We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, excellent service”
Review of Castaways Barbados

Castaways Barbados
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With our breathtaking views and excellent food offerings, our newly reopened restaurant invites you to savour the best creations from Chef Anife, located at the top of the St. Lawrence Gap. Come dine and drink at our restaurant for the best sunset view in the Gap.
Reviewed 12 October 2021

My favourite restaurant in Barbados. Very enticing diverse menu. For appetizers our party had coconut shrimps, calamari, and amazing honey garlic chicken wings. For mains, we enjoyed perfectly done fresh barracuda, stone-baked thin crust pizza and juicy steak with homemade fries. The portions were so generous there was no room for dessert. The server was very friendly and attentive. And, of course. the view is spectacular.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank docme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2021

My husband and daughter ate here on their last trip and insisted that we try it as a family. It was our last night on the island and were excited to have a seaside meal. Unfortunately the sargassum seaweed was everyone and you had to get used to the smell (not their fault), and we had a table near us where a guest kept coughing which made us very uncomfortable. The staff allowed us to move farther away, but I wished they had asked the coughing guest to move/leave rather than us. We ended up eating in a lounge area, folded over our plates. Food was disappointing for Barbados, but drinks were yummy.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Kdewitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

The title of this review is anodyne and that reflects our evening. We had a pleasant time and enjoyed our food; it was pricey but good. The cocktails were tasty but the presentation was dull - no style. The open-air terrace is lovely with a great view, but the wide spacing between tables, presumably because of Covid, meant the atmosphere was a bit lacking. We are new to the island and still getting used to its style, but we found the service abrupt and unpolished - for instance, the waitress managed to knock over a glass of water whilst clearing the table - but accidents happen, and it was efficient enough, to be fair. Overall, we had a nice night out, but as we left, we felt more tempted to try some of the livelier surrounding restaurants than to have a return visit.

Date of visit: July 2021
3  Thank CayoteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2021

Had Father's Day lunch here- Castaways has always had the best ribs on the island, but they did change their sauce to be a bit more spicy. This was the first time that we dined upstairs and enjoyed it much more than dining on the main level. The tuna tartare was also very good.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCW703
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

The menu is very limited and the quality of the food mediocre. The staff were good and that is why we didn't get up and walk out. The calamari was greasy and tasted like old oil. And then the catch of the day was chewy like a quickly defrosted piece of old fish. After I told the waiter how I felt he asked if I'd like to speak to the manager who apparently is the owner. I declined because I could not see any point. She came over eventually and asked if there was a problem and I just said no.
When you've eaten at Harlequin done the road from this place you can't accept the bad choices, quality and value of this place.

Date of visit: April 2021
5  Thank NicholasK887
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Castaways Barbados also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Castaways Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.