outside was a nice porch, unused...why? It was warm and we opened the window to have a taste of nature. Dogs came begging for food. The breakfast was crap, bacon with a lot of white fat together with eggs. The other days, just jam or cheese. It was not a buffet, they just asked us what we would like to eat for breakfast. There was really not much of a choice. Oh, the coffee was good. The rest was crap as mentioned in other reviews. We noticed that the lord of the house was not at home and some reviews told me he was a fine cook. Because there was no menu with prices, no meal proposals, and above all no cook, we went for a dinner in the surrounding towns.

On Monday, after 4 days, we asked for a map for hiking. It was a bad printed self-drawn map with some directions. Lucky for us a customer of the hotel explained me how to go there because the hotel lady was talking in riddles. The starting point was several miles further. Strange I was thinking, I expected the starting point at the hotel. We found the starting point by car, a 30 minutes’ drive. We parked our car and went up the mountain. Some signs on the path were broken and we took a wrong turn. We had a death experience of 6 hours in the mountains. Lucky for us, some pro hikers send us back with food and water. They told us that our map was a suicide map.
Monday evening, that same day, we arrived dead at the hotel. We saw after 4 days for the first time the hotel owner, a big fat man. Water and a shower was what we wanted but the manager and his wife stopped us and told us to switch rooms. I did not feel like moving and told him to wait. He was arrogant and in some way aggressive. I was surprised and because every discussion was done with Google translation I had to read the unbelievable message over and over again. The manager asked me if I understood English, it was insulting, because he did speak no word of English at all. We wanted to go to our room, so I finished the discussion.
After our shower we wanted to have a strong meal in town, the mountain adventure was still in our legs. Downstairs, the manager stopped us again, he wanted us to move. The reason was that we ordered at booking.com and that we had a double bed. We could have a room with a separated bed for 3 days and then move back to our room. Probably he had more important customers for that room. I felt a second rang customer. I agreed if he did something special because he was so pushy. He proposed chocolate and 2 bottles of Champaign. I asked him to cook an Asturian meal for me. He agreed and he would make a stew. It was for sure against the will of his wife, while she was reading the translations on the laptop. This whole conversation was made possible with Google translation. I ended the Google conversation with a more joking insulting word, we laughed. I went to town for that desired meal thinking about the strange move of the managers.

At town I missed a call from booking.com. Back to the hotel, the same evening at 23 hour, we were standing in front of a closed hotel. Ringing, bouncing or shouting, it did not matter. I took a small path to the back of the hotel and the manager and his wife were still alive and kicking. No way they could not hear us. I asked them to open the front door. They did open the door in a unfriendly way. Harassment came up to us.
We had a good sleep, the mountains killed us ... and the manager. I woke up and checked my email. The hotel manager told me by email that he was not willing to do something extra and that because of my bad behavior and because of the contract with booking. Seriously, I had been very gentle. Also booking.com send me an email explaining that a room with an double bed was an option at arrival, but I knew that. Time for me to call booking.com in the morning. They called the manager and my option was leaving the hotel. Booking.com gave a great service and outstanding communication. Booking.com told me that the manager agreed that I had to pay an amount, they send me that by email. But the manager mentioned to booking.com that some extras had to be paid, which was a complete lie. I packed and went down with my suitcases. Pffff... 2 men arrived when I approached the managers desk. I showed him my email of booking with the exact amount. And then he wanted more... I could not agree... he threatened me and told me that he did not need my Visa Card (I wanted to pay by card with his card reader, he had that, but he refused to use it I think). He went at the kitchen took something and called the men. His wife was commanding him in Spanish. I left and went for my car. They stormed after me shouting ‘signature’ and ‘policia’.
I felt very unsafe and signed the bill, I did not saw the amount he was charging.
Conclusion: Why would someone ruin another’s men holiday. If he asked me in a honest way to switch room then there was no problem at all. Anyway, they should mentioned something like that in the beginning when customers are arriving and not after 3 days. It is very insulting. Anyway, in this hotel you have no privacy at all, it felt more like walking through someone’s house. Like you’ve been watched. The open space was more like the owners family place. The place was crowded with dogs. What if you are allergic to dogs. Breakfast was very crappy. There was no menu card with prices, so they can charge you with whatever they want. If you needed a drink you had to search for staff. There was lack of information. May be because I did not know the Spanish language? I planned my holiday with care and saw all reviews of this hotel. I wanted to taste Asturia in this hotel and spend money. I really do not understand this attitude of the managers. I have been to many places but this was an unbelievable nightmare, the only person that was missing was Freddy Krueger.

Room tip: They do not garantee a double bed and they find it normal to send you to another room after several days without any notice.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights in August and would have stayed longer if we could! The owners Juaco and Patricia make you feel at home and were very helpful with tips of beautiful places to visit, many out of the beaten track. The hotel is set on a small town 15min from Cangas de Onis, on a unique setting high in the mountains, with incredible views, it was very peaceful. The house is beautifully and simply decorated in mountain style with modern touches like spa baths. It was perfect for a couples escape but also seems very good to go with kids.
The food deserves mentioned apart, there were a couple of choices every day, always very good home style meal with ingredients from the region. Wines were also excellent.
I look forward to our next trip to Spain to go and spend a few days of relax, hiking and great food at Gamoneo!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ana_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews