We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Picard Beach Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secret Bay(Portsmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
35
23
7
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
23
7
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchmorning swimcaribbean seadominicawavespropertybeautytreeshillchamps
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2007

This place has so much potential, but is so poorly run, it's a shame. It has a nice location, and it's great to have the beach at your doorstep, and to fall asleep to the sound of the surf. At first I thought it was a bit quaint, a bit rustic. I've camped on several islands in the Caribbean, so I'm not put off a place if it's not the Marriott.

Here goes: The bathroom smelled like raw human sewage, there were some sort of animal droppings on the side of the bathtub, there was only one AC that didn't cool the two roms very well (not much of an issue), the hot water stopped working at all after day 2 (again, not much of an issue for me.) About this time was when I discovered a lizard in my sink. Wow, isn't that quaint, I thought, until the next day when he and his friends started using my bathtub as a toilet while I was out during the day. Soap in bathroom not replenished, finally bought my own. Giant worm or centipede crawled across floor, leaving trail of brown goo, the died in middle of floor in puddle of same goo. Goo never completely cleaned up by maid.

The attached restaurant was a complete disaster. Allow 20 minutes of stunned confusion by staff just to get a cup of coffee to go, if they are even open when they say they are supposed to be. Every experience there was as if a brand new person was starting his first day on the job and was left alone running the store. And no, they never have change, which is a sly way of getting you to tip them.

The food there was mediocre, overpriced, and delivered cold. I ordered breakfast there and got so frustrated I almost asked if I could go back in the kitchen and prepare it myself. Again, it was as though it was everyone's first day on the job, and the first time they had prepared a breakfast, ever. Pandemonium in slow motion.

The Caribbean is different, especially if you don't want to stay at some chain hotel on a tourist island. But it's not rocket science to keep lizards out of the house- it's called screen and maybe a little caulk. It's not rocket science to sell someone a cup of coffee, or prepare hot food, or respond to simple housekeeping requests, or to clean a room. This isn't a cheap place. They need to put a minimum amount of effort into their business.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ChesterArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
planthealth, managing director at Picard Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2007

Thank you for your frank comments. We have addressed them at our staff meeting last week.
Our Policy:

" We will humbly admit that if you are not sensitive to the environment, not interested in protecting turtles and iguanas, don't like being able to take ten walking strides from your cottage to be in the warm Caribbean sea, do not like to be able to snorkel in front of your doorstep, do not enjoy being greeted by genuine warm smiles, don't like to be able to see the stars, don't want to be put to sleep by the gentle lapping waves, or awoken by the flutter of a humming bird's wings, or don’t appreciate the things in life that money can’t buy, or will not let us know directly how we can improve...then we are not what you are looking for."

We do not have a restuarant and recommend our clients patranize all on the island.

Thanks kindly

Fitzroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

Stayed in Dominica last year at the south of the island, so we knew what to expect. Portsmouth is a fantastic place and the people are so friendly. We booked through the Cabrits dive centre on a 7 day dive package and stayed 10 nights at the cottages. We expected a shack and were not disappointed, far from being a cottage. Forget self catering, this kitchen was basic, the pans we dirty including the frying pan which was filled with fat and dirt which must have been there for months. The glasses had been placed on a layer of old kitchen paper and inside the cupboard was absolutely filthy. Although the floor was swept and washed every day, with clean towels and bedding, by a very friendly cleaner, every corner was dirty with cobwebs,dirt and hair etc. Even though we complained four times about the TV and Telephone which did not work, and that we had no way of boiling water, except in a milk pan which we had to clean, nothing was done. After five days they did offer us a different cottage, however we decided to stay as we were one of the few guests with hot water. Every morning we had to wash away the flying ants which came through the drain in the shower. The restaurant is very expensive and always seemed to manage not to have any change. I know this must read badly, but basic maintence and thorough cleaning would resolve many of these issues. These Shacks are in a great location and the views are fantastic. The diving was great and the dive team at Cabrits were professional and great fun. We found the best place to eat was the Iguana Cafe (rasta food), on the way to Portsmouth. Not only do you get a great meal, the owner and his wife are very friendly and explain all about the ingrediants and cooking methods. Dominica is a wonderful island and we will go back again, but we would not stay at the Picard Cottages.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Geordie1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2006

The location is great - long beach and nice gardens, but the cottages could be so much better (and should be at $144 in the off-season). The kitchenette lacks such basics as can and bottle openers, the fridge has no ice tray, and one wine glass was in pieces in the cupboard. The shower cubicle is tiny, but the TV is a decent size (unlike in many hotels) and the beds are very comfortable (ditto).

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2006

The hotel is nicely located, right on the beach, but that's the limit of the attraction. The staff could not recommend places to go snorkeling (and they are supposedly associated with a whalewathc/dive center?!). The kitchen was out of our first lunch choice, not a huge deal, but then the sullen waitress returned to say the kitchhen only had 4 fries - that is, 4 individual fries - so would we like salad instead of chips with our fish'n'chips? huh? The place was clean and decently appointed, but service was lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goodlife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2006

We stayed at Picard Beach Cottages for three nights. It is the sister hotel to Portsmouth Beach Cottages, which is accommodation for the students at Ross University. While we were there it was the last day of term at the University, but there were no rowdy parties to keep us awake, not much noise at all after about 11. The cottages are quite spacious, and include a little kitchen area. We had a garden cottage (not a beachfront one) but didn't feel we missed out. The service was not great – a bit surly and unhelpful but luckily we didn't really need help from the staff. Picard Beach was fine for relaxing and enjoying the good weather – we can't vouch for any of the facilities. The mosquito netting wasn't perfect, so we used our own net.

Portsmouth feels quite different from the rest of the island, and we didn't like it as much. It is a good 40 minute walk from Picard beach to Portsmouth, or a $5-10EC taxi ride. If you do stay at Picard Beach, it's worth making the trip to Blue Bay for supper. They serve great Creole food and drinks at reasonable prices right on the waterfront. To get there, you'll have to go right through the main part of Portsmouth, over two or three bridges and you'll see the hanging sign on your left, pointing down an alley way.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews