We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great budget accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Heywoods Park - Apartment - 1 bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heywoods Park - Apartment - 1 bedroom
Port St Charles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Heywoods Park - Apartment - 1 bedroom
Port St Charles
Kitchen Area
Fantastic mornings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brendan T
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great budget accommodation”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was a very clean, simple but adequate accommodation.
The area was very safe with lovely neighbours.
The direction were not clear as given as 4th property in street when in fact it was the 4th property past the second turning in that street.
As described it was only ten minute walk to lovely beaches and 15 mins to town centre.
Would recommend setting up a key security box to negate disturbing local relative to be contacted to bring the keys over, though he was a very nice guy.
Air con in lounge needs to be services or replaced as it is ineffective though bedroom facilty worked perfectly.
A welcome folder would also be a good idea with local taxi numbers etc .
Overall the property decoration and facilities were dated but adequate, but great value for money.
Enjoyed our stay and look forward to return.
Thank you Debbie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value
Liked least: Poor directions and ineffective air con in lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Dear Brendan

Many thanks for your detailed feedback of your recent stay with us. This is our first year of letting the apartment and I appreciate all the areas which you have identified.

The air condition engineer will be visiting the property next week and we are looking at installing a larger unit within the next few weeks. I am also looking at updating our email welcome booklet as well as having a hard copy within the apartment. In addition we have many new ideas which will be added early next year along with new professional photographs to fully ?show off? our new improvements.

Warm Regards

Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic S
Pontypool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent budget accomodation”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from Barbados and the holiday of a lifetime. We stayed at Debbie's apartment which was perfect for me and my wife. Heywoods Park is a very nice area compared to a lot of the housing on the Island. The apartment is clean and well kept and has all the basics for cooking, air-conditioning, TV and broadband, free local telephone and spacious rooms. Great powerful shower and very comfy bed.

We felt very safe and enjoyed going out at night, especially to The Fisherman's Pub - good, cheap, local food. It is a short walk to a beautiful beach, ideal for swimming. The local bus station at Speightstown has regular services all over the island with a flat fee of $2 Bajan - 60p, which will get you to or from the airport, $84 by taxi. The apartment numbers are non-sequential in the area & it took half an hour for our taxi driver to find the place, which is up the road first right after the left down to the diving school.

There are a couple of very smart (& expensive) restaurants in town as well as the local fast food joints and roadside grills. The supermarkets are 10 mins walk so we ate well and saved a bit with meals at home.

The locals are very friendly to talk to, but customer service in some establishments can be quite abrupt. Remember to take photo ID if paying by credit card. There are lots of hidden treasures to find, particularly away from the touristy South West corner. Do ask for advice and you will ne pleasantly surprised how helpful the locals can be.

We would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere, freedom of self-catering.
Liked least: Finding the place.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words.

Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javvababb...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All the basics, affordable and clean”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Debbie's place is a nice simple holiday villa tucked away in a friendly little neighbourhood on the edge of Speightstown. Affordable, clean, minutes from the beach and with a fully functional kitchen (cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster etc.) it's perfect for a couple self catering on a budget.

Location-wise, Speightstown is small and sleepy, a few nice restaurants and cafes, a couple of bars/pubs, 2 supermarkets, a petrol station, a bus terminal, a cute little market, a couple of churches and Heywoods Beach, which is lovely.

Speightstown is a bit out of the way if you're planning on spending a lot of time on the south coast - Bridgetown, St Lawrence Gap, Oistins etc. so be aware that this isn't the ideal location for many tourist spots, buses aren't terribly reliable and taxis are expensive (especially if you're a tourist) but it's perfect if you just want a nice relaxed beach holiday.

The villa is in Heywoods Park, just to the north of Speightstown itself, just off the main highway up a slight hill. It's about 5 minutes walk to the beach and about 10 minutes walk to the supermarket. The neighbourhood is calm and quiet, one or two holiday villas but mainly residential and with a very polite suburban feel.

The villa has a bedroom, bathroom and open plan kitchen/dining/living area with dining table, sofa & television, phone & wifi (all perfectly functional). The Bedroom and living area have decent air conditioning, kitchen also has a washing machine and is stocked up with cleaning products. The shower works fine and there are towels provided. All we really wanted was a place to sleep, eat breakfast and shower and it was perfect for that.

Out the front there's a small veranda with a table and two chairs where you can enjoy the scorching midday sun or an evening breeze.

Debbie's uncle met us to give us the keys and show us around, he owns the adjoining villa out the back which we suspect may be identical to Debbie's place. He was very helpful and polite although I found his Bajan accent a little tricky to understand at times!

When you walk to the bottom of the road and turn left you can either head straight on towards the government bus terminal (opposite which is the yellow, private bus stop) or you can take the next right and walk down to the seafront with Heywoods beach to the north and Speightstown Pier & Promenade to the south. Speightstown's small enough to make everything easily walkable. Despite the villa essentially being in Speightstown all taxi drivers will charge you extra for going north of Speightstown, making a taxi from the airport 100 Barbadian dollars. You can take buses from Speightstown to Holetown, Bridgetown, Oistins and up north to Connell Town, every bus journey is 2 dollars.

Speightstown has 2 supermarkets; Jordan's is a bit further from the villa than Eddie's but probably has a wider selection. In the car park over the road from Jordan's there's a lovely cafe/restaurant called Island Plates and back on the high street there's a great restaurant called Juma's (best coffee in town) we loved both places. We would also recommend La Bouche on Orange Street for a drink and over the road from there is a great little bakery. The Fisherman's Pub used to be really lively about ten years ago but seems to have become quite quiet but we were there over the Xmas and New Year season so cannot be sure, it's still worth a visit.

Tucked away in Speightstown there's a post office and a library (where you can print off boarding passes) and a KFC, if you're into that sort of thing. Back up on the main highway there's a Chefette, which we highly recommend even if you don’t like fast food, (not that it's that fast in there)

Heywoods Beach is lovely, very clean, calm blue sea and never over populated, especially up on the north part near Port St Charles.

Overall a fantastic place to stay as it is not spoilt by tourism and gives you a true feel of the island.
Completely 100% recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing