We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very scenic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Unspoilt view of Strangford Lough from upstairs lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unspoilt view of Strangford Lough from upstairs lounge
Front of house view View from master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Unspoilt view of Strangford Lough from upstairs lounge
Front of house view
View from master bedroom
Back of house and large back garden
Front of house and driveway view
upstairs double bedroom
Master bedroom 1(upstairs)
View from Master bedroom
downstairs lounge 1
downstairs double bedroom
kitchen 2 (views of the lough)
kitchen 1
Old Belfast tram in back garden and view of Strangford Lough
Chimena next to Garden
Front of house
House viewed from beach
Seals viewed from back garden
Pool table
Pool table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah M
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very scenic location”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed here with 6 friends at the end of Sept 2014. House was very well equipped with plenty of space, Strangford Lough is at the end of the garden with seals and birds. The house has a chiminea and patio so we sat outside at night and watched the stars while the fire kept us warm. The back garden was plenty big. Strangford is a very pretty village. We ate out at the Cuan twice, very good food and friendly staff. We went biking around the Castle Ward Estate, there are plenty of activities there in peak season and it's beautiful to walk around out of season. Plenty of shops in Downpatrick which isn't far away and close to the Mournes which was our real reason for being there. I would definitely recommend this cottage and we will certainly be returning to the Mournes for more great walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lough with plenty of nature at the end of the garden. The bench at the end of the garden was a nice touch.
Liked least: Only one shower (between 7 people).
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d3bbie201...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxed lough shore living”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely 3 week stay. House more than big enough for family of 5. Most things thought of and you really would find it hard to beat the view. Just sitting in the garden watching seals kept grandad happy for hours!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnerj09
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent many hours in the garden looking at the lough and its wildlife. The peace, beauty and interest kept us engaged as we watched the seals and birds. With the lovely weather we couldn't have chosen a better place. Much of the house was fantastic and many of the rooms had spectacular views. There is a games room upstairs with a telescope and a pool table. With a kitchen and bathroom update this would be a perfect holiday. In particular, the bathroom facilities, although enough for us, would not be enough for a family of 8 people. However, that is the only negative and I would definitely recommend this place. Strangford itself is a welcoming village with good places to eat - especially The Pantry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronacoull
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Seal cottage is set in a tranquil beautiful location, with something for everyone”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We received a very warm welcome from the owner's parents when we arrived. They kindly left us some milk and lovely Irish soda bread, and instructions to telephone them if we had any problems. The cottage was deceptively large and cosy. Upstairs there's a huge window to the rear of the property, which overlooks the beautiful tidal lough at the bottom of the large garden. The gate at the bottom of the garden leads directly on to the beach, which you share with the seals, if you're lucky enough to see them. The cottage had lots of hiding places for our imaginative adventurous 4 year old grandson, who had a great time.The setting is quiet and tranquil and beautiful. The small village is about a mile away and we enjoyed a lovely meal at the Cuan Inn one evening. Definitely to be recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley20...
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our little piece of Heaven !!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent time at Seal Cottage!
The owners mother and father where there to welcome us, we knew we had arrived in a family/friendly beautiful accommodation. The area itself is beautiful and the views from the kitchen window are amazing. There was great space throughout the two lounges and a great kitchen with all the amenities provided. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The view of the garden and right down to the water-edge is beautiful. We will definitely be back again soon and would like to thank Julieanne for such a welcoming stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing