We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but somewhat remote resort”
Review of Hotel Xixim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xixim
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This is the place to go if you really want to get away from it all! We chose Xixim for our recent visit out to Celestun to see the flamingos. This hotel is about a 20 minute drive (partly on dirt road) from town, so if you don't have a car, plan to call the hotel when you arrive in town or arrange in advance for them to pick you up. They do have a free car they will send for you (we didn't realize this in advance) - just tip the driver. When at the hotel, you can request a ride back and forth from town but you'll need to arrange this in advance to be sure someone is available.

The property itself is beautiful and would be a lovely and romantic honeymoon resort. Many birds, including flocks of parakeets, can be seen in mornings especially, iquanas and raccoons! The restaurant is nice (somewhat pricey).

When we stayed in early March, it was almost empty - kind of eerie, but nice. The room is beautiful with nice covered porch and hammock. Coffee and coffee cake is put in your window in the morning (grab it quick before a raccoon pays a visit in your window!). The shower is amazing - glass enclosed stall to outside - beautiful!

Room Tip: All the cabanas appear to be lovely, along nature trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeavingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear LeavingSeattle,

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, I thank you for such a lovely, delightful review.

I specially liked all the tips you are giving to future visitors. I couldn’t describe it better. Thank you so much, they are very precise and will help a lot.

It is wonderful that you could see flocks of parakeets. They are not always there, and yes, you are right, the raccoons are very intelligent and they know when and where to get some food. UUPPSS!! I was really astonished the first time it happened to me. As you state, grab it before raccoons do.

Finally, I hope this is not your last visit to Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel. We would love to pamper you again

Wishing you a wonderful day and a blessed Easter,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

The Hotel Xixim is truly a unique maya experience. It is located about 11 kilometer north of the town of Celestun. It has a magnificent reception area and you stay in your own private "Bungalow" with a private patio. The rooms are spacious. The staff goes above and beyond to care for your every need. The beach is fantastic. Two pools, spa, gym, yoga studios, juice bar, restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Drive in to town and eat the the Pampanos ! Excellent food, large portions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank queenofspaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Queenofspaids,

In my name and in the name of all the staff of Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, I thank you for such an exquisite, charming review.

I am very pleased that you liked our premises, but most of all, that you appreciated the effort of our staff to give personalized attention and service.

I also loved your name Queenofspaids – wonderful! I play bridge and this is a powerful card. Good for you.

I really hope this is not your last visit to Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, where we would love to pamper you again.

Wishing you a wonderful day and a blessed Easter,
Kind regards
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Getting away from distractions for some beach sun and card games with the family. No phone no tv no web for three days!
The food is good, especially dinner and lunch. Breakfast I can skip.
Water sports on demand and a family pool and an adult only pool. Spa and relaxation.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Jose S:

I am thankful and exited, that you liked our technology free resort. Indeed you have access to those facilities in Xixim, but you have to want them, not, as for instance in Mexico City, where I live, that you are bombarded by technology and news. I personally have learned in Xixim, that the news that you have to know will come to you regardless where you are or what communication gadgets you possess.

Definitely Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, lends itself to practice the interaction and coexistence with family and friends.

Thank you also, for considering our food good, and that you liked our facilities and the supply of activities.

I really hope this is not your last visit to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again.

Wishing you a wonderful spring time,
Kind regards
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Staff was really friendly. The king size rooms were in great shape. The views and tranquility of this place are hard to describe. Food was really good at the main restaurant and fairly priced. Even room service was a nice touch for a quick quiet dinner at the room.

Bring mosquito repellent and natural sunscreen to enjoy the natural wonders of this coast!

Tip: Take a tour in town to see the Flamingo reserve!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Rod R:

In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, we thank you for such a gorgeous and charming review.

Yes, indeed, as you state, “the views and tranquility of this place are hard to describe”. One has to experience it and also like it, as there are some guests that need more excitement. We cannot and do not want to offer it. I am thankful that you enjoyed and appreciated it.

Thank you also, for considering our food really good, our friendly staff and that you liked the pink flamingo tour.

I really hope this is not your last visit to Xixim, where we would love to pamper you again.

Wishing you a wonderful spring time,
Kind regards
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Our stay here felt like the biggest bait and switch I have ever experienced in any travel capacity. The hotel website describes a wondrous 5 star property among stunning beaches and mangroves. Even TripAdvisor reviews are glowing. However, I urge any traveler to stay away....or at least vastly lower expectations.

Planned Stay: 3 Nights in the End of January (only stayed 1)

Transportation: The transportation was the best part of our experience with the hotel. Our driver picked us up (and subsequently returned us) to our hotel in Merida. An efficient, reasonably price drive through the Yucatan. Our driver even stopped and let us take pictures as we entered Celestun.

Room: We booked a Master Suite for the duration of our stay. Upon being shown to our room, everything seemed "nice enough". However, as you look closely at fixtures, floors, walls, etc. you will notice a complete lack of maintenance for a fairly new property. Overall our room was dirty and outdated (the services booklet for the hotel was 10 years old and was torn). The biggest issue came in the evening. Our shower screen evidently had multiple large holes that allowed a horde of mosquitoes to enter our home while we were out and about (quite the maintenance issue). Anyone who stays here has to understand there will be bugs, but bugs to this level stemming from poor maintenance is unacceptable.

The hotel was kind enough to move us to another master suite (there were only three other guests staying at the property at this time). However, this room was even worse. Issues included:
-Poor maintenance
-Bathroom smelling of raw sewage (which trickled into the enter living space)
-Ant infestation
-Mini fridge with completely rusted metal racks
-Wading pool not filled with water (one reason we chose the master suite to begin with)
-Old mosquito netting around the bed covered with dead bugs and blood from old mosquitoes
-Etc.

Amenities: The natural features of the property are absolutely stunning and are one of the few redeeming qualities of this hotel. The hotel advertises a long list of amenities, but there were quite a few hiccups in our short stay:
-NOTHING WAS OPEN (the restaurant was closed and folks were told to eat in the bar area; the juice bar wasn't open and had chairs knocked over on the inside of it; the pool snack bar wasn't open; the gift shop/store wasn't open; employees were drinking among themselves at the bar instead)
-The pool area smelled of sewage (similar to our second room bathroom)
-The beach chairs/sitting areas appear to never be cleaned

Service: The only way to describe the service is strange. We felt like outsiders. No warm greetings from bartenders or waiters, nothing being open, a manager who clearly didn't care about the above issues. Just bizarre. The pinnacle came when were trying to speak to the hotel about ending our stay early. The manager wouldn't come out and speak with us directly and instead relied on a "messenger" to go back and forth between us and his office 10 yards away. He finally caved and spoke to us, providing no refund or discount for all of the issues of his hotel. As we sat on the steps near the hotel lobby trying to find a new hotel in Merida at 11PM at night, a large dog standing in the lobby starts barking at us loudly. The manager looks at the dog, looks at us, says nothing and walks to his car into the night.

Conclusion: If you want to see Celestun, stay in Merida and make it a day trip. This property has awful service, poorly maintained rooms, and ridiculous prices for the product you receive. Stay away.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank slett110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Slett110,

I am really sorry that you did not like our concept of hotel. This happens and we both cannot do anything about it. I deeply regret it.

Indeed, if we have less occupation, we do not open all of our facilities, because this causes more lack of service and attention to our guests. In fact, having the restaurant service in our Bar el Santuario is much more cozy than in a big empty restaurant Zaxim. But, as said, this is a matter of taste and we are sorry that we upset you.

Juice therapy and yoga should have been opened at 7:00 a.m., but perhaps something happened to Diana, the lady that is in charge of this premises.

Again, I am deeply sorry you had such a disgusting experience in Xixim, but hope that all in all, your stay in Mexico was enjoyable.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
8.3 km away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
2.3 km away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xixim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xixim

Address: Km 10 del Viejo Camino a Sisal Celestun, Celestun 97636, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range: RM745 - RM1,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Xixim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XIXIM: a different alternative. Consciousness, love for intact nature, rediscovering yourself, high quality and the simplicity of our services are the secrets that we generously share in our paradise...Hotel XIXIM is an ecological paradise. Bordered by an unspoiled beach that stretches forever, a dwarf palm plantation and an abundance of indigenous vegetation, the environment here has always taken precedent over profit, in this very special, luxuriously rustic hotel. At present, we have 32 thatched cabanas, 24 junior suites with 2 four-poster double beds and 8 master suites with a king size bed, each with its own private verandah and en-suite bathroom. An extremely large thatched, double-story rondavel with sweeping views of the beach, golden sunsets and our pool area. Upstairs one will find El Santuario, our fully stocked bar and lounge area, and downstairs, our pride and joy, Restaurant Zaxim. The buildings dramatic thatched roof with the longest, straightest tree trunk supports, graphically canopy your occasion.Our Wellness Center as a set of architectural human and natural elements: palapas and mangroves, buildings and coastal dunes, windows overlooking the emerald-green sea, open spaces yet of intimate dimensions, each and every one of them integrated to the pristine nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xixim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Paraiso Xixim Celestun
Eco Paraiso Xixim Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing