We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Save your money, overpriced for the quality of the room, vinyl floor a mess, no flatscreen tv, no micro wave, plain bathroom, small bed and plain
paid 40 dollars less last night for a better room. Have traveled all over the world and this place is not even a 2 star even in Cuba

wi fi is limited to 2 devices

Gary Constable
Aug 16th 2016

Room Tip: to chose a good room, DON'T STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

First off the staff are great, very helpful and accommodating. The resort is beautiful and loved the restaurant and view. Food was very good.
The rooms are a basic room. No AC. no blow dryer or any other product you might need.
There is a fridge with freezer which was very good. Beds were old as were the pillows. Pillows smelt old and very used. Freshen up the rooms and all would be great.
We would go back.

Room Tip: Water view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank newbee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The hotel is immaculately maintained and is in a great location. It is situated right on the water with a marina in front. It's not right in Tobermory it's a short drive away. The grounds are pretty with flowers, rocks and trees. There is lounge chairs by the water and two charcoal barbecues with a picnic table by the marina. It's a great place to eat. You must bring your own charcoal. The rooms are large and charming, the bathrooms are updated, air conditioning is loud and you can hear people walking above you. I would suggest bringing ear plugs I did. We got Internet in our rooms, but it only allows for two computers so I paid two dollars a day for an additional device. It's not guaranteed you'll get Internet but the whole area is like that. Down the street from the hotel is the light house which is a great place to swim. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The owner when we arrived gave us a map and highlighted vacation desinations. The cruise ship for Tea pot island gets booked up in advance as it was the long weeked so I phoned one week in advance. I loved the island. To get in to Bruce Peninsula you have to go very earlier in the morning as there is not many parking spots. You will love the park especially the grotto. To get into the grotto the climb is very steep so instead we went further over down by the water then you must swim in the lake to get to it. We went at the end of July so it didn't take long to get used to the water. All this effort to get to the grotto was so worth it! The beach Singing sands is stunning. It's very shallow so it's very warm, has lots of sand bars and grass growing on the beach. It made the beach for unique definitely go there. Two tips there is free parking in Tobermory and if you pay to go into different parks that allows you to go free to other provincial attractions so keep your receipt. If your a nature lover you'll love this place!

Room Tip: Pick top floor because of the noise from people walking above you and get a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The title summs up our experience.
The location was stunning and could not have been better to access all that town has to offer: kayaking, swimming, restaurants, boat tours etc.

The lady at reception gave us really great tips on how to best visit the parks to avoid line ups and save money. Was super friendly on the phone when I called to book.

The downside: rooms were VERY basic, felt like 60$ a day super 8 motel, but for a much higher price. No air conditioning in crazy heat!! Two very basic pillows, hard mattress, not one picture on beige walls to make it more welcoming. No iron ( was annoying because wanted to have non-rinkled clothes for bday dinner). Just very basic basic room to sleep and shower in ( shower was older as well, shower curtain was old and yellow and could be changed).

Also there was no balcony, but instead the hotel provides chairs to sit on the walk out hall at the back of the rooms. Some face the parking lot and some ( like ours) faced another wall. What is the point of that and what a shame, considering the amazing, out of this world waterfront view that is on the other side.

So overall we had a really great experience. The restaurant and the kayak rental ( all part of the hotel) were very good and pleasant experience / staff.

Just wish the rooms were nicer.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nlesnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

First let me say this is probably the best place to stay in Tobermory. It is on the lake, it is clean and well maintained ( except for one thing, I will mention later) the staff are all friendly and helpful, the location is really quiet and away from the noise of the town but still close enough to get Down Town in under 3 minutes of you drive.

The restaurant is also clean and sit at a point where if you sit outside you can enjoy the lake in the background. When we choose to visit Tobermory again, we will definitely choose the Big Tub Harbour Resort.

there is one thing I thought could be better, and that is the condition of the bed we had in out room. I am not sure if all the beds are in the same condition, but ours was really very uncomfortable. You know when a mattress is dead when you constantly roll to the middle. LOL. Our bed was also fairly lumpy. That said we everything else was good.

Cheers

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kelton1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
1.6 km away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
92 reviews
1.6 km away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
0.8 km away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
71 reviews
1.3 km away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
127 reviews
1.5 km away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tub Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tub Harbour Resort

Address: 236 Big Tub Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: RM643 - RM726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Big Tub Harbour Hotel Tobermory
Big Tub Harbour Resort Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing