We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pernera Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Arrived at the hotel late afternoon. Check in was very quick and we were in room 583 which is a sea view room. Room was lovely, fantastic views, lovely bathroom although the shower could have been better as was not very powerful so took ages to rinse shampoo out of hair. Plenty of storage, tea and coffee ( these did not get topped up every day so had to ask at reception for more). Bed very comfortable. The only gripe apart from tea and coffee was that the floor was not swept. Hairdryer in the room which is attached to a drawer.
Food was lovely, always something to eat. You are given a voucher for each of the 2 onsite restaurants. One Asian and one al a carte. The food was amazing.
You are given a voucher for pool towels which you can change every 3 days. There are 3 pool. 1 for children, 1 for anybody which you can play games and have Lilos in and the other is adults only which is for swimming only. Plenty of sun beds for everyone.
There is a chapel on site and we saw 7 weddings and 2 christenings in the 10 days we were there.
The area is not bad but you have to watch your footing as they are not very good at mending pavements. Bars around the area are good. There is a little hill to go up to get to the town.
The local bus is €1.50 and you can go anywhere. We went to ayia napa, protaris and palamini and some of the journeys were about half an hour. The bus does get busy especially to ayia napa.
I Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room as there is building work going on the other side. Swim up rooms, sun only till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathyq66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

On arriving at the Penera Beach Hotel late at night we were warmly welcomed by Stavros the reception night Manager who explained the layout of the hotel and directed us to our room.
The room was spacious with a good size bathroom although later I found out that if you are any bigger than a size 12 don't try and sit in the bath as you will struggle to get out but I guess they are good if you have kids.

The beds were comfy and there was plenty of storage although I never find a hotel that puts up extra hooks to store coats bags hats etc.
We had opted for a sea view which was the right thing to do as to the side and rear of the hotel building work is ongoing. The cleaning was not up to much although the rooms were serviced everyday they missed things like cleaning the coffee cups and saucers that were left dirty, also under the beds were terrible looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks as the floors were wood is was clear to see how dirty they were.

The food we found to be very good with lots of choice and the quality was also good, however what lets this hotel down in my opinion is some of the staff and entertainment was not up to much either.

We visited the Amarante Asian on site restaurant that you get a voucher for on arrival and were far from pleased. First of all the man running the show who I guess was in charge was pleasant enough but kept calling me " my Dear " and I noticed he called all the ladies the same which I was highly offended by, I found him to be patronizing and after long discussion about how I would like my curry it was served as a vegetable dish and not chicken and was way to spicy after I had already asked him for the mild option so left very disappointed with the whole experience.

The Thalassa restaurant you also get a voucher for and this time we were very happy not just with the food but the overall service received and the friendliness of the staff we also saw George waiting on tables there you would normally find George in the breakfast room what a lovely man he is, the Manager in the Thalassa went out of his way to accommodate us as we were unable to make our booking the previous night and he fitted us in before our coach arrived to take us to the airport.
Some of the staff especially one young man at the snack bar of a night time was very rude/unhappy and didn't care less, why work in a job that you hate because it was obvious he did. The animation team were not up to much but they did try!

I think the Penera Beach is a good Hotel the location is great so full marks for that, however for what we got it was by no means luxurious and it was very overpriced.

Room Tip: if you opt for a sea view get one above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

First time visit to Pernera Hotel and Protaras in September. The hotel is centrally located in the Pernera area (a few nice bars and restaurants within walking distance) and about a 25 min walk along the coastal boardwalk into Protaras (more variety of restaurants and bars). You can also get a bus for 1.50 euros which takes about 10 mins. Hotel was clean, staff friendly but housekeeping needs to improve (used tea cups not being washed or replaced, bath towels forgotten about on two occasions), the tv only had two English speaking channels (not a holiday breaker). The food was pretty standard and we didn't eat in the evening apart from the two a la carte restaurants which were excellent (especially the Pan-Asian one). The Spa is wonderful with plenty of treatments to choose from. Adult pool lovely and peaceful and you can reserve the sunbeds around the pool via the lifeguard. If you wanted a livelier pool the other pool provided aqua gym etc. the hotel also caters for weddings and we saw about 8 whilst we were there - very romantic setting on the beach. A trip into Nicosia is worth a visit too if you fancy some shopping or going over the border into Turkey (take your passport). Overall a lovely relaxing holiday and I would go back again one day.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not overlooking the building works or car park (i.e. odd numbers).. Even number ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Just returned from Penera beach on the 29th of september , well where do I start , had a great holiday with my husband,everyting from start to finish was just perfect. the staff are all amazing very helpful and friendly , nothing too much trouble for them ,the reps do an amazing job and do some great shows especially the fire show.some good acts also like the blues brothers and tributes. hotel grounds are amazing ,rooms lovely and cleaned daily, food , lots to choose from must be unusually fussy if you cant find something to eat , we had x 2 complimentary al a cart meals during our stay one asian and the other steak. best holiday we have had so far much better than some 4 stars we have stayed in ,would like to mention George from the restaurant who is lovely and works very hard . as do all of the staff they work some long hours. also would like to mention Daffy from the bar who goes out her way to be friendly which is really good always smiling.lots of weddings going on outside whilst we was there all looked amazing ,great effort put in by the hotel . looking forward to returning to the hotel more than once maybe several times, only thing they could improve on is an ironing board in the room , they do have a laundry and ironing facility though . THIS HOTEL DESERVES TO BE AT LEAST A 4 STAR PLUS... WELL done Penera staff you all do an amazing job...

Stayed: September 2017
4  Thank chr1ssysimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Stayed here for a week in mid September. Our room was a partial sea view family swim up. This was a First Choice all inclusive package.
Compared with recent hotels this one was a bit of a disappointment mainly because of small details and not as a result of any major failings.
The room was a very good size, fresh and clean and we do like our swim up pools when available. Interestingly, the swim ups with part sea view and inland view are quieter and you're able to swim in the whole of the pool. The others with a sea view are right next to the adult pool and each room has a partition outside so you only have a small plunge pool.
The area outside is nowhere near as green and lush as the photos suggest and access to the beach could be problematic for those not steady on their feet. The hotel sun beds near the beach are old and uncomfortable and you would have to step over rocks to get into the water. We found it much better to use the general access road and pay for the municipal sun beds. This way you have direct access to the warm sea with plenty fish to be seen if snorkeling is your thing. The sandy horse shoe bay is kept very clean and there is room for all. Some building work is taking place behind the beach but any noise wasn't overly intrusive. There is a coastal path with more fine secluded bays, boat trips and water sports all within 5-10 minutes walk.
Reception was clean and cool and the staff were polite, efficient and helpful.
Our biggest gripe was the main bar area or should I say the staff there as the only thing wrong with bar area and adjacent pools is there isn't any waiter service. The staff (not all but many) were not motivated to give good service. Drinks were put together in a rush and slammed down in front of you while your server was asking the next person what they wanted. The method of deciding who was next to be served was non-existent and one guy even turned his nose up at the drink I asked for. We used this area a couple of times for snacks and on one occasion this older member of staff practically threw our burger and chips at us.
We saw very little of the entertainment, just a little of the kids stuff and therefor couldn't comment but the area was always busy when it was on.
Moving onto the food the whole experience could have been made much better and more in keeping with somewhere that is costing the bulk of £2500 for a week. Younger staff constantly walked in front of you when you were carrying your food back to the table. This is a very basic mistake easily rectified with a bit of training. Food dropped on the floor was just left there. The food labeling was hand written scrawls for mains and did not exist for starters and sweets. As someone who is a bit picky with food this is a problem. Having said all this, don't get the wrong impression. The food itself is very good, most of the staff are very helpful and the whole set up can feed a lot of people very quickly. The Asian restaurant which is separate is particularly good.
All in all we enjoyed our stay here but it was adequate rather than exceptional

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuchtyMoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.5 km away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
2.6 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Louis Infinity Blu
Louis Infinity Blu
#16 of 65 in Protaras
138 reviews
2.2 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,021 reviews
0.6 km away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pernera Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pernera Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 33005 | Ifaistou 17, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Protaras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#10 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: RM739 - RM1,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pernera Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in "Pernera", a small area on the outskirts of Protaras, which has developed into a resort of its own. The hotel is right on the sandy beach of this quiet resort with restaurants, bars and many shops nearby. The Pernera beach hotel has a rich variety of sport and leisure facilities including:supermarket/souvenir shop, conference room, hairdressing salon, squash court, whirlpool bath, sauna, gym, massage room, two floodlit tennis courts, volleyball court, mini football ground, darts, games room, sun terraces, lounge bar, children playground, indoor swimming pool, a large outdoor swimming pool, children's swimming pool, a scuba diving center, water sports and a great variety of in-house entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Pernera Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pernera Beach
Pernera Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing