We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but suggestions for Improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 11 nights All Inclusive (PP). Partial sea-view “bungalow” room, 2nd floor overlooking “Grecoland” towards pool & coast – lovely distant sea views, room was spacious but dated & fairly basic, particularly the bathroom & shower - difficult to get temperature right, either cold or burning, only turning by a tiny fraction. Room was cleaned & towels changed daily, friendly maid!

Good points – Nice grounds, with some beautiful planting, lots of space with choice of 3 pools. Lots of sunbeds, however you had to get up fairly early to get your favourite spot, but that is the same now wherever you stay. Pool areas were not cleaned regularly enough though.

Food – we thought this hotel was one of the better ones in terms of quality and choices offered. Amazing choice at breakfast and dinner, we did not eat lunch in the main restaurant. Food was freshly cooked & wide variety of dishes, which were constantly topped up. Sometimes had to queue but only for a short while for a table, but felt it was well organised, waiting staff always cleared a table quickly and were very friendly to us. Drinks came quickly on most occasions with ice buckets for your wine/water.

Entertainment – we did not watch the entertainment shows down by the pool but we did enjoy listening to the live singer/pianist or the jazz sax player in the Lobby Bar on the terrace with beautiful views across the bay.

Drinks – there was a good choice of drinks included in the PP but not all are included which we found annoying.

Location - nothing outside the hotel except one bar/restaurant & really small badly stocked shop opposite, which is on a busy dusty road - but hotel is close to Kos town, bus stops outside hotel (about 10 mins) but buses are packed and hot! We used taxi service from hotel and from town back at night, had to queue for some time to get a taxi at night

Negatives/Suggestions for Management

The PP option for us didn’t work – it is not truly All Inclusive, unlike all other AI hotels we have stayed so far. We found some of your staff almost purposely ignored us waiting for drinks, at Lobby & Pool bars, especially the older European lady who didn’t appear to like English people & served everyone except us! Other people also had an issue with her attitude. Staff behind the pool bar ignored me, but served others who had arrived after me around the other side! You have carry & show your PP card all the time to prove you were on AI (instead of the usual wrist band system), which made us feel like 2nd class citizens & felt this alone creates two different types of service, not a nice experience for guests! A few of your staff treat the PP guests differently to guests that were staying on say half board – every guest should be treated the same as the overall holiday cost is not cheap, we paid a lot of money to stay here. Not all drinks are included, but only have a minor difference in pricing, i.e. between 2 gin brands so why not include them both? The mini fridge had no drinks in it except 1 complimentary bottle of wine & water for the entire stay, no soft drinks whatsoever. This is the only hotel where we have not had drinks on the AI in the mini fridge topped up daily. You could get bottles of water from the bars to take to your room, but that was all.

Pools – We only saw the pools being cleaned once and felt the whole area was neglected and grubby in some places. Some tiles around the edge of the pool where you walked were cracked. Plastic sunbed tables are badly marked or cracked. The bottom of the pool was quite dirty by the time we left and had lots of debris at the bottom and scum lines around the side. There are decorative “rock areas” in the children’s pool and the lazy river, which we thought were quite dangerous for small children - I grazed my leg on the first day as the rocks are under the water.

Broken glass – your staff were continually dropping glasses by the pool bar, which smashed, bits flew everywhere, but your staff did not pay enough attention in clearing up the shards, & checking the wider area, I picked up pieces of glass on 2 occasions that had been missed. This was really dangerous with small children (and adults) walking around barefoot by the pool!

Food – very restrictive rule only being offered one À la Carte visit for your entire stay – these restaurants were half empty and wasted. Your beachside bar/restaurant – again under-used and wasted - you could only sit and have drinks by the sea if you sat on a hard plastic chair in a tiny area by the bar – all the lovely comfy armchairs were empty, but these tables were laid up for dining in the Fish À La Carte which was empty most days. We felt this was a real waste; we like to sit by the sea in comfort and enjoy a cold drink!!

Beach – again whole area and pathways were “grubby” and unkempt, the worse beach area we have stayed at. Lots of pebbles and rocks in the shallow areas, which is not the hotel’s fault but our 12yr old daughter, gashed both her legs whilst snorkelling close to the shore as she just didn’t realise.

There were no ice cream cones after the outside terrace restaurant shut for lunch at 3pm – why were no cones put behind the pool bar for PP guests throughout the afternoon? No lollies provided at all for children without a charge.

Lighting – the lobby bar and outside dining terraces have very poor lighting – some more lights or candles in the evening would create such a lovely ambience.

Room Tip: Higher room numbers for bungalows are nearer the sea - higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived at our "bungalow" that we paid extra for, there were no locks on the balcony door. I had to call the reception 3 times till someone came and put in a lock. And had to call two times for schampoo and shower gel. Didn't feel like really good service. No wi-fi in the room. Good buffe food though. Absolutely ridicoulous entertainment. Otherwise a good 4 star hotel with nice environment and views.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos_Imperial, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mrs. Kristina J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We greatly appreciate all comments as they help us become even better.

We are deeply sorry that we did not meet your personal expectations and our facilities were not to your liking.

Regarding the entertainment we would like to assure that your comments will be taken seriously into consideration.

We would like to add that we provide free WiFi to all common areas.

We would like to thank you once more we do hope to welcome you again.

With Kind Regards,
The Management.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Imperial is a good hotel and has a leisurely feel.
Our room was spacious, a little dated, but had ample hanging and draw space and a sea view.
The buffet restaurant had a continual supply of quality varied food both in the morning and evening and the kitchen staff must take credit for this.
The waitress service we received was excellent but noted that at busy times tables were not cleared quickly enough which created unnecessary queues.
The beach was pebbles with an area of sand between that and the pools.
There were plenty of parasols and sunbeds and remarkably few early reservations around the pools although a bigger percentage on the beach. The worst example was a parasol and 2 sunbeds being reserved for 8 hours before they were taken! Why a couple needed 2 parasols and 6 sunbeds was beyond me.
The dress code for men i.e. long trousers in the evening was not enforced despite a half hearted attempt. The code is poor management which divides the sexes and in my experience leads to a deterioration in dress sense. Whilst it is a dilemma for the hotel an increasing number of men only appeared to need their ppe in order to start work!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogethedodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos_Imperial, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for devoting time to upload your opinion in TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso. We value all our guests’ comments as we strive to deliver the best personalized services.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso and you had a nice time.
Once again Thank you for you kind words.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Kos Imperial on 2nd to 12th September and had a lovely holiday. The staff went above and beyond to be polite and helpful, the food was of a good standard with plenty of variety. The pools were excellent and the gardens immaculately kept and were a pleasure to walk around. The only complaint we had was that we found the bed very uncomfortable apart from that everything was just perfect.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos_Imperial, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Suzanne K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to upload your review regarding your recent stay in Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the hospitality of our staff.

Regarding your bed, we are sorry that we did not have any information as long as you were in our hotel so you could give us the chance to react .

Thank you for trusting us with your vacation and we do hope to welcome you again.


Sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Good points
- Cleaning and some of the waiting staff are very hard working and friendly
- Food is ok but will become repetitive after two days
- Best part of the day is breakfast
- Always enough sun beds

Bad points
- Beds in the rooms are horrible
- Rooms are very outdated
- Afternoon snack time finishes too early and very small choice
- Drinks in upstairs lobby nice atmosphere but waiting staff are very slow
- Senior Management are not professional but almost give the impression they do not seem bothered
- Spa is overpriced and if you choose a treatment you have to pay extra (35 euros) if you want to use basic amenities like spa and steam room
- The privilege (PP) system/card makes no sense
- Hotel has too many silly rules and regulations
- Hotel is overpriced and definitely not 5 star

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos_Imperial, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear UkJellybean,

Thank you for sharing your review with us under this forum!
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us in order to upgrade our services.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and beautiful setting by the beach and our pools.
Regarding your comment on the pricing policy, although our prices are in line with all other 5* hotels in Kos, your point has been taken into consideration.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back again at the Kos Imperial hotel and give us the chance to restore your faith in our services.

Your sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
2.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
10.0 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
7.5 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.4 km away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: RM485 - RM1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing