We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
9
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2008

We stayed several night with Don Romulo and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is basic, nothing fancy, it's not the Ritz, but it is clean and provides excellent value. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant (prepared by his wife) and had an excellent one day tour into the mountains with his son. This concluded with an excellent dinner cooked at the nature reserve while we enjoyed a glass or two of wine. We also were fortunate to have a number of sightings of condors which was terrific. I would recommend Don Romulo highly. Also, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, they are very nice.

One note of caution if you have a car. When we were there, the local gas station (the only gas station) ran out of gas each day. Fortunately the tanker arrived around 9:30 at night, but this was fairly stressful as we were down to 1/8 tank. I never gave this a thought but if you are driving, take advantage of gas stations and get gas anytime the tank is down to any degree. It turned out not to be a problem, we got gas in the morning but later that day they ran out again. Don Romulo's son went with me to the station and helped translate, which was greatly appreciated.

Also, Tupengato is a nice little town, fairly quiet, but we enjoyed it. Plus it is close to many wineries and the mountains. All in all a nice time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Tupungato is in the heart of Mendoza's breathtaking wine country and Don Romulo and his family know how to show their guest the best sights in town. Tupungato is a small rural town South of Mendoza and only has three hotels. We stayed at Don Romulo's hotel for 2 days and one night. The place is run by Romulo himself and his family. His wife makes all the meals, which were splended and his son, Remo, gave us a personal tour of the best bodegas in the area and was very friendly and knowledgable. We visited Salentein, Bombal, Guiaquinta, and Nonno Artesenal, all in one afternoon! The second day, Remo loaded his pick-up truck and a cooler full of meat and wine and we set off for Romulo's mountain retreat called "El Refujio del Condor." What ever you do in Tupungato, do not miss the opportunity to spend the day in the Refujio horseback riding and trekking in the beautiful mountains. Remo cooks-up an amazing authentic asado for lunch and views are simply breathtaking. Above all, the service provided by Don Romulo and his family surpasses anything I've ever experienced! They bent over backwords to make sure that we enjoyed our short time in Tupungato. The price was offensively low, a mere $80 per person for a cozy room, 5 homecooked meals, a personal wine tour, horseback riding, guided hiking in the mountains, and the trip to the Refujio. I would recommend Don Romulo to anyone wanting an authentic gaucho experience in Mendoza.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cimartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la mayor tranquilidad del mundo
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews