We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch, would go again any time”
Review of Restaurant Fidalma

Restaurant Fidalma
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Sorano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: TYPICAL kitchen "MAREMMANA" PASTA HOMEMADE, TORTELLI A THE MEAT SAUCE TUSCAN, TUSCAN SOUPS, MEAT OF WILD BOAR, FLORENTINE BEEFSTEAK, PIGLET WITH TUSCAN SOAKED POTATO Friday flat of FISH Our day of closing is the WEDNESDAY
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I cannot see how anyone could fault this place, its handy, it has outside seating, the inside is air conditioned, the staff are almost faultless. The food we had was excellent as was the house wine. Very reasonably priced. If you are having the 12€ antipasta it will easily share between two. My only comment and it in no way reflects badly on the restaurant is that when we clearly could communicate perfectly well in Italian (we have lived here 15 years) a female waiter without being asked tried to explain to us what the various dishes were in English and kept referring to my wife as mrs. It is useful in tourist areas to have someone who can help non italian speakers with the menu, but it would be better to ask first rather than launching off.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riccardopalla, Proprietario at Restaurant Fidalma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille a voi per il vostro apprezzamento. E grazie anche per il vostro consiglio, speriamo di poter migliorare anche in questo.
A presto!
Riccardo Palla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

I would really expect much more from a restaurant suggested from the Hotel Della Fortezza. To be sincere: food is good. But to enjoy we all need more than "just" good food. Atmosphere is cold. Big space with many tables and service of a waitress was far away from cordial. If and when we come to Tuscany we always get spoiled with abundance of suggestions, "assaggi" etc. We, a group of 8, wanted to get some of everything on the table to share, to taste... No! Impossible. We could get a portion for everyone and then share if we want.We didn't ask for small portions, we were not on a budget, we just expected (like we experienced in many other restaurants) the kitchen will show us what they do. A little bit disapointed, we ordered 8 different meals. As the food arrived to the table, the cook came. She, with her cordiality, is the soul of the kitchen :) She could sell us everything and she literally saved my comment.

Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riccardopalla, Proprietario at Restaurant Fidalma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Grazie comunque per averci visitato, confidando di soddisfarvi meglio in un vostro prossimo soggiorno a Sorano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Had two lovely meals here recently and can thoroughly recommend it. Great dishes (Papardelle Cinghaile the best) great service from Patricia and lovely chats to Fidalma, the lady of the house who has been cooking here for 50 years. A real character. Will definitely return here when we revisit later in the years. Grazie, Marco and Cheryl xx

Thank applepike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riccardopalla, Proprietario at Restaurant Fidalma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille per averci visitato e siamo contenti vi sia piaciuta la nostra cucina e il nostro servizio. Vi aspettiamo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

One of our favorite restaurants on our 2.5 week trip to Italy. Service was amazing and the fresh pasta delicious, particularly the spinach and ricotta ravioli with mushrooms and the pici. The staff were truly lovely.

Thank KT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riccardopalla, Proprietario at Restaurant Fidalma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille a voi , vi aspettiamo per una speriamo prossima occasione!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Recommended by our hotel Hotel della Fortezza (it is also one of the Fortezza's half-board options), we went here with high expectations. As other reviews have noted, Fidelma herself comes out to greet you. Indeed, all the staff here are very friendly and helpful. The dining room is very large and there was a warm and welcoming fire at one end of the room (this was in March). Most diners were at tables at this end of the room.
There is a reasonable wine list including many local wines, but our first choice was not available. Our second choice was a bottle of Battiferro Morellino di Scansano 2013, which was very good.
Our starters of pasta dishes were very good and very tasty, so our expectations were boosted. Unfortunately our main courses were both very disappointing. Mine a veal dish of very rare slices of meat completely drowned in an unpleasant and bitter red wine sauce, my wife's dish completely unmemorable.
If we had stopped at the pasta dishes, we would have rated this as a good restaurant, but the main courses badly let this down.

Thank AndrewJonesFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riccardopalla, Proprietario at Restaurant Fidalma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017
Google Translation

Ci dispiace della non totale soddisfazione dei main courses.
Speriamo la prossima volta possiate trovarvi meglio da noi.
Grazie per averci visitato
Riccardo Palla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fidalma also viewed

Sorano, Province of Grosseto
Sorano, Province of Grosseto
 
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Restaurant Fidalma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing