We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday ”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week from 10 to 18 September, and we booked the deluxe room (660) through booking.com

We're a couple in our 30s, and we just wanted to chill in a nice place - somewhere not too busy but not too quiet. The Platanista is a great spot and we had a really lovely week there.

The room was good - nothing fancy but it was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Maria, who cleaned our room, does a brilliant job. She's a lovely, warm, and friendly person. She really made us feel welcome and I hope she is properly appreciated by the management. It seemed to us that the staff are happy, which makes for a nice atmosphere.

The staff at the Platanista are all really nice people. They clearly care about their jobs and their guests, but it was easy to have a laugh and get to know them all as well. The team at the poolside cafe were amazing - great energy, and really good at their jobs. They introduced us to the hotel cat, Bendito, who was treated really well by the staff (we're animal lovers so this made us happy!).

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but we had lunch at the poolside cafe most days. You can get a really tasty and fresh bowl of pasta for less than a tenner - the coffee was good too and the drinks were good value.

In terms of downsides, we didn't really spot anything. We didn't get involved in the activities, but it all looked like good fun and the animation team worked hard.

Everything in the hotel, and throughout the grounds, is immaculately clean. It is a beautiful place to hang out and relax.

It's a bit out from Kos Town (about 30 minute walk at a good pace). We liked Kos a lot. Great people and a really chilled vibe. Food in the town is a bit hit and miss, but we had great meals in Broadway, Patrino, and Oregano and Lemon.

No complaints - we'd recommend it highly and we're really grateful to all the staff for making our week in Kos so chilled and happy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkOBroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed for a week in September our first impressions of the hotel were promising set back from the main road and looked like a large castle. Check in was smooth and porters take your bags for you. We got upgraded to a family room which was a nice touch as this room had more space. The room was nice with a nice terrace clean and comfy apart from the aircon which was hopeless we were at the back of the complex so fortunately the room didn't get that hot. 2 very large cold pools to chill out in 1 with a large jacuzzi which was nice to sit in swim up pool bar and seperate snack bar for lunches etc. Food in the main restaurant was very good if a little lukewarm at times with plenty of choices for every taste, Breakfast was particularly good all meals have waiter service and for the most part are friendly however 1 young male waiter never spoke or looked at you direct all the while he was on service which I think is rude.Reception staff were very friendly if they were female however some male reception staff were very unhelpful and aloof.So onto the worst part of this hotel is they charge for absolutely everything and i do mean everything Towels,Sunbeds on the beach,Tennis court use bring a fat wallet with you. They don't like you using their fridge in the room so expect you to pay £2.40 for a bottle of water when down the road it is 50p scandalous ripping off of the tourist so be warned take plenty of money with you to pay for things that should be included in your price. 1 point to note if your in block 5 is that the garden sprinklers come on at 5AM and soak your terrace so don't leave anything out to dry overnight as it will be soaked. Having stayed all over the world i would say this hotel is 4/5 marked down only for the blatant charges for things that should be free and some rude staff and poor aircon.

Room Tip: Avoid block 5 due to garden sprinklers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mp3god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We returned to the Platanista for a second year two week holiday and were not disappointed. We paid the extra for a Deluxe Room and feel that it was worth it. On our previous visit we had got married in Kos so returned for our First Anniversary. We had an amazing welcome from hotel staff with a special mention for our cleaners in block 660 - lovely ladies. Maria could not do enough for us and welcomed us like family on our return. The Pool Bar Taverna serves amazing food with friendly welcoming team. I loved the free taster massage but felt that the prices were quite high although the lady from the Spa tried her very best each day to encourage guests to join them. The drinks are a little pricey which meant we frequently left the hotel for lunch with a small Taverna at the bottom of the hill offering much better value for money on the drinks. We will return to Platanista as we love the hotel, the welcome and the fantastic offering of food each day - you can't fault it if you look past the price of drinks.....x

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Deluxe room and were not disappointed = Room 660
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank C5350YMsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I am still on holiday at Platanista hotel, I usually post a review when I get home in my lunch hour at work, but felt compelled to write it now whilst sitting on the balcony watching the sun rise.
My review is a mixed bag. First, this is classed as a 4.5 star hotel, in my opinion the cleaning of the rooms, pools and hotel grounds are 4.5 but everything else is 3 star.
The dining room deco is clinically white and has zero atmosphere. I have three more days here and to be honest I wish I could eat for the rest of my stay in a small restaurant with a smiling waiter and not feel like an ant scurrying back and forth gathering my drink/bread roll/milk for my cup of tea/fruit/toast - you get the picture.
The food is nice, just nice. This hotel feels like it wants to extract as much money from you at every turn. I understand you have to pay for a game of tennis (mis-used or lost racquet could be expensive to replace) but a charge for mini-golf? Really? How sad at a 4.5 star hotel. Pool towel €3.50, what? €5 for a sunbed and umbrella on their "private beach". (Which actually looks un-inviting and rundown ) come on Platanista!
Now for my day one mini-bar story. It was well stocked but as I was not intending to drink alcohol, eat the nuts or pay the inflated prices for a small bottle of water I removed these and put them on the shelf next to the fridge. I put my purchased water (from the local shop) some yogurts and my emergency ration of chocolate in there. Wrong! The mini-bar Police were on to me (they check the fridge every morning apparently) and left me a note to "see Reception" where I was told off and made to remove my items and replace the alcohol. I asked because I don't drink, if these items could be removed, but the computer said "No"! In my defiance, the yogurt and chocolate is squeezed amongst their cans of beer and their nuts are still on the shelf!
Daily activities are plentiful, the team ask if you would like to join them and do not badger you to say yes. Evening entertainment is not that good, but my daughter and I entertained ourselves with card games, downloaded films etc.
The hotel location is ok, bus service into Kos town ok, rooms ok, overall experience ok. Just ok on about everything to do with the hotel. Thomson rep was unenthusiastic and seemed disinterested, she divulged the fact this was her first season in the job so maybe in time she will fall in love with the area and Kos itself then this will show in her welcome presentation.
Trip to Zia and Kos town worthwhile. Although it was sad to see the devastation caused by the recent earthquake.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank 66Seahorse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Just returned from 11 nights at the Planatista and thoroughly enjoyed it. Good food (if a little predictable) and well presented. The hotel is very clean and well staffed, the pool areas have plenty of beds with no need to reserve. The animation team is superb, they work extremely hard and when not involved with one of the many activities, intermingle with the guests to great effect. There are four bars of which two are open in the evenings. The outdoor bar, where the main entertainments take place, is run by Spartak, an excellent guy who works his butt off. The indoor bar is run by Dimitrios who is one of the funniest barmen I have had the pleasure to meet, he keeps his customers well entertained with his humour and his ability to remember names is exceptional. The horseshoe bar he runs is well attended and once he has met you he remembers you. When new customers arrive he tells them the names of all present, pointing you out around the bar. He is assisted by Nicolletta who is an absolute delight to speak to and has a beautiful welcoming smile. The service in the restaurant is good with an excellent team waiting on your every need. I have only one small criticism of the Platanista. We like to retire to the room in the hot afternoons for a glass of wine or the like. The television has about 16 channels of which German has the predominance. They have films, news and the two main German channels ARD and ZDF (like our BBC1 and ITV). The only channels in English are news channels, I mentioned this to reception but with a blank response. This does not detract from what otherwise is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MajorTom515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
4.0 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
2.9 km away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.3 km away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
4.1 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
1.6 km away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: RM374 - RM1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing