We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Elena and Andrea are living their dreams, and have opened their home for others to enjoy a glimpse and a taste! This enchanting property is for those who love nature, simplicity, and a touch of adventure. To get there, you must have a car, as it's 7 km down a very tiny gravel road. The restored farm building is beautifully appointed, and tasteful in its rustic simplicity. Our meal, prepared by the owners, who were formerly restauranteurs in Venice, was among the best we had in Italy.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank katisaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2015

This place was run by 2 lovely people. The room was nice and clean. The food was amazing and they had lovely wine from their own wineyard. Best food we had during our trip in tuscany. We could watch the sunset while we were eating dinner. A place to recommand! The view from the hotel was also realy beautiful. During our 2 night stay, we also had to chance to observe some wildlife such as wild pigs and deers.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We were careful in choosing an agriturismo in Toscana, and our expectations were very high, but they were more than fulfilled. We were met by a fantastic atmosphere, a tasteful building, excellent food cooked from local organic ingredients and an extraordinarily beautiful surrounding landscape. Elena and Andrea, the proprietors, are warm, friendly, helpful and generous. We stayed in the Elms room with our own terrace overlooking the Orcia valley with its stunning sun-set. We had a lovely hike past the Sangovese vines down to the Orcia river, and nice car drives to the top wine cities Montalcino and Montepulciano. We are already longing to come back, the text about "the quiet, the silence, the wind, and the positive energy of this place" is so true.

Room Tip: A car is mandatory. Follow the directions on the Pian de Meta Vecchia website - they give you more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Pain in the rear to find but well worth it. We had to stop in the local town and two nice gentlemen guided us to their driveway. We would have never found it without their help. The farmhouse was beautiful and the scenery was breathtaking. The food was out of this world!!!!! A great experience to go off the beaten path. Highly recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank The2Larsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Are you planning to explore Tuscany by car? Then this could be your heavenly home on the road. Neatly located by large roads in superb condition it definitely earns a place on any Tuscan Agriturismo top 10. Rooms are tastefully decorated (or rather spared from "tasteful decoration") and its clean yet robust and exquisite interior makes you wish the recharging evenings would last forever. Not to mention the fantastic food and homemade wine. With two previous restaurants in Venice, the owners Elena and Andreas sure know how to please the most picky of tastebuds.

Still, there are a few bumps on the road to heaven, and one is most certainly the road (or should I say "trail") leading from the main road to the quite isolated location. To my surprise the rented Fiat car found its way and was spared of any major scratches although on a rainy day I wouldn't be so sure to manage the way with a heavy car without AWD. Also, be sure that it can be quite the hassle finding the tiny road if you, like we did, arrived in the pitch dark hours. Simply go all the way through Castiglion d'Orcia and when you are so certain you've gone too far on the wrong road, that's where you'll find the turning way to the agriturismo.

Another note to the not very experienced agriturismo visitor: places like these are for safely parking your car, stretching your legs and experiencing culinary peaks. NOT for exploring the nearby area. No matter how loving and helpful the hosts of this accomodation are, much of their tourist service ends by the boundary of their building plot. If you, like we did, still decides to go hiking, for the love of God be prepared for an undisplayed area (forget "Monastery 2 km this way") with passages over rail bridges (think motion picture Stand by me and you'll get the idea), steep cliffs, impenetrable vegetation and biting dogs.

However, by the late time we found our way back to civilization, Elena provided us with a cheese platter and a regional red beer and just like awakening from a bad dream, we were safely back in heaven again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione D'Orcia hotels
5.6 km away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
257 reviews
3.4 km away
Agriturismo Aiole
Agriturismo Aiole
#15 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
45 reviews
4.6 km away
Agriturismo Podere Casella
Agriturismo Podere Casella
#3 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Agriturismo Le Piane
Agriturismo Le Piane
#13 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
13 reviews
3.6 km away
Agriturismo Grossola
Agriturismo Grossola
#6 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
155 reviews
1.9 km away
Podere Il Tigliolo
Podere Il Tigliolo
#1 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia

Address: Localita Podere Pian di Meta 31 | Castiglion D'Orcia, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range: RM376 - RM766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Pian dui Meta Vecchia is located in the beautyful Val d'Orcia near the Orcia River in Tuscany with restaurant managed by Elena and Andrea, two chefs from Venezia. Wonderful panorama on the valley middle in the nature, very quite and lots of walks to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing