We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
msersp

It never disappoints, superb experience

Review of Berghotel Derby
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2023
The hotel is located ca. 10 minutes away by foot of the main gondola. The rooms are simple, but very clean. The staff is always very helpful. We have been coming to this hotel every year for the last 3 years for our yearly ski holidays and it never disappoints.

The rooms have breakfast included (everything you can ask is offered, I would maybe have loved to see more pastries and scrambled eggs in the breakfast buffet).

We would completely recommend, great price-quality relation (considering that you are in Switzerland)!
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 498
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    RM 497
  • Priceline
    RM 498
  • eDreams
    RM 498
0.1 km from Berghotel Derby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
RM 782
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    RM 782
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 782
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Berghotel Derby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 737
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    RM 735
  • Priceline
    RM 737
  • eDreams
    RM 737
0.4 km from Berghotel Derby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 686
  • Agoda.com
    RM 684
  • eDreams
    RM 686
  • Vio.com
    RM 684
0.2 km from Berghotel Derby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
RM 969
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
    RM 969
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Berghotel Derby
Free parking
Restaurant
Vio.com
RM 590
    0.4 km from Berghotel Derby
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Booking.com
    RM 591
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      RM 590
    0.4 km from Berghotel Derby
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    3.0 km from Berghotel Derby
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    RM 1,070
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      RM 1,068
    • Priceline
      RM 1,070
    • eDreams
      RM 1,070
    0.6 km from Berghotel Derby
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    RM 787
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      RM 785
    0.6 km from Berghotel Derby
    View more hotels in Fiesch in Valais
    Reviews (77)
    Filter reviews
    77 results
    Traveller rating
    36
    35
    6
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    36
    35
    6
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 77 reviews
    Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

    We decided to extend our ski trip by one day. Funny enough we were joking about the red „Derby“ sign the day before so when it popped up in the well rated recommendations we were amused but went for it!

    Overall can only confirm the previous comments: delivers great value for the price, decent sized room, everything very clean, good variety for breakfast incl fresh bread and eggs, friendly staff, good location (we found it very quiet during night the street nearby couldnt hear). The interior is a bit dated but has it‘s charme. Would come again.

    Date of stay: January 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Thomas E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 July 2018

    We enjoyed our stay quite a bit in this small town. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station. Our room (and I think all of them) had a small balcony which was great for sitting on in the evenings. The furnishings are a bit older but still in good shape and clean. The breakfast was quite good, and the breakfast room also has a selection of board games for use later in the day. The room could use a few more lights though as it gets a bit dim after dark.

    Date of stay: July 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank sukhoi_584th
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 August 2017

    We stayed here just one night, but it was a really good experience and we would come back any time.
    The hotel is on the edge of Fiesch, near a river with a nice view of the mountains. It was very clean, the rooms were a little old-fashined, but of a good size and well-maintained. We liked that you could stay in the breakfast area and have something to drink in the evening. Breakfast was nice, a good choice of cereal and continental food.
    The staff were really friendly and helpful, they made the hotel really special.
    For the price, it was absolutely perfect, for Switzerland a real bargain.

    Date of stay: August 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank bookwifey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 July 2017

    There's nothing that you can complain of when you stay at Berghotel Derby!

    Location:
    It's 10-15 minutes from the Fiesch train station but the hotel offers a free pick and drop service upon request.

    Service:
    This was an amazing stay for us and the best staff service we experienced in Switzerland across the 12 days that we were there. Michele ran the place single-handedly and treated us like family. Everything right from the quality of the room to breakfast and front desk was exceptional. I truly believe that it is how the hotel treats you that makes or breaks your memory of the stay. Michele is a beautiful person with a kind and caring heart and she takes care of every single detail of your stay.

    Amenities:
    The small details like the quality of the pillows, the range of tea bags after a long journey and the presence of a beautiful balcony made it oh-so-comfortable for us. There is also a Restaurant Park next door that offers good food at night. Overall, loved staying here!

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank misstraveltoes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 May 2017

    Wonderful location with fantastic views.
    Clean but small rooms but didn't require anymore than this for a one night stay. A short walk to the town for restaurants for the evening meal.
    A lovely spread for breakfast in the morning with a great view down the valley was a wonderful start to the day.
    Friendly helpful owner.

    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TBetchley
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews