We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising eco resort exceeded expectations”
Review of Hotel Xixim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xixim
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We just loved this resort. We went not expecting much and were so delighted! It is like a glam Gilligan's Island where you get to live in a palapa, and wash your feet in a little tap that is actually a shell! They have made a great commitment to the environment that i find inspiring, and the little eco friendly details are everywhere. The rooms are slightly off the beach to allow the wildlife to thrive, and each morning sitting in my hammock i would count the types of birds landing in the bushes surrounding the palapa. My fav? The discreet delivery of organic coffee and cake every morning at 7:30 through a little window at the back of the room. Delightful.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Ann L,

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, we thank you for such a magnificent review.

I never thought of Xixim as being a Gilligan Island and thank you so much for calling it glamorous. Indeed it is like an island as getting in and out of our resort is not that easy.

Thank you also very much for noticing the eco friendly details and that we really care for the environment. I actually truly thank the Lord for having given me the opportunity to take care of this little piece of paradise.

I hope your path soon brings you back to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again. Say hello to the Niagara Falls, please.

Wishing you a 2017, full of joy and love,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 355 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
272
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We have spent four nights in this hotel in a beautiful cabin with a view on the Gulf. It is true that there are many musquitoes in this area but the cabins themselves are perfectly isolated against these monsters and the hotel provides guests with anti repellant that works just fine. Other than that, taking care of one's health is one's own responsability, I suppose...
Very friendly and helpfull staff, both at the reception desk and in the restaurant and bar.
Good food. You can choose to have supper in the quiet restaurant or in the (more noisy) bar upstairs.
For Mexican standards quite expensive but we had a great time here.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Guest,

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, we thank you for such a wonderful review.

I very much liked your description of our resort as “idyllic”. I also like to call it mystic and magic. Thank you, also, for considering our food and service as good and friendly. We take grate care on both issues to maintain the quality. Thank you for noticing it.

As to mosquitoes, we are between two waters, the Gulf of Mexico and the Celestun Inlet. Both produce an amazing amount of this, as you call them, monsters. We make a big effort to control them fumigating regularly both inside and outside, but, as you correctly sate, please protect yourself. We humans are the intruders. We should not exterminate them, as they are a basic link in the food chain for birds, reptiles and some mammals.

I hope your path soon brings you back to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again

Wishing you a 2017, full of joy and love,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This is an amazing hotel, located in the incredibly beautiful setting of the Yucatan Gulf coast, this is the exact opposite of Cancun and the Riviera Maya over-developed properties. It is difficult to go to a more remote location in Yucatan, and while it is only 2 hours from Merida airport, you will feel transported back in time to a simpler place. The rooms and patios are beautiful and very comfortable. This is the perfect place to “get away from it all”, the rooms lack wifi, TV and often phone signal, so it is highly recommended for a digital detox vacation. If you really need your digital fix, there’s a TV and wifi in the reception area and bar. We liked that the bar had some games like ping pong and pool tables.

The beach is stunning, with beds and hammocks, and depending on occupancy, it might be completely deserted. The sea is calm, but the water is not very clear so it’s not suitable for snorkelling or diving, but perfect for a lazy swim.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Celestun Natural Reserve, so you will also be able to see an amazing range of birds, and you can take a day tour to see the pink flamingos, a truly amazing experience. However, the fact that this is located in the middle of the reserve comes with an insect problem. While the grounds are kept clean and fumigated, but this does not stop the occasional spider from wandering in from the wilds surrounding the hotel. Mosquitoes are also a big issue, as you are right in the middle of a mangrove area. We were not prepared for the first day, so we were bitten right from the start. We recommend to make mosquito control one of your priorities, as this will truly enhance your experience. We used repellent all the time, and also invested in buying an inspect-repellent spiral for the outside area, and a “plaquita” for the electric plugs. You can find all of these in Celestun.

You should also plan ahead if you’re not driving, the place is about 20-minute drive from Celestun, where all the shops and restaurants are. The hotel can provide you with a free transfer to town, but you must book it in advance.

Keep in mind that the rooms are often located close to each other, so while you have a separate unit, you can often hear your neighbours quite clearly.

Room Tip: The beach front cabañas are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anduin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Anduin 13,

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, we thank you for such a lovely, precise and vast review.

Truly unique and amazing are adjectives that I very much like for this resort. Thank your for your appreciation.

You are right, the Gulf of Mexico is not suitable for snorkeling or diving. It is very shallow and has no coral reef. Instead it is the perfect sea for fishing. We guarantee you a hearty catch of edible fish, which you will enjoy after a cooking class instructed by our Chef. The perfect tour.

Yes, we do have some mosquitos in the Nature Reserve, but very few at this time of year. Mosquitos are usually concentrated in the early morning at sunrise and at dusk and not an issue for most of our guests. The hotel sprays organic Pyrethrin twice daily during these hours to reduce their presence, and still protect other creatures which are part of the natural environment and food chain. We also provide organic repellent if requested and recommend Vitamin B for those people who are more sensitive to mosquitos. It is also helpful to wear a lightweight, long sleeved shirt and pants if walking around the beach or vegetated paths in the early morning, or at dusk and early evening.

I really hope this is not your last visit to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again.

Wishing you a 2017, full of happiness and love,
Kind regards
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights, it is a beautiful property, very well distributed. All rooms have alot of privacy and lovely views of the sea. The restaurant served good food and the bar is a great spot to sit outside and have a drink and take in peace, quite and a spectacular view of the property. We also used the pools as there are 2 on the property. We really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffaellalavitabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Dear Rafaellalavitabella,

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, we thank you for such an extraordinary, amazing review.

I am very pleased that you liked our setting, our food, the bar and our pools. Very much appreciated, as everything has been done with a lot of love for you, our guests, but also for our environment and Planet Earth.

I hope your path soon brings you back to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again

Wishing you a merry Christmas and a 2017, full of joy and love,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Its a dream. If you wanted someday to be kind of into "The return to the lagoon" movie... this is the place. Its about 40 minutes away from Merida. In the Celestun reservation. A complete eco hotel, no more than the hotel, no cell signal but the wonderful sea and nature. You will be in a true paradise. The rooms are eco builded, with no AC but they are really fresh because of the architecture (like a pyramid). Its a whole natural experience. The sunsets are an spectacle you need to enjoy every day... but... my favorite was: To go to the terrace and see a sky full full of stars. Ask for the tours, I deeply recommend you the "Alligator exploring by night", dont be scared! Its truly magical: You will be in a safe boat in the Ria seeing biolumnicense (water enlighten), the sounds of nature and... the sky full of stars. Also take the fishing tour, then you can cook it... wonderful experience (Plus plus)

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank OscarValdemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear OscarValdemar:

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, we thank you for such an extraordinary review.

I loved your appreciation “It’s a dream” and I am very thankful that you really where engaged with Xixim, its environment and surroundings, e.g. the sunsets and the sky full of stars, its flora and fauna. That is what we offer from the bottom of our hearts, a unique heavenly spot on earth. There is just one condition – one has to be in unison with it. If not, you will miss it. I am so glad you could feel and experience it.

As to the tours, the two that you mentioned are unique to Xixim. Both should be taken and I specially recommend the fishing tour as you get the whole experience = fish, cook and eat. More fresh, impossible.

I hope your path soon brings you back to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again

Wishing you a merry Christmas and a 2017, full of joy and love,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
8.3 km away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
2.3 km away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xixim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xixim

Address: Km 10 del Viejo Camino a Sisal Celestun, Celestun 97636, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range: RM744 - RM1,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Xixim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XIXIM: a different alternative. Consciousness, love for intact nature, rediscovering yourself, high quality and the simplicity of our services are the secrets that we generously share in our paradise...Hotel XIXIM is an ecological paradise. Bordered by an unspoiled beach that stretches forever, a dwarf palm plantation and an abundance of indigenous vegetation, the environment here has always taken precedent over profit, in this very special, luxuriously rustic hotel. At present, we have 32 thatched cabanas, 24 junior suites with 2 four-poster double beds and 8 master suites with a king size bed, each with its own private verandah and en-suite bathroom. An extremely large thatched, double-story rondavel with sweeping views of the beach, golden sunsets and our pool area. Upstairs one will find El Santuario, our fully stocked bar and lounge area, and downstairs, our pride and joy, Restaurant Zaxim. The buildings dramatic thatched roof with the longest, straightest tree trunk supports, graphically canopy your occasion.Our Wellness Center as a set of architectural human and natural elements: palapas and mangroves, buildings and coastal dunes, windows overlooking the emerald-green sea, open spaces yet of intimate dimensions, each and every one of them integrated to the pristine nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xixim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Paraiso Xixim Celestun
Eco Paraiso Xixim Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing