We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont stay here and dont eat here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mutiara Taman Negara
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Tahan
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dont stay here and dont eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had booked two night but we canceled the second night and took a taxi back to KL, you can do lot of things in one day. We took 3 tours, the first was very touristy, that´s the one you go for a visit to the local people. The night walk was very nice and interesting but poorly organized by the hotel, the tour was supposed to start at certain time but there was always someone missing and they let 8 people wait for 30 min for 2 people with kids that showed up late and delayed the trip the whole time because the kids couldnt keep up with the adults. Then in the morning we went on the canopy walk and we had a great guide with us. After our experience with how poorly the hotel organized their trips/tours I would not recommend that you buy any tours at the hotel. Fex. at the night walk you need flash light, we were family of 5 and we didnt know that and they offered us 1 flashlight with batteries that burn our after 5 min walking. The restaurant at the hotel was quite a experience if you like fruit with flies, this is the place to eat. There were flies all over the place and the food was not covered like all other places you visit in Malaysia. After having a feast everywhere in Malaysia, this was like prison food. The restaurants across the river have much better food and much better service. Taman Negara is a great place to visit but this hotel and their service and the Attitude of the staff is something i wish I had not experience in Malaysia.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astridur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    440
    197
    83
    37
See reviews for
276
488
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Mutiara as the homestay we had originally intended to stay in wasn't available. Given the mixed reviews of the Mutiara on TA, we were not expecting much - but were pleasantly surprised.

Sure, the Mutiara isn't a luxury resort: the rooms look a bit tired, cleanliness could be a bit better, and you'll encounter some ants etc in the rooms. There's no swimming pool either. But hey - you're right in the national park, and given that, the Mutiara is probably the best and most comfortable option for staying in Kuala Tahan.

We stayed in a Chalet and thought it was pretty good: spacious, air conditioned, mosquito nets on the windows, a separate shower. On the way to reception, you would frequently encounter local wildlife like deer, wild pigs, monkeys or monitor lizards crossing the resort grounds. As said, the rooms look a bit tired, but are certainly clean and not smelly.

The restaurant was frequently remarked as being expensive and the food bland - we thought it was ok actually. While the service at breakfast could be better (how many times was the juice empty?), it offered the usual buffet selection you would expect. We ate dinner in the restaurant once (heavy rain that night, so no crossing over to the swimming restaurants) and liked it. The food is more expensive than in the swimming restaurants (mains for about 20 RM, steak / burgers etc more expensive), but portions were huge and the quality of the food was good too. It could have been a bit more spicy though.

Speaking of the swimming restaurants on the other side - don't expect great things. While the food was cheap (mains for 8-10 RM) and ok, the service in two of the restaurants was really bad (and not comparable to other cheap restaurants / hawker stalls we ate before and after in Malaysia). In one of the restaurants, I waited for over an hour for my food and left after still not getting it. In the other, we again waited close to 45 minutes for our food. So you might actually spare yourself the trip over the river and eat at the Mutiara.

Now regarding the jungle trips... There are various options how and where you can book your trips. The Mutiara, the guesthouses on the other side of the river, the swimming restaurants and the national park headquarter in the resort (where you get your permit for the park) all offer a similar selection of trips: a half day jungle trekking, which is mostly a visit to the Canopy walk; a night walk around the national park (usually 1-1.5 hours); a half day boat trip up the river to the Lata Berkoh cascades, where you can swim. Prices in the Mutiara are often 50-100% more expensive than the other offers, so compare the available options (e.g. night walk between 35 and 50 RM per person).

We ended up doing the Canopy walk ourselves, as the trail starts just at the end of the resort, is easy to follow, and you won't see much wildlife anyway because of the many tourists on the trail.

For the night walk, we booked directly with the national park headquarters (35 RM per person), which was a good decision: we had a guide of our own for less than what we would have paid at the resort or the swimming restaurants. Our guide was a very pleasant and knowledgeable local and we thought the night walk a great experience - we saw frogs, sleeping birds, scorpions, lots of other insects and learned a lot about the rainforest and wildlife. The highlight was our visit to the Tahan hide just behind the resort: we saw a herd of deer and two tapirs, which was certainly unusual this close to the resort. We were able to see the tapirs for close to 10 minutes as it was just the 3 of us in the hide. They left when a larger (and noisy!) night walk group approached.

We were so happy with our guide that we booked him for the next day again, for a full day jungle trip to the Lata Berkoh cascades. It was expensive (200 RM for the guide, 160 RM for the boat), but definitely worth the money. It's a 4-5 hour walk through the jungle up to the cascades, but the experience was great - very few people on the trail (but many leeches!), lots of interesting wildlife (we saw 5 hornbills sitting in the canopy) and at the end great swimming in the natural pool at the cascades. Again, it was just the 3 of us, which is so much better than going in a large group. The way back was by boat, and we saw 25 boats going up the river to the cascades - which was the afternoon tours that many of the operators offer around 2-2:30pm. That's 100 people all trying to crowd into the small natural pool!!! We were so glad we had booked our individual jungle trip and not gone on one of the normal trips to the cascades (but it has to be said that this was on a Friday and public holiday - so there were lots of Malaysian tourists - not sure if this is the same on other weekends).

So in a nutshell: definitely consider booking your trips directly from the national park headquarters; and if you're up for it, go for one of the individual trips instead of going with a group. It is worth the money, and we thought the 4 hour jungle hike to the cascades one of the highlights of our vacation in Malaysia!

Room Tip: As the resort is large, we had to walk 10 minutes to the reception and restaurant, so you might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bjoernski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had great time during our stay at the resort. The boat ride was very interesting and great experience. Those with kids are advisable to travel via Kuala Tahan. The activities are must specially visit to Lata Berkoh. This is the only resort in Taman Negara itself. They serve the best meal (international). Our nature guide Along was great and informative. Fullboard is always advisable and worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end (No 95 and above). Closure to nature. Not advisable for those with walking difficu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syamala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Good location just by the park entrance. Expensive but the best option in "town". We stayed in the standard guesthouse rooms. They were ok but not super nice. And kind of leaking in terms of bugs. No mosquito nets available, but luckily we had our own.
The restaurant was very good. Food was great but staff a bit uninspired.

We booked day trips with the hotel. Did:
the jungle trekking and canopy walkway, Night jungle walk, Lata Berkoh and rapid shooting.
I can recommend all of them. Specially the night jungle walk and Lata Berkoh. But if you are not aiming to do any longer tours into the jungle do not spend more than 2 days here. We had 3 full days and last day they didn't have more tours for us. We had already done everything!?

Overall a very nice stay. And as long as the other hotel options in Taman Negara are not improving a lot I would recommmend to stay at the Mutiara.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Wouldn't recommend the long boat ride to get here. The ride back would be traumatic at the very least. Plenty of boats for rides if one wants. Drive down via Jerantut to the Kuala Tembeling jetty, park the car before taking a short ride across the river to other side where Mutiara is. Wonderous entrance bang in the middle of nature. Chalets are far apart as its a big resort. We were 2 families traveling together and got nice inter-connected rooms towards the front which I would recommend. We only had breakfast included, but would recommend full-board as the food is good. All our meals were there anyway!
The trekking in the Rainforest is awesome, but be prepared for leeches n loads of mud esp if it rains. Not for the hoity-toity. The canopy walk was awesome and a must-do - 11 inter-connected bridges over the tops of trees. Saw a lot of animals (and bugs) on the way. Very eco-friendly and fun to boot.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThandaBilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Tahan
0.0 km away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 km away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 km away
Danz Eco Resort
Danz Eco Resort
#3 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Balai Serama Guesthouse
Balai Serama Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Jerantut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 km away
Nusa Holiday Villa
Nusa Holiday Villa
#5 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 km away
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
#4 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Taman Negara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Taman Negara

Property: Mutiara Taman Negara
Address: Kuala Tahan, Kuala Tahan 27000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Kuala Tahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Tahan
Price range (per night): RM254 - RM683
Hotel Class:3 star — Mutiara Taman Negara 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mutiara Taman Negara Resort, PahangDiscover the wonders of an ancient forest at Mutiara Taman Negara. Pitch tent or check-into this forest reserve and bask in the natural surroundings of the Taman Negara park. Mutiara Taman Negara, an eco-tourism Resort that offers a variety of accommodation types promises guests this unique experience with basic amenities and sufficient modern comforts. A virgin jungle expanse covering 4,343 square kilometres, Taman Negara was established in 1939 and is the largest park in peninsular Malaysia reputed to be The Best Kept Tropical Rainforest, thanks to its protected status. With minimal damage to this special ecosystem, Mutiara Taman Negara is dimly lit to avoid scaring off wildlife and conserves energy. Everything used is biodegradable and all the wooden chalet interiors are made of natural produce. Guests at Mutiara Taman Negara will wake to the drone of cicadas, the chirping of bird species new to them and a myriad of other unfamiliar sounds that form a consistent cacophony unique to rainforests. You will begin their adventure at your door step or veranda which makes a perfect perch especially for nocturnal sightings. Sighting wildlife outside the chalet is a norm and the fruit season attracts the most number of wildlife, from the mischievous long tailed macaques, the beautiful chestnut-breasted malkoha and the thorny porcupine to the gentle slow loris. The ancient life forms that blanket Taman Negara are impressive and during each visit, Mutiara Taman Negara gives its visitors the opportunity to glimpse at the flora and fauna species estimated at 10,000 plants, 150,000 insects, 25,000 invertebrates, 675 birds, 270 reptiles, 250 freshwater fish and 200 mammals. Some of the flora and fauna found in Taman Negara are rare or indigenous to this country. If you are not travelling with a group, you can plan your trip to Mutiara Taman Negara well before you arrive or enlist the help of guides at the Park Centre. Things to do at Mutiara Taman Negara include river cruises, guided walks, bird watching, fishing, swimming by waterfalls and night safaris. The world’s longest suspended canopy walk is the most popular activity in this rainforest and you have to be prepared to queue for a while. Secured 40 metres above the forest floor, visitors have a good vantage point from here and if lucky, you can sight some curious animals. The only people who are allowed to hunt and forage are its original inhabitants, the Orang Asli people who still live a nomadic lifestyle. They farm, fish and hunt in the park and nowadays play host to curious visitors armed with flashy cameras. The women may shy away but the men folk can put on a show with some advance notice. Travelling to Mutiara Taman Negara, guests can either do the four hour scenic drive down or board a coach from a designated location in Kuala Lumpur for a 3 hour drive down followed by a 3 hour boat trip down river ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Mutiara Taman Negara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Taman Negara Hotel Kuala Tahan
Mutiara Taman Negara Jerantut
Mutiara Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut
Mutiara Taman Negara Pahang/Kuala Tahan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing