We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
smartline Philippion
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This hotel did not disappoint in any way. It is as good as it looks. The staff are all lovely. Rooms are cleaned every day, with clean linen and towels. Has a fantastic view from the balcony. The pool was clean and the pool bar was well staffed and service was excellent.
The only real negative (and it really isn't so bad) is that the kitchen in the apartment could be a little better equipped - more utensils and serving dishes. Would most definitely return to this hotel. It is in a really good location too easy walk to either the marina, the town and the port.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. Stayed in the Philippion with my boyfriend and were joined by our best friends and we had the most amazing time. Cannot thank John, Eneas, & Dimitri enough for their kindness. So friendly and made us feel right at home, helpful whenever we needed it and always happy to see us. The room was perfect, cleaned every day, aircon worked a treat and the views were simply stunning. We stayed on a half board basis & the food was gorgeous, but our friends were self catering and said their were plenty of lovely restaurants nearby. Kos Town its self is beautiful and there's plenty to do. We will 100% be returning and are wanting to make a visit to this hotel annually.

Thank you again to everyone at the Philippion, our holiday was incredible and you were a huge part of that!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank faylouise94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

First of all can I just say to anyone reading this IGNORE ANY NEGATIVE REVIEWS. This was my first visit to kos and we booked the hotel purely for its central location, from the moment we arrived everything exceeded our expectations! We booked a sea view studio and was upgraded to a sea view apartment (which was huge and very modern) without requesting to, someone we travelled with celebrated their birthday during our stay, and he was greeted with a birthday cake and message from the hotel which was lovely. All the bar staff are fab, work very hard but always have a smile on their face, nothing was ever too much trouble for them, they always made sure we had snacks with our drinks, and gave us all free shots during the day and night, and free slushes to everyone. On the last day we left them a tip to thank them, and in return they got us all a beer each. Will be returning next year, very happy guest!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank victoriathorneycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Our third stay at this hotel ( maybe our 20th holiday in Kos Town ).
Appreciating "ideal" accommodation comes in many different guises for travellers, and therefore all Trip Advisor reviews being subjective, the Philippion provides us with all we need.
Clean, comfortable and located within minutes walk of beaches, restaurants, bars, shops, buses and the town centre. The rooms are decently equipped, bathrooms generally have the added bonus of a shower cubicle.
One criticism - I hope the mattresses are replaced at the end of the season - they have definitely seen better days!
This is a budget hotel, but deserving of a 5 star review.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorcesterSource7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

On a good note first ..Kos is beautiful we will be returning but NOT to this hotel.
Location is fantastic so close to the beach and main area for shops and fantastic restaurants.
Our room was nothing like any of the pics shabby and out of date, the so called air con was shocking a fan would have done a better job. Very small bathroom which was the same size as the guest toilets. We had 2 days no hot water. The most expensive safe we have ever paid for on our travels €25 a week we were there for 2 and the smallest no room for electronics or cameras Cleaners were in everyday which was good but never did the balcony once and did leave our door open one day thought we had been burgled but luckily we hadn't. There were 4 of us sharing a self catering apartment we was given 2 chairs for the balcony we did ask for more but was told to use the only chair we had for the dinning room and the dressing table chair which u can imagine not comfortable to sit out side and do some reading on. We did have a lovely big balcony so a couple of the spare ( always stacked up not used) sun beds would have been good.
The pool even though was clean was dreadful. Far too small only 33 sun loungers which were all touching if your neighbour put the brolly up and you want the sun " tough luck" if you are liking your sun hit the beach. you are so close to the pool and staff are not bothered what happens in the pool after being constantly hit by a ball there was no relaxing to be had . Also dangerous as there is virtually no walkway around the pool and with all the water from the pool so you have to be careful with luggage as it's a tight squeeze between pool and sun lounger and tricky walking with drinks. luckily down the road there is lovely friendly places on the beach (Theodorou beach) were the service and staff are lovely unlike this hotel staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. In all my years of traveling Iv never left a bad review.
Again Kos is beautiful and a delight staff at the restaurants and beach areas are so friendly. The food is amazing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 km away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
427 reviews
0.5 km away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#30 of 48 in Kos Town
170 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#27 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Citi Live Hotel
Citi Live Hotel
#153 of 219 in Kos
152 reviews
1.1 km away
Dimitris Paritsa Hotel
Dimitris Paritsa Hotel
#29 of 48 in Kos Town
21 reviews
0.1 km away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#23 of 48 in Kos Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Philippion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Philippion

Address: 14 Vas. Georgiou | Vas. Georgiou & Thessalou 2, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: RM170 - RM245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Philippion 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Philippion is a small and charming hotel. The hotel is perfect for couples and families who want to stay close to the beach without having to lose the proximity to nightlife and numerous entertainment opportunities in the city. There are two restaurants and two bars at the hotel, and numerous taverns, restaurants and cafés nearby. For those who just want to relax under the sun, the hotel offers a nice pool area. smartline Philippion houses 99 modern and comfortable rooms and apartments distributed over 4 floors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Philippion Hotel Kos Town
Smartline Philippion Kos, Greece - Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing