We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
94
12
2
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
12
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza wonderful hosts tuscan holiday great wine and olive oil fresh eggs castellina in chianti the main house hot tub and sauna enjoying the view available for purchase roosters crowing young kids own wine the location is perfect grocery store rolling hills san gimignano
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Piaggione di Serravalle is a beautiful and serene property and was one of the best vacations of my life. The view from the property is astounding, and Alberto's sculptures are so interesting and well placed around the grounds. The only sounds we heard were the doves cooing and the roosters crowing. We booked Camilla for a tour of Siena, and I highly recommend it. She is passionate and knowledgeable about her hometown.

If you go, you MUST book Alberto and Camilla for an evening (or two) for dinner. The food is simply astounding, and they are so gracious in serving. I could not believe the quality of these meals. Alberto makes his own wine and olive oil, and you can taste the love in it, I believe.

This place is magical - you won't want to leave.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evansaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed in the Main House from May 6 - May 13 (7 bedrooms, 4 baths). We can't imagine a better home base for our Tuscan holiday. Alberto and Camilla were excellent and accommodating hosts from the time we booked until our departure. We were a group of 10 - 6 adults and 4 children. The house was clean and eclectic - and was stocked with everything we needed (including very nice "pack-n-plays" for the two year olds in our group). The view from the upper terrace was absolutely amazing and we spent much of our time there relaxing and enjoying the view of the Tuscan hills. We had arranged the welcome dinner our first night and it was served by Alberto and Camilla - this was one of our best meals in Tuscany - with the highlight being the wild boar pasta (delicious!). We also enjoyed the pizza night prepared in the outdoor wood burning pizza oven. Every pizza that came out was better than the last and ended with a Nutella pizza that was a huge hit with the kids. Both meals included Prosecco and Alberto's Chianti. This is a beautiful region of Tuscany, but more rugged than areas of south of Siena where more rolling hills are the norm. You will often find yourself on gravel roads, but once you embrace this, you come to realize that this is the place to be for a more "authentic" Tuscan experience. Another of our best meals was right down the hill in the town of Vagliagli - La Taverna. While we did day trips to Siena, Florence and San Gimignano, our best days were when we stayed closer to "home" and visited Radda in Chianti and Castellina in Chianti. This was such an enjoyable week and we already miss our "house" in Chianti.

For other travelers out there - a few tips or answers to questions we had - use GPS - yes, the house is at the end of a long, gravel road down a hill; there is a European-style wash machine (use YouTube videos to figure out how to operate if you are unfamiliar); plumbing is different - you can't use the shower and tub or wash machine at the same time and expect hot water - this is part of the charm; as with most pools in Europe, they are not heated, so May is a bit chilly for a swim; the home is well equipped with cooking utensils, pots and pans, dishes, wine glasses, etc. There is an American-style coffee maker, but we preferred to use the stovetop Moka pot. There was coffee and sugar in the house, as well as ample spices. We found the best grocery store was the large Coop in Siena, just outside of the city (no gravel road required). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DSVerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We stayed one week with 14 friends in this great location. We rent the complete villa.
All our friends love the site and the ambiance of the house and surroundings. There is enough place to find a quiet place for your own and also to bring all people together sitting at the terraces, around the big table or in front of the fireplaces. The view to the landscape of Chianti/Tuscany is outstanding and a worth in itself. Camilla speaks very well german and Alberto is all the time helpful if you need anything. We need a lot of fire wood, wine or olive oil. We always cooked ourselves but one evening we had their handmade pizza in the brick oven. It was delicious. So, all in all a great location with wonderful hosts for people who appreciate this special freedom to create your own home in this time. Criticism: The knives in the kitchen could be sharper.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ilona_haas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Camilla and Alberto were the perfect hosts. The villa was just as the pictures showed and accommodated 10 adults easily. And after a long day of travel to get there, the hot tub was wonderful. Nestled in a working vineyard along a hilltop the views were breathtaking every time we looked out the window or stood on one of the many porches. Alberto is quite the winemaker and his Chanti Classico rivals anything we tasted either dining out or at the nearby wineries. We had a couple renewing their wedding vows with us and to celebrate we had Alberto cook us pizzas! They were so good and as long as we ate, he kept making them. It was so good we later asked for the Tuscany Dinner which was two kinds of pasta and Florentine Steak. Delicious. If I had to do it all over again, I would have Alberto and Camilla cook for us every night, for their food was better than any we could find at any restaurant. We also had rental car trouble and Alberto handled it while we were away in Florence for the day. So nice to feel like a large Italian Family. Definitely will return and encourage you to visit soon!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank randytY2457UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

A group of 17 of us rented out the entire place for 8 days. We had the best time exploring Chianti and Tuscany from Alberto and Camilla's wonderful villa!

Between the all the space in the main house and the Hunting lodge, we never felt like we didn't have enough space. Both patios provided plenty of space to sit and amazing views. There are plenty of bathrooms for a large group and plenty of space to sit down for dinners and meals.

The kitchens are fully stocked with what you need to cook, but come prepared with groceries unless you have a car. The closest town is a good 20 minute walk and there is hardly anything in there. If you rent a driver and bus, please note that getting down to the house is bumpy and steep, but possible. Do all of your shopping when you are visiting other towns and be prepared to cook dinners or have them cook dinners, the are no restaurants within in short walking distance.

I would highly recommend the pizza by Alberto and any dinners by both of them. Everything they made was pure Tuscan heaven and memorable. Come hungry, they out due themselves. I would also recommend dinner at Dievole, a winery very close to them for one evening.

Alberto and Camilla will make you feel so welcome and will make this trip a once in a lifetime experience. Camilla is a terrific guide and I would highly recommend booking her for a full day visit to Siena (a magical city). She also took us to Pienza and Montalcino, she is very knowledgeable and will provide an amazing guided tour.

I highly recommend this location and house! The house itself is very comfortable, but slightly rustic. If you are looking for something modern or new, you will not find it here. The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, and the space is great.

I hope you can visit this part of Chianti/Tuscany!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank smasarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews