We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation, lots of space for 16 people”
other travellers have booked this property
Espana Escape Villa for large groups
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Espana Escape Villa for large groups
Villa at night Large private pool with views over countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Espana Escape Villa for large groups
Villa at night
Large private pool with views over countryside
Level 1 Rooms
Villa Espana Escape
Covered seating area and terrace
Barbecue area
Large open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area
Comfortable lounge with UK TV
Fully fitted kitchen, extended for 2014
Inside dining room, open plan to kitchen/lounge
Bedroom 1 with Cot
Bedroom 2
Ensuite to Bedroom 2 (similar ensuite to bedroom 1)
Bedrooms 3 and 4
Ensuite to Bedroom 3 (identical ensuite to bedroom 4)
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 7 - share terrace with 8
Bedroom 8
Games room/den
Plan of level 1 rooms
Plan of main villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Torre del Mar, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RONA1
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Can't believe the other reviews for this property. It's not luxury in any way, shape or form.
Not suitable for elderly or infirm either. Didn't appear to be ready for us arriving, looked dirty and uncared for - garden overgrown and paths, stairs etc were weedy and dirty. The gardener appeared twice, early in the morning to get it into shape - petrol lawnmower and strimmer are not the nicest wake up calls! Bedrooms 1,2,3 & 4 are not part of the main house. The beds in room 3 were an absolute disgrace - honestly Sue - try them out - you probably wouldn't last a week! Facilities are not wonderful and it's miles from anywhere. The photos and website don't show exactly how many stairs there actually are before arriving at the front door.
We were a party of 13 -We were in bedroom 3 and this is totally my opinion - I would absolutely NOT recommend this property to anyone.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Probably the garden, once it had been attended to.
Liked least: The beds, the showers, the bedrooms, the kitchen, the table tennis area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Rona. Although disappointed you did not enjoy your stay we feel some of your comments are unfounded. As you were not involved in the booking process you were probably not aware of the email conversations we had with JM, or fully read the Holiday Lettings website description. We do not need to mislead people to get bookings, and try to give the correct information to suit the enquiry.
Firstly we clearly state on the Holiday Lettings website that the property is not suitable for disabled persons. The description also clearly states that there are steps leading up to the villa and second level. We clearly answered a query about the steps to your group organiser saying there are "quite a few steps", which is in the initial email response. We also provided detailed layout drawings of the rooms, etc, showing that not all the bedrooms are in the same building but annexed on another level down stairs within the same property.
We understand it may have been frustrating, but we can only state the facts and it is then up to you to decide on suitability. If the issue was that important, as it obviously was, you should have asked for more detail and maybe specific photos for you to make an informed decision. We always try and provide sufficient information but cannot second guess your specific requirements. We have had many elderly people stay at our villa, as grandparents often come with their extended families.
As for the remoteness, again we describe the villa as being in a quiet, elevated location about 2 miles from shops and beaches etc. We have taken the distance from Google maps if there is any doubt. We also state that a car is 'recommended', and in your organiser’s emails it is said that you would be hiring 3 cars. Had you said you were not hiring cars we could have advised you differently. When potential guests ask about walking, we always tell them that there is an unlit road without pavements leading for part of the way to the villa.
The reason the villa was not quite ready is because in one of JM's emails it was asked if you could come earlier. By doing you a favour we allowed you to come straight to the villa, earlier than usual, but did state you might need to stay by the pool if the cleaning was not complete. We then had to rush.
When you arrived we did apologise for the garden as our normal gardener had had an operation and unfortunately the short term replacement was not up to scratch. The heavy rain and wind a couple of days before you arrived also did not help. That is why our normal gardener came twice to recover the situation, and came early so he was not in your way during the day. I appreciate the inconvenience but as you have stated the garden does need to be looked after.
After your comment about the beds we did check them and to be honest we do agree, even if ‘absolute disgrace’ is a bit over the top. The mattresses were bought from John Lewis, only 2 years ago, and we are very surprised they have deteriorated so quickly. We have not had any complaints or comments before but will be replacing them.
As a point to mention we went out of our way to collect and return the aids required by your friend, and immediately, on Sunday, provided the mats that you requested.
Before posting your review it may have been useful to speak to the organiser, and although our villa may not have been entirely suitable for your group we feel that a 1 star rating is not a truly constructive appraisal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation, lots of space for 16 people”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found the villa to be of a high standard. Finding the place was a bit of a problem, so a detailed map of how to get there would be helpful. Sat Nav took us somewhere different altogether and the taxi driver had no idea either. Su was brilliant really helpful and straight round if there was a problem. A car is a must. Cooking was tricky with oven having 1 shelf and 1 tray for 16, it was a challenge. Also the barbeque was not adequate for 16. The views are amazing. The pool is just lovely. Table tennis, football table and the wii were great for the kids. Plenty of fridges. I would recommend to family and friends and will be back sometime in the future. Thanks Su we had a great time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Hi Jenny
Thank you for your positive and constructive comments, and as a result we will be adding a second oven for 2016. We do hope to see you again.
Regards Su and Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just spent a fabulous week in Torre del Mar.
The villa was so lovely that we spent most of our time there, relaxing and enjoying games in the pool. There was enough space for everyone to spread out and in the evenings we made good use of the BBQ.
A car is useful for the local supermarket although we had a shop delivered for when we arrived which worked really well.
The local beach has lots of lovely bars and restaurants although we were so happy at the villa that we didn't venture out much at all!
Su was really helpful and it was great to know that if we had any problems, we could contact her.
This was the perfect villa for our family holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Accomodation”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were a party of 3 families with 7 kids ranging from age 6-20 and Espana Escape proved a perfect location.

The villa had great layout and space with different areas to allow everyone to spreadout. The location is extremely peaceful with beautiful views. Perfect terrace for morning yoga and BBQ and eating area perfect for evening meals.

We spent time at the villa, various local beaches and a trip to Alhambra in Granada. A car is essential to enjoy the local area but the villa is also a beautiful place to spend time relaxing.

Su was extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosieholi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great week”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Villa was lovely and ideal for our family to spend time together in the sun. Car/s are essential - we had 3 between us all. Sue was very helpful in all our queries. Pool just perfect although maybe some sun umbrellas would be useful - and lots of fun was had there as well as on the terrace playing table tennis. When it became too hot to sit in the sun we enjoyed Wimbledon on the television. Made use of the barbeque on two occasions - local fish was delicious, ate out a couple of times in Torre del Mar which had a very good range of restaurants and cafes. Food was very reasonable to buy from the supermarket and gave us the opportunity for individual members of the family to show off their cooking skills to impress the rest of us. The young ones in our group had great fun on the obstacle run in the sea and at the go karting. Some of us had a day to Mijas which was just beautiful. All in all a great holiday enjoyed by us all and has left us with great memories whether young or old. Thank you to Sue for the opportunity to share your property albeit for a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,995
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing