We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Visit”

Las Palapas restaurante y hotel de punta allen
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stopped here this morning for coffee. But we received so much more! Juan persuaded us to try his pies. The key lime was to die for; the coconut flan was the best we've had outside of Cuba. And speaking of Cuba, Juan proved to be a superb story teller. All in all, we had a terrific experience!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JOhnnymcl154957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

well, yes, great fish tacos, nice talkative Cuban owner. And great deserts. And the home made hot sauce was great, too.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Berthold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

If you make it to the end of the road, you eat at Las Palapas. The backpackers in Tulum tell whispers of this magical place where culture, hospitality, and food come together in one place at Las Palapas. The Key Lime Pie alone is worth the journey to Punta Allen. And the flan...the flan. They will write songs one day about that flan.

We fell in love with the town of Punta Allen a year prior to becoming acquainted with Juan and Martha. A very short 2 night stay and we decided a year later that PA had stolen our hearts, and thus decided this was the place we wanted to share our vows and celebrate our wedding.

Las Palapas, Juan, Martha, and their crew were instrumental in making our special day, and the days before and after, unforgettable to us and our guests. They hosted our Welcome Dinner, shutting down to the public and masterfully serving our 30 guests in their beautiful little restaurant. There was song, and dance, and food...and of course flan. We laughed and cried, ate and danced into the moonlit night.

The very next day, Las Palapas and their crew geared up to begin preparing for our wedding feast, which was catered at the other side of town at Serenidad Shardon. Once again, without a hitch they executed a meal not to be forgotten. Copious amounts of ceviche, deliciously prepared chicken, fish yucatan style- every part of the meal was special and delicious.

After the celebrations ended, after our loved ones departed for the "real world" and the dust began to settle, Juan and Martha invited us over for dinner, and the four of us had a memorable time sharing stories and laughs.

These are the kind of people hard to find in the busy world I live in. True, honest, friendly and hard working chefs who want nothing more than for you to leave with a full stomach and a smile and memories to bring home. If you make it to the end of the road, don't miss this experience.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank Slickdilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Competition is not tough in Punta Allen and Mexican cuisine is not my cup of tea. That being said, Juan and Martha do a great job preparing decent food in their backyard. Grilled fish, hamburgers, jumbo shrimps, and a fantastic flan, the best I had in my life! Everything is clean, water is purified and you won’t get sick. The restaurant is super cute and the owners are delightful, it feels as if you had known them forever. We miss them!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MattClaire097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Juan and Marta are the gems of Punta Allen. They welcome you into their restaurant like highly anticipated guests in their home.

Las Palapas would be worth the drive just for a visit with them. But they also feed you fresh local food! (Side note, don't drive to PA. Take a boat.) Martha is a wonderful cook. It is a pleasure to watch the care she puts into every meal. You know she wants you to truly enjoy it. And we truly did. Fresh fish from that day with a cilantro pesto and roasted veggies. Coconut rice and beans. And everyone raves about the desserts for a reason. The key lime pie was unexpected and amazing. My favorite was the coconut flan. It was unlike any other I have had. Rich and delicious!!

We loved PA for it's remoteness and beauty. Las Palapas is part of the reason we will return.

Thank you Juan and Martha!!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Lmaurine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Palapas restaurante y hotel de punta allen also viewed

Punta Allen, Riviera Maya
Punta Allen, Riviera Maya
 
Punta Allen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Punta Allen, Riviera Maya

Been to Las Palapas restaurante y hotel de punta allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing