We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
US$22
US$17
View Deal
SAVE US$5
Hotels.comUS$22
Agoda.comUS$17
Trip.comUS$22
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
10
4
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
4
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Nice hotel, friendly staff at arrival. Room was basic but clean, very small window. A bit pricey without breakfast. Only good tv channels was sport. About 10 minute walk along the road to get to the shops, kfc etc.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank berryandshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

An old but lovely homestay in Ranau. Only basics were provided so don't expect too much. It's better for you to drive there since it's quite far from the town and other attractions as well. And buy your necessities (food, drinks, etc...) before going to the homestay as there were no shops nearby. My family end up reading some books there (they have some good books there) as there is nothing else to do.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceL1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

First of all, you need to understand the location of the property - it is farther away from the Ranau town center and not properly located on either google or on other maps. Actual location is 5.927038,116.676186 - put it on google maps and save the location to be able to navigate there.

Due to the location and the region itself, it is highly recommended to have your own means of transportation - either private or rental car, otherwise getting in/out the property would be a complicated matter because there are no taxis/cars available nearby.

Also due to the location, your dining options are limited what the property owners will cook for you. Please note, while the neither breakfast nor dinner is not included in the stay, it is relatively cheap (dinner for two was RM24) and was tasty. Just do not expect western type dinner/breakfast.

As for the property - owners are welcoming, hospitable and try to accommodate you. Rooms are quite basic, don't expect anything else except aircon, bed, chair and couple of towels. Bathrooms are not the cleanest, but I've stayed in dirtier places.

One thing which I think worth to mention is insects - I know that it is tropics, and there they are around. However I was not pleased to see 5cm long cockroach couple feets away from my bed. Killing it was not a trivial matter either - had to hit with a slipper at least three times until it stopped running.

The reality is that this property is probably the best overall within 20km radius - don't expect anything fancy in the region.

Room tip: Select room on upper floor.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank invisible999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We were so delighted with this lovely homestay! We stayed for a week while visiting with our daughter who is spending a year teaching English at a school in Ranau. She was concerned that we would have trouble finding a place to stay as Ranau is not a big tourist stop, but we found Slagon online and it was perfect! The grounds are lovely with a stream running under the large deck, a turtle pond, a fish pond, and many beautiful flowering plants and fruit trees. There is even a pony in the pasture. The rooms are basic but with a comfortable bed, hot water, and an air conditioner, we were all set. There is coffee, tea, and filtered drinking water, and you can request breakfast for an extra charge, which we did, and they even served us American style toast and eggs! There is free Wifi. The owners are delightful and the staff are all very pleasant. The owners speak excellent English (college in the US) and are glad to be helpful. The rest of the staff speak limited English but were still able to understand when we locked ourselves out of our room one day and needed help.
A few stray points - this place would be hard to find the first time after dark as its set back out of town. There are bugs and such outside (hey its the tropics) and roosters crowing to start your day so best be an early riser. If you require 5 star amenities this isn't the place, but then, if you require 5 star amenities you probably wouldn't be staying in Ranau. We loved our stay here and enjoyed the fact that Ranau is not a typical tourist stop. A lovely week in a lovely place and you can't beat the price!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcit2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

At first glance, Slagon homestay look just like any typical house around the area in Ranau town. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the small pond at the back of the homestay. Its good for family or any backpackers who want to stay near Ranau.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatimabdulrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews