We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tankerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments
Reviewed 21 August 2016

My daughter in Shetland booked Sebay Mill for our first visit to Orkney .It looked good on line, but Wow! it was more than good .We arrived off the Lerwick to Kirkwall ferry at 11.0 pm and were met by Billy the Sebay Mill owner who very kindly got our luggage ,put in his car and then took us to the car park to collect our hire car. We followed him to the Mill and he showed us into the Bay ground floor apartment. Beautifully furnished, excellent kitchen with all appliances, lovely dining and lounge areas. Large wet room with a bath and shower , more towels than in normal hotels. Lovely bedrooms (double & small twin bunks).The accommodation has been awarded The Scottish Tourist Board Mobility Cerificate ,and is well deserved. Ideally situated 6 miles from Kirkwall.

Room Tip: Bay apartment if you have mobility problems
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lamont213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

We were very happy there. On arrival we were given a welcome and shown around the apartment. This building looks as though it was a watermill, presumably 18th or 19th century. As befits its period it is large and solidly built and this is reflected in the apartment. There was loads of room and everything is laid out on a generous scale. Design, materials and workmanship are all first-rate. We were in "Roadside" apartment but it's a quiet road and the walls, as mentioned, are solid so we had no trouble with noise.

We may well come to Orkney again and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: It's NOT A HOTEL! It's apartments! TRIPADVISOR please put it in the right category. Thank yo...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

First class apartment and great location for getting about the island just short drive to kirkwall and airport. Well refurbished building and very well finished with everything you could need. Standard and finish deserves the higherst star ratings.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kb0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We spent four nights in Bayview while attending a wedding and wished we could have stayed for longer. Sebay has been lovingly converted and to an excellent standard - the photographs really don't do it justice. Billy and Sheena take a real pride in their properties and are lovely welcoming hosts. They have thought of everything with great attention to detail. There was a lovely welcome basket of Orkney produce when we arrived which was most welcome after a long journey from Aberdeenshire. Sheena also very kindly left a lovely selection of toys for our little boy. Thank you again for the lovely time we spent at Sebay and for being so accommodating. We would love to return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Lady4Lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We like self catering and Sebay Mill is up there with the very best anywhere. This was our second visit having stayed in the Peedie Kiln studio flat a few years ago and opted for the Burnside this time. It is worth its 5 star rating and more. The mill conversion is true quality and the place is a real home from home. Just a few miles from Kirkwall, even the trip from the Gills Bay ferry across the Churchill Barriers is a spectacular start to a stay at Sebay. Whether you are after 5000 years of history or an art gallery,it is within walking distance almost of Sebay, and Sheila Fleet's jewellery workshop.

Room Tip: The higher spec apartments are worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goldflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankerness
8.1 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
24.8 km away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
7.9 km away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
254 reviews
7.9 km away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
156 reviews
25.2 km away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments

Address: Quoyburray Road, Tankerness KW17 2QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Tankerness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tankerness
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebay Mill Holiday Apartments. World class award-winning luxurious four and five star self-catering apartments. Located six miles from Kirkwall in the beautiful east mainland of Orkney. Each one to two bedroom apartments boast luxurious modern living spaces. We are a short distance from the spectacular beaches and cliff walks of Deerness. A local Orkney welcome pack with some wonderful jams, oatcakes, cheese & a miniature of local whiskey! awaits you on your arrival so you can relax right away. Sebay Mill has undergone a complete restoration to provide you with a very special experience!• Rural location • Local welcome pack • Linen/Towels provided• Private garden area • Cots available • Private parking• Near heritage sites • Free WiFi • Bus route nearby• Restaurant/Pub nearby • Airport 3 miles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing