We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
54
57
14
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
57
14
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak lodge kinabalu park semi detached chirping sounds of birds upon arrival we were greeted astro channels hot and cold water dining table fireplace heater balsam weather chalet mount accommodations knobs infront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2020

liked this very much, in the hilly jungle so steep slopes fom lodge to restaurant but a transfer lift is available if wanted. Food good and staff can't do enough. Room clean comfortable and well appointed.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank herbieno4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2020

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us.

When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future.

We wish you a pleasant day!

Regards,
Kueh Lian See
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Upon arrival we were greeted by the Park Office Staff who checked us in to our accomodations. We drove ourself to park infront Of Peak Lodge 1 & 2.

It is a semi-detached chalet with 2 rooms in each lodge, one with kingsize bed and the other with 2 single beds, both equipped with portable heaters. Simple furnishing but cosy living room set up with entertaining astro channels flat screen television, a fireplace that the staff helped to light up to keep us warm at night. In the pantry , there is a dining table , fridge , kettle and fully set up complimentary coffee/tea amenities. Wireless internet connection is free but the speed is slow/intermittent.

However water faucets in the kitchen and bathroom are leaking, and the shower water control is faulty, takes a while to mix the hot and cold water by turning 2 knobs.

Restaurant is approximately 10 minutes walk from our Lodge, dinner and breakfast at the Balsam Café served very simple local buffet spread. Lunch at the Liwagu Cafe was disappointing as they do not serve ala carte menu but just simple buffet meal. However we did have a great breakfast on the last morning of our stay.

Overall although it was a bit of a price to pay, it was really relaxing and refreshing to just sit on the verandah facing the stunning views of Mount Kinabalu , trees and surrounding chirping sounds of birds admist the fresh mountain air and great cool weather. It is an awesome place for a retreat. !!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suterasanctuary, General Manager at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to highlight our shortcomings during your recent stay. We take into account all your valuable comments and will further evaluate our products to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay.

When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future.

We wish you a pleasant day!

Regards,
Kueh Lian See
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

It was a really nice stay in Kinabalu park. Lodge was nestled in the park and had a awesome view of the peak at mountain Kinabalu hence the name of the lodge.

Great cool weather. Fresh mountain air. Chirping sounds of birds. An awesome place for a retreat. However toilets are a little old and ventilation not great hence got to deal with the smell. The hot water system is old and one needs to mix hot and cold water by turning 2 knobs. The hot tap was so hot that I was almost burnt.

Overall a nice stay. However a bit of a price to pay for staying right smack in the middle of nature.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 944angiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2019

We stayed in the suite rooms of the main restaurant block at Sutera as we only staying for one night. Lovely double level room with two bathrooms. Super clean and right next to the main trails which are definitely worth doing. Had a tasty meal in the restaurant and retired to the lounge and roaring fire. Lots of wine later, we retired after a tiring but relaxing day......only to be woken - not by the natural noise of the forest, but by a gardener who had decided to mow the lawns outside our room at 7am in the morning. It totally ruined what was otherwise a wonderful jungle stay!

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019

Was at this property for 1 night and my review as follows:

1) Location:
It is located in Kinabalu Park. There is a fixed 3 days entry ticket of RM3 per person. Parking is plenty and free. The Kinabalu Park is nicely maintained. There is also a direct view of Mount Kinabalu for all guests at this hotel. Overall, i think the location is good.

2) Check in and Lobby
Check in was very fast and friendly. No welcome drink was given though. Lobby area is small.

3) Hill Lodge 7 & *
Surprisingly, inside the hill lodge, everything seems to be new and nicely maintained. Even the mattress and pillow were of decent quality. There is a kettle in the room which was very helpful as the weather in Kundasang is cold at night. Room size was great. Bathroom size is ok but does look old fashion with shower curtain etc.They also have nice proper netting at every window allowing guest to open the window without having to worry about insects/mosquito coming to the room. Overall, those hill lodge are value for money.

4) Wifi
No wifi available

5) Birthday Arrangement with Shanty (Hotel Staff)
They gave a slice of cake to my mum and she was very happy and surprised about it. Two thumbs up.

Overall, for a relaxing stay, i think this resort is among the best in Kundasang. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews