We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia(Castiglione D'Orcia)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
I Tre Rioni(Castiglione D'Orcia)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda in Tuscany(Castiglione D'Orcia)
US$242
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Podere Casella(Castiglione D'Orcia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Bindozzino(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Podere Il Tigliolo(Castiglione D'Orcia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Grossola(Castiglione D'Orcia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Poggio Al Vento(Castiglione D'Orcia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B La Colombella(Castiglione D'Orcia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
103
6
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
6
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricotta cheeseyogurthome madeelenaherbsagriturismotuscanyval
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This place was run by 2 lovely people. The room was nice and clean. The food was amazing and they had lovely wine from their own wineyard. Best food we had during our trip in tuscany. We could watch the sunset while we were eating dinner. A place to recommand! The view from the hotel was also realy beautiful. During our 2 night stay, we also had to chance to observe some wildlife such as wild pigs and deers.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We were careful in choosing an agriturismo in Toscana, and our expectations were very high, but they were more than fulfilled. We were met by a fantastic atmosphere, a tasteful building, excellent food cooked from local organic ingredients and an extraordinarily beautiful surrounding landscape. Elena and Andrea, the proprietors, are warm, friendly, helpful and generous. We stayed in the Elms room with our own terrace overlooking the Orcia valley with its stunning sun-set. We had a lovely hike past the Sangovese vines down to the Orcia river, and nice car drives to the top wine cities Montalcino and Montepulciano. We are already longing to come back, the text about "the quiet, the silence, the wind, and the positive energy of this place" is so true.

Room Tip: A car is mandatory. Follow the directions on the Pian de Meta Vecchia website - they give you more than Google Maps.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Pain in the rear to find but well worth it. We had to stop in the local town and two nice gentlemen guided us to their driveway. We would have never found it without their help. The farmhouse was beautiful and the scenery was breathtaking. The food was out of this world!!!!! A great experience to go off the beaten path. Highly recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank The2Larsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Are you planning to explore Tuscany by car? Then this could be your heavenly home on the road. Neatly located by large roads in superb condition it definitely earns a place on any Tuscan Agriturismo top 10. Rooms are tastefully decorated (or rather spared from "tasteful decoration") and its clean yet robust and exquisite interior makes you wish the recharging evenings would last forever. Not to mention the fantastic food and homemade wine. With two previous restaurants in Venice, the owners Elena and Andreas sure know how to please the most picky of tastebuds.

Still, there are a few bumps on the road to heaven, and one is most certainly the road (or should I say "trail") leading from the main road to the quite isolated location. To my surprise the rented Fiat car found its way and was spared of any major scratches although on a rainy day I wouldn't be so sure to manage the way with a heavy car without AWD. Also, be sure that it can be quite the hassle finding the tiny road if you, like we did, arrived in the pitch dark hours. Simply go all the way through Castiglion d'Orcia and when you are so certain you've gone too far on the wrong road, that's where you'll find the turning way to the agriturismo.

Another note to the not very experienced agriturismo visitor: places like these are for safely parking your car, stretching your legs and experiencing culinary peaks. NOT for exploring the nearby area. No matter how loving and helpful the hosts of this accomodation are, much of their tourist service ends by the boundary of their building plot. If you, like we did, still decides to go hiking, for the love of God be prepared for an undisplayed area (forget "Monastery 2 km this way") with passages over rail bridges (think motion picture Stand by me and you'll get the idea), steep cliffs, impenetrable vegetation and biting dogs.

However, by the late time we found our way back to civilization, Elena provided us with a cheese platter and a regional red beer and just like awakening from a bad dream, we were safely back in heaven again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

An agriturismo by definition by is location, meals, the people physically running it, authenticity, sleep quality and the memories you keep for a life time.

Plan di Meta Vecchia meets and exceeds all requirements:

The location is heavenly, in the country but central to so many key towns in Tuscany.. Peace, views, pure air, no one around with the exception of forest wildlife. The way Tuscany should be.

The meals I can't even begin do describe. I am export director for a company and travel extensively, and very rarely have I encountered such authenticity of flavours, freshness of ingredients, commitment and love of cooking. Bravo Andrea and Elena.

The keepers Andre and Elena are two hard working people who obviously draw satisfaction from their labours... and they do labour.

The Inn is a century old formerly barn/resident lovingly restored to retain its original charm.

The views from our room, the quality bedding, the absolute silence made rising for the hearty , copious country breakfast difficult.

The memories are mine... you will have to go to make your own...

Room Tip: All rooms are great and confortable
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tsoklis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews