We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
94
12
2
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
12
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza wonderful hosts tuscan holiday great wine and olive oil fresh eggs castellina in chianti the main house hot tub and sauna enjoying the view available for purchase roosters crowing young kids own wine the location is perfect grocery store rolling hills san gimignano
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

As a large group of friends, we hired the villa for our annual get together. Despite the lovely surroundings, our visit was unfortunately spoiled by the owners who seemed to take a dislike to us believing us to be only around 16, when we were in fact aged 23+, working professionals and capable of looking after the villa during our stay. The owners were constantly following our every move and making us feel very uneasy and unwelcome, like when they would suddenly walk into the villa in the early morning to look around without telling us. We did nothing to instigate this frosty relationship, but their belittling made us unable to fully relax in case of doing something slightly wrong. The language barrier was also a problem, with a lot of aggressive Italian directed at us, again adding to our feelings of being uneasy.
Feel this place would be better suited to families, although not young children as you cannot splash in the pool in fear of the chlorine killing the plants...

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KRC_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Great villa in a beautiful location, but difficult to appreciate given the behaviour of the owners, who appear not to have any understanding of the concept of privacy.

Upon arriving as a group of young professionals, we were told they owners did not want "kids" staying at the villa. We found this rather offensive given that we are all 23-25. Alberto the owner thought it was acceptable to walk into bedrooms without knocking when people were getting changed for dinner. For the entire week we felt as if our privacy was not being respected, and it was therefore difficult to relax and enjoy the idyllicTuscan scenery.

We were introduced to a number of "house rules". I believe these have been a bone of contention in other reviews also. If you are a family traveling with children please note the rule that you are not allowed to "splash" in the pool. This is because the plants surrounding the pool "may get wet". Otherwise, the pool overlooking the hills is great.

The driveway is also rather bumpy and poorly maintained. If you are renting a car, be sure to get a 4x4 to navigate the terrain. We struggled to get back up the drive in Fiat Puntos.

The villa is in a wonderful setting, it's just a shame that the owners offered a poor service and behaved more like "kids".

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottL3426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We booked this house for a group of 19 young professionals, all aged 23. The house itself was beautiful, as was the surrounding scenery. However, we were judged from the moment we arrived and told that the house was not 'rented out to 16 year olds'. The owners seemed convinced we were there to destroy their house, despite our assurance that we were respectable people and that was, of course, not our intention.

Unfortunately, our holiday was severely impacted by the owners' treatment towards us. Alberto shouted at us several times a day and when their oven set on fire, we were blamed and made to go halves on the new oven, despite it being an electrical fault, one which we could have got very annoyed about indeed, for it was very dangerous. We do not feel we would have had this treatment, if we were there on a family holiday but we had been pre-judged from the start.

During the week, Alberto would wander through the house unannounced at different times of day, something which we again feel he would not have done, had this been a family rental.

By the end of the week we had not broken a single thing and had cleaned the house thoroughly but the owners insisted on taking our entire desposit regardless. By this point we were totally fed up of being shouted at and handed over the money despairingly, just so we could leave.

I do not doubt guests would have a better experience if they were on a family holiday. But DO NOT BOOK THIS HOUSE IF YOU ARE A GROUP OF YOUNG PEOPLE, you will not be welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Traveller23KLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albertoinglesi, Proprietario at Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

This group of young, yet unfortunately very disrespectful people, was the worst experience in our 9 years renting activity.....
We are not the location where people are allowed to do everything their parents would never permit ….
Probably this was the first time they tried to cook: they burned 3 of our beautiful steel pans and the electric problem happend because they used the oven incorrectly: They called my husband Alberto, because of the fire!!! Fortunately, we were there : it was a real problem , the oven was distroyed by the fire. My husband was burned in helping to secure the house from a larger fire.
The oven was 2 years old and was burned probably because they used it many hours no stop and used to much oil in it.

We had to intervene because they pretend to play football in the pool area and used our ladder without asking to enter the house, because they lost their key.....
We were totally afraid they could injure themselves. As parents, we were very worried and concerned by these extremely non-responsible children.....

One night, they made so much noise, disturbing the neighbors until 4 a.m, that the neighbors called the police who told our guests that they needed to be quiet.

About the security deposit: we spoke to them about this problem and they agreed to refund their deposit to pay for the pans and half of the price to replace the oven . We got € 400 as a refund, but unfortunally this was not enough... After they left, we discovered that the house was in a terrible state : it was unbelievable work to clean the house . They used costumes for carnival and the make-up remained as a special present on our sheets and towels..It took one week to clean everything.

We will never forget this extraordinaire groups of “professional”hooligans . At least they understood the terrible mistake :why did they choose Chianti ? We are not the location for a carnival nor a place to come to drink excessively and be disrespectful of our property.
I don't understand why so many lies ...we had to much comprehension : after they destroyed oven and pans we would have to ask immediately for a new security deposit. But we ware really to kind, so they took the "permission" to leave the house in the poorest condition....
Anyway , it would be not easy to find the right property/ location for this very special kind of guests... good luck to the next owners!!!

Camilla Curcio Inglesi




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Amazing villa that will accommodate 18 people, I rented the entire villa 9 beds, 9 baths, villa came with huge pool and spa area. Views are breath taking, and the solitude is well worth it. The owners Camilla & Alberto are very helpful in planning restaurants, and directions. Perfect for day trips to Siena, Lucca, Florence and any of the small villages in the Chianti region.

Room Tip: The only negative is that the entrance to the villa could be marked more clearly with a sign and at night with some kind of light. GPS had issues in finding the villa, the dirt road is not for novices to drive on.
Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Piaggione di Serravale was a beautiful and comfortable birthday visit. Rustic means not hotel like, more home like- warm and competent hosts and an experience to live (for a short time) amidst stone walls and antique woodwork. Beautiful surroundings. A working home/hobby ranch, winery, and olive oil producer.

The hosts work very hard to provide the best accommodations. Alberto provided an amazing array of real pizza pies. Camilla kept a close tab on use of the home, helping us inderstand how to best manage our visit (original custom woodwork and hardware, organic farm life). This is real country living, with all of its adjustments. Dirt roads, wild deer, incredible sunrises, fresh eggs from the coop. Its real, and completely separate from big city tourism.

Its easy to romanticize the rustic Tuscan life. Its reality (including hard work, and a difficult economy, complicated organic production scenario) is there if you're interested.

This is a great destination for folks looking for a taste of Tuscany, especially Chianti Classico. A hotel can provide predictable luxuries. Adjust your expectations for something less standard, and you'll be pleasantly surprised and you'll probably want to go back. Reading the guest book, many do visit repeatedly. I hope I will. This place is special.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ojaifolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews