We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Tub B&B(Tobermory)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
45
38
21
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
38
21
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight housecomplimentary coffeefamily owned and operatedrent kayakswaterfront roomminute driveship wreckslittle piece of paradisetour boatsbeautiful propertystayed one nightnational parkno air conditioningflowerpot islandlighthouseharbourcanoe
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

First off the staff are great, very helpful and accommodating. The resort is beautiful and loved the restaurant and view. Food was very good.
The rooms are a basic room. No AC. no blow dryer or any other product you might need.
There is a fridge with freezer which was very good. Beds were old as were the pillows. Pillows smelt old and very used. Freshen up the rooms and all would be great.
We would go back.

Room Tip: Water view is a must.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank newbee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The hotel is immaculately maintained and is in a great location. It is situated right on the water with a marina in front. It's not right in Tobermory it's a short drive away. The grounds are pretty with flowers, rocks and trees. There is lounge chairs by the water and two charcoal barbecues with a picnic table by the marina. It's a great place to eat. You must bring your own charcoal. The rooms are large and charming, the bathrooms are updated, air conditioning is loud and you can hear people walking above you. I would suggest bringing ear plugs I did. We got Internet in our rooms, but it only allows for two computers so I paid two dollars a day for an additional device. It's not guaranteed you'll get Internet but the whole area is like that. Down the street from the hotel is the light house which is a great place to swim. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The owner when we arrived gave us a map and highlighted vacation desinations. The cruise ship for Tea pot island gets booked up in advance as it was the long weeked so I phoned one week in advance. I loved the island. To get in to Bruce Peninsula you have to go very earlier in the morning as there is not many parking spots. You will love the park especially the grotto. To get into the grotto the climb is very steep so instead we went further over down by the water then you must swim in the lake to get to it. We went at the end of July so it didn't take long to get used to the water. All this effort to get to the grotto was so worth it! The beach Singing sands is stunning. It's very shallow so it's very warm, has lots of sand bars and grass growing on the beach. It made the beach for unique definitely go there. Two tips there is free parking in Tobermory and if you pay to go into different parks that allows you to go free to other provincial attractions so keep your receipt. If your a nature lover you'll love this place!

Room Tip: Pick top floor because of the noise from people walking above you and get a water view.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The title summs up our experience.
The location was stunning and could not have been better to access all that town has to offer: kayaking, swimming, restaurants, boat tours etc.

The lady at reception gave us really great tips on how to best visit the parks to avoid line ups and save money. Was super friendly on the phone when I called to book.

The downside: rooms were VERY basic, felt like 60$ a day super 8 motel, but for a much higher price. No air conditioning in crazy heat!! Two very basic pillows, hard mattress, not one picture on beige walls to make it more welcoming. No iron ( was annoying because wanted to have non-rinkled clothes for bday dinner). Just very basic basic room to sleep and shower in ( shower was older as well, shower curtain was old and yellow and could be changed).

Also there was no balcony, but instead the hotel provides chairs to sit on the walk out hall at the back of the rooms. Some face the parking lot and some ( like ours) faced another wall. What is the point of that and what a shame, considering the amazing, out of this world waterfront view that is on the other side.

So overall we had a really great experience. The restaurant and the kayak rental ( all part of the hotel) were very good and pleasant experience / staff.

Just wish the rooms were nicer.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nlesnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

First let me say this is probably the best place to stay in Tobermory. It is on the lake, it is clean and well maintained ( except for one thing, I will mention later) the staff are all friendly and helpful, the location is really quiet and away from the noise of the town but still close enough to get Down Town in under 3 minutes of you drive.

The restaurant is also clean and sit at a point where if you sit outside you can enjoy the lake in the background. When we choose to visit Tobermory again, we will definitely choose the Big Tub Harbour Resort.

there is one thing I thought could be better, and that is the condition of the bed we had in out room. I am not sure if all the beds are in the same condition, but ours was really very uncomfortable. You know when a mattress is dead when you constantly roll to the middle. LOL. Our bed was also fairly lumpy. That said we everything else was good.

Cheers

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kelton1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Definitely request a room on the second floor. We stayed on the first floor and it sounded like a heard of elephants over our room. Paid $183 for a nite ....there was no A/C and no telephone in the room to call the front desk or hair dyer provided. No ice machine but they do sell it by the bag. Nice restaurant which also serves as the front desk so it gets kind of congested at dinner time. Beautiful views! Staff friendly

Room Tip: Request 2nd fllor
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews