We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Warm welcome and good food

We enjoyed à nice meal and evening in the Royal Oak. Fresh food of the season, tasty and made with... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2016
Gilles_Happy
via mobile
New ownership doing great things.

We stayed at the adjacent Highland Spirit B&B, owned by relatives of the folks who recently bought... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2016
CHANEL7881
,
Hermantown, Minnesota
Read all 5 reviews
  
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed à nice meal and evening in the Royal Oak. Fresh food of the season, tasty and made with high qualité products.
Good choice of local alcohols and very warm welcome.
We definitely recommand!
Thanks Rosamun, Patrick and William!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Gilles_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosamundBernoud, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Gilles,

Thanks for stopping by and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. Thanks for your recommendation. It was great to chat to you and thanks for giving us your recommendation.

Best Wishes
Rosamund, Patrick and William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had a lovely evening at The Royal Oak.
Food was very nice, homemade style, nothing fancy by very tasty and we really enjoyed it.
Love the champagne and raspberry cocktail with the good conversation of Rosamund.
We also did the tasting "Whisky and Chocolate", it was very interesting and delicious.
Don't miss it.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank NLDS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosamundBernoud, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Dear Maite P,

We are really pleased to hear you had a lovely evening at the Royal Oak. Patrick was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal which is very Scottish. I really enjoyed chatting to you and am really glad you enjoyed the Raspberry Gin Cocktail,.

My brother Alistair had great fun doing the Whisky Chocolate Marriage with you.

Thanks for giving us an excellent review. Hope to see you again one day.
Rosamund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed at the adjacent Highland Spirit B&B, owned by relatives of the folks who recently bought the Royal Oak, and the tandem of the two made for a great experience. The Royal Oak has a limited menu at the moment, but everything's very tasty and authentic. The bar is not for rowdy guzzlers of cheap beer -- this is a historical building that adds to the whisky culture in a positive, carefully considered way. It's the sort of place you stop in for a good dram after a long day's hiking about the countryside or visiting the copious and close-by distilleries. Rosamund and her family add a genuine, welcoming touch to the place. Nothing generic or corporate to be found. Definitely a place I hope our travels take us to again.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank CHANEL7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamund-Bernoud, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear CHANEL7881,

It has been a really nice moment to read your review especially as you feel you received a genuine family welcome. Glad you found your food tasty and enjoyed the atmsophere.

We do hope that we have the chance to welcome you again.

Best Wishes
Rosamund, William, Patrick and Alistair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

this is how I imagine classical Scottish pub - good selection of beers/ales and better selection of whiskies.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Gabriel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair J, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Gabriel,

Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you liked our Scottish pub with plently of Scottish craft beers and of course Whisky.

We hope that we might be able to host you again in the future.

Warm wishes
Rosamund, Patrick, William and Alistair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews