We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Beach Resort(South Water Caye)
Book now, pay at stay
US$408
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
IZE Belize(South Water Caye)
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachelor Inn(Belize City)
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Orchid Resort(Burrell Boom)
US$100
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
169
24
5
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
24
5
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishboat ridepalm treessolar powermain buildingset menuday tripperssmall islandwhite sandjungle lodgeexcellent hostspristine beachtotal relaxationtropical island paradisenurse sharkskayaks and paddle boardsheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We spent 8 nights at the Pelican Beach Resort & had a wonderful time. Other reviewers have commented on the lodgings, so I won't repeat that, except to say the the mattress was wonderful. As far as the limited choice of food, we had alerted the staff that my husband doesn't eat much fish, so they subsituted other choices, One night, he even had a porterhouse steak!! The servers (and Leonard, the manager) always asked how we liked the meal, & when they found out that we wern't very fond of spicy food, they adjusted the seasonings, or even omitted the sauce altogether, giving me beautifully grilled fish with just butter & lime. Yummy!! The cook, Miss Beatrice, was a master of her kitchen!! The whole staff went out of their way to make sure that all was to our liking, like bringing in yoga mats so that we could do our morning exercises in comfort. Yes, there were a few day-trippers who used the beach, but that wasn't constant. The boat snorkelling trips were fabulous. Alton, the guide, and Foster, the captain, took us to some of the most pristine snorkel sites we've ever visited. The reef was in great shape, with an abundance of hard & soft corals, sponges, fans & lots of fish, many of which we had never seen before. He led the group very slowly, so there was lots of time to be able to really see all that there was to be seen. We've snorkeled Mexico, Bonaire, Ambergris Caye, etc. but this was the very best experience we've ever had. We are already book for next February.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Only got to stop here for an hour while on a snorkeling tour for lunch. The beach is natural but beautiful with crystal clear water and white sand. The reef is amazing and full of sea life. Really loved it and really want to visit again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We chose this island because there is snorkelling right off the island. It turned out to be quite a limited section, so we were a little disappointed. Also, you get sea grass in large amounts everywhere which needs to be crossed.
The island is very small and is subdivided in three resorts. At the Pelican Pouch end there was at least a nice sandy beach and less wind. This beach was open to the public with numerous tour and private boats turning up.
The food was a set menu and pretty good. We had a very nicely positioned room (Kingfisher) with a fabulous aspect from all sides with two balconies with chairs and hammocks. Unfortunately the pillows were very cheap and the blanket had been washed so often it had become a cross between sandpaper and cardboard.
Even though I like lazing around, this island was a little too restricting for me. We did enjoy the laid-back atmosphere though and Lennard was a great host.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We stayed 4 nights which was the perfect length. The beach and property is small but beautiful, with its cottages spread around and a pristine beach with coral reefs feet within swimming distance. You can rent snorkeling gear for $2 a day (US) or bring your own. The snorkeling off the beach was amazing and the also took two trips to other parts of the reef with their experienced staff who pointed out countless fish and interesting things. The food was really good, nothing too fancy, but hearty and fresh. The rooms were simple and clean, although the hot water was on and off - probably due to the solar power - which is eco-friendly! The overall feel was relaxed and authentic, nothing pretentious about it. If you want a beautiful relaxing vacation on the Caribbean this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The southwest side of the island has a semi-public beach so if you want more privacy request a cottage on the east side
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Unique is an overused word, but appropriate here. This hotel is on a small island reached by a 45 minute boat ride in a 30' boat with a canvas cover that keeps sun off. The island contains 2 other hotels but they are not always open - plus a few houses. All the electricity for this hotel is generated by solar power so don't even think of a hair dryer or air conditioning! The water is rain water from a cistern that is adequate for showers. Purified drinking water comes from the mainland and there is a pitcher and a cooler with ice in each room that are refilled once a day. In February there was no need for air conditioning as there was a good breeze all day and night. The views from the rooms are gorgeous, somewhat better from the more expensive ones.

We found the staff very friendly, but note this is not a 5 star hotel in the usual sense with the staff following your every whim. You are in the tropics at a family owned hotel which treats its long time staff like family. If you want Ritz Carlton treatment, you came to the wrong place.

Given the remote location and small size, it is not surprising that the food is limited. There is a nominal menu w/o choice for each meal posted immediately after the previous meal, hand drawn and decorated on a white board by a staff member. A surprising number of guest to this island hotel didn't want any type of fish! However, the hotel makes reasonable efforts to find alternatives. Many of the dishes have a local flavor. The serving sizes are modest although extra desserts were often available. A limited wine list of mostly Chilean wines was available. Mixed drinks too, but there was no actual drink menu and the hotel manager, Leonard, mixes the drinks himself.

We picked the place because you can swim and snorkel directly from the shore. SUP and kayaks were available for free. There were 1-2 snorkel trips/day by boat to more diverse sites available.

There was no TV but good free Wi-Fi in the main building with the restaurant. With Skype you can use the Wi-Fi to make phone calls on your PC or smartphone.

This is a wonderful low key place, but the rooms and food are somewhat basic.

Everything was immaculately clean which is difficult in such a remote location.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cjmike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews