We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location!”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Before going to Southern Palms, I was a little bit worried having seen some bad reviews - there was no need to worry.

We stayed in a double room with no real view, and a small window - that being said it was still airy, light and comfortable. We got such a good deal (£800 for 10 days with flights from the UK) that although the room wasn't amazing, we had no complaints at all. The room was kept clean and came with a fridge, safe and ample space.

We were on a room only basis so didn't eat in the hotel but the food did look good from what I saw. Before going, I had been a bit worried about being room only as a lot of people had said how expensive food was. I needn't have worried as less than a 5 minute walk away from the hotel there were food shacks selling chicken, burgers, flying fish, chips and lots of other things. These shacks were really good quality and as nice if not nicer than the expensive restaurants we went to. There was also a place almost directly opposite that did breakfasts such as omelettes and toast so we never went hungry.

St Lawrence Gap seemed quite quiet when we went, maybe because it was November, but the hotel is really well placed. There are a good number of restaurants and bars within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Also at the end of the Gap towards the Bay is the pick up for the bus that took us to Oistins one day and into Bridgetown the other way.

The only thing I would mark the hotel down is the repair, whilst it was really clean, it could do with a spot of paint just to modern it up. Other than that, I cannot fault it at all and if we weren't going to Jamaica this year, I would happily return to Southern Palms. Looking at some of the other hotels local were people had paid quite a lot more for their rooms, I would say Southern Palms is extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy1986G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Attended a wedding in Barbados. Spent a wonderful week at Southern Palms - an understated elegant resort.The property is well maintained and service is prompt. We had a nice room adjacent to the beach. The food was exceptional in quality and quantity. The entertainment added to the ambience .We especially enjoyed Sunday Brunch to the strains of the Barbados All Stars Steel Band. The best part of this hotel, in our opinion is the staff who without exception we found friendly and courteous. We would especially like to mention Wendy, Marcia, Carolyn, Allison and Chad who all went out of their way to give us an enjoyable experience. Will definitely consider Southern Palms again.

Room Tip: very quiet in Carlisle Court. ground floor good for accessibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213brandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

A fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. The staff are always welcoming. The food in the bar is of good quality and reasonably priced and the service is good.
Many guests love this hotel so much they return year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneglew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Aside from the obvious "location, location, location" on Dover Beach, the Southern Palms Beach Club is consistently excellent. Year in, year out they maintain a first class hotel and the organisation, attitude and attention is how a hotel should be run. Two pools, friendly bar and restaurant, crazy golf, shuffle board, indoor and outdoor gym & afternoon tea and cakes every day! In addition, the hotel is on the very popular St. Lawrence Gap with several good bars and restaurants within a short walking distance (a few hundred yards) of the hotel.
All in all, definitely highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank chelsfieldalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Just returned from our holiday at Southern Palms. We visited your hotel in 1984 when we had our first holiday together and always said we would return for our 25th wedding anniversary. We did just that and must say that it is as fabulous as we remembered it. The room was excellent and the beach is idyllic. Staff are polite and friendly, we had an issue with the air conditioning in our room and it was resolved quickly and efficiently. Thank you for making our special occasion so memorable! I would recommend your hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr4c3yt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.7 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
365 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,147 reviews
0.1 km away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,816 reviews
12.6 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
3.7 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: RM747 - RM2,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing