We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria
Nearby Hotels
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$110
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$200
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Memories Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Buenavista(Cayo Santa Maria)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
192
168
50
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
168
50
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschicken manbutler servicediamond clubsanta marialobsterdinner reservationsa la carteother resortsgold braceletsgrand buffetbeach grillthe busbottles of liquorpool barpizzabreakfast and lunch buffetsamazing butler
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I and our friends, another Couple, visited Sanctuary at Grand Memories Cayo Santa Maria from March 20th to the 27th.
We have traveled to Cuba approximately 12 times over the past 13 years. We travel to resorts at least 4 star and up. This was one of our best trips and by far one of the best resorts we have been to.
The location of the Sanctuary buildings to the beach, pool and Sanctuary Lobby was very convenient. Even though you are part of the larger Resort you don't even need to venture past the Sanctuary. Everything is right here for you. Keep in mind we travel South to lay on a beautiful beach and recharge for the week, this might not be for everyone. This resort & beach is the place for just that!
We had two Butler's, Miguel (Mike) & Yadiel.
These two were truly awesome and I would return to the Sanctuary just based on the service these two young men provided.
They checked us in when we arrived, while we sat and had a drink. They arranged our rooms right away (we landed onsite at 1pm) and then delivered our luggage to our rooms right away. These two gentlemen looked after anything we needed the entire week and were always accessible wherever we were. They also, along with our wonderful maid, set up a surprise birthday decoration for our room as it was my birthday during the week there. On top of the cool decorations they also arranged a flaming birthday cake delivered to our table and a serenade.
Overall the food here is pretty good for Cuba, we had the luxury of an alacarte restaurant every night (arranged by our butlers each day)...no standing in line for reservations like other resorts.
All the staff we were in touch with were very accommodating and very happy, smiles all around every day.
We will be back!



Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TonyHFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tony,

We hope you had a nice flight back home.

It has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Our team will be delighted once they read your wonderful comments. Thank you very much for recommending Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria to future guests. You have praised so many aspects, including food and staff, which are very important booking factors. Receive please our deepest gratitude because we are inspired by your positive feedback. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for those stays to come. It will be such a huge pleasure to welcome you back my friend, so we could share more wonderful moments.

Make sure you send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your time with us.

Best regards form our little paradise.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time!The service we were provided was top notch! Everything was more than we ever expected, The butler service was wonderfulAt the sanctuary we had access to the two other grand memory properties, so we had a wide choice of activities, ala carte restaurants or buffets, 24 hour bars, and snacks. The sanctuary is an all adult resort, so very comfortable!!

Room Tip: All have balconies, so choose which floor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rosella,

The Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria team would like to thank you for your nice comments about our Hotel, as it is a great motivation for us to read your kind and positive words.
We appreciate you took part of your precious time to share your experience.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort. Thank you very much for highlight the service provided by our butlers.

Warm regards from Cuba,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time in the sanctuary section; really enjoyed the adult only but not sure if the butler service was necessary, although I'm not sure we were quite sure how to utilize this service. There is an information board posted outside, that we didn't notice until our second last day, that explains butler duties.

As usual the beach is perfection and the service is excellent!

The room was bright and very clean but tired; fresh paint can only do so much.

Even though I emailed the resort, to let them know we were returning guests, it was not recognized. Although I don't know what I expected; maybe a room with a nicer view? The resort was not full but we didn't ask for a room change either.

I would go there again..... However our return flight with Sunwing was terrible. A 3.5 hour flight turned out to be 7 hours! We landed in Cancun, deplaned, had to go thru customs and pick up our luggage...... all to get back onto the same plane!

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor for ocean view but there are no elevators.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Flyforevertogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to read that your returning flight wasn´t very good, however we hope everything is perfect back home.
It is an honor for all the team that makes up the Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria family, to receive their excellent comments regarding their vacations. We are very happy to know that we were able to be part of special moments and we appreciate your feedback regarding the improvements that can be made in our service and activities, which we take very seriously. Please be aware that we will reinforce the requests, especially from Returning Guest.

We hope to have the pleasure to pamper you one more time in our little paradise, guaranteeing the improvements in our service, as we always say, the satisfaction of our guests is our only wish.

Warm regards from Cayo Santa Maria,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

arrived the 17 march 2018, the weather was amazing and the beach was to die for, we were on block 61 upper level, room 6175 nice and quiet and close to the beach as we had requested, thank you to the person that made it possible. yagnel made my birthday very special, thank you for all the nice thoughts. we where 6, we all enjoyed the the food specially the a la carte restaurant in the sanctuary, they have the best service and menus our favorite was the cuban night a most, they should have it more often, the sea food and porc was awsome, we will go back , miss paula, and miss veiga keep up the good work ,you work hard and long hours to improve the resort maintenace, thank you and see you all soon, missing the sanctuary already, one last comment mosquitos just love me, but i did not get one bite, they seem to have it under control.

Room Tip: section facing the pool is noisier.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elda.

Receive a warm regard from all the Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria family.

It has been a pleasure to pamper you in our paradise and we really appreciate you took the time to share your stay with us. It is our real pleasure to read you had an excellent holiday and your requests were accomplished.

Please be aware that we hope to welcome you again to celebrate another great birthday with you.

Warm regards from Cayo Santa Maria,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a fantastic “Sisters Vacation” March 15-22, 2018 at the Sanctuary in Cayo Santa Maria. We were in Building 58 with a wonderful ocean view (as requested) of the breathtakingly gorgeous teal water. Our Butlers were Loyda (who quickly accommodated our room request of a lamp between our beds) and Mercedes (who arranged cappuccinos to be delivered to our room each morning) – both made our dinner reservations, and were always interested in our day, and we had such nice chats with them – just lovely young ladies with wonderful, caring personalities. Our maid, Niurka kept our room clean and left cute towel art daily, plus she was a friendly person always greeting us. The mini bar always filled without a problem too. We found the beds and pillows very comfortable and that the resort lived up to its “Sanctuary” name by being very quiet overnight – we slept well.

The food was very good! We enjoyed our breakfasts at the Sanctuary buffet. Nice and tranquil atmosphere outside on the deck, and with a pretty ocean view. Lunch was always on the beach and we loved the chicken breast burgers (especially with BBQ sauce) and the cheeseburgers that Junior made – what a nice guy! We looked forward to seeing him each day, and he always greeted us and had a little chat with us on our way to and from the beach. We were excited to have the lobster at the Seafood a la carte at Sanctuary and were lucky to have it on two occasions (once it was perfect and moist and the second time, on Sunday, the lobster was noticeably dryer, but we just added more butter!) - the mashed potatoes were sooo good! We found the International a la carte at Sanctuary also to be very good – the breaded chicken was amazing! The Mexican and Italian a la cartes at Grand Memories were also delicious, and the Grand Memories dinner buffet had lots of variety on the couple evenings we ate there, and very good service with wine top-ups. We found all the servers to be quite good at all the restaurants, although some had better English than others. They all worked very hard and deserved our tips.

We enjoyed lazy days on the white sand beach under a palapa reading books, and bobbing on the gentle waves in the beautiful teal ocean water, and the beach is perfect for long walks too. The only disappointment was the lack of palapas at Sanctuary. At first, I was able to reserve ours at 7:15 am, shortly after the sun came up, but on day 3 of our vacation something happened, and after that, by then nothing was available. I was told by the beach palapa guy that they were all reserved by 5:30 - 6:00 am!! Well, I woke up at 6:00 am but it was still pitch black dark outside. I would have needed a flashlight to go to the beach then! I wonder if the beach palapa guys at Sanctuary are being paid in advance by guests wanting to reserve palapas for the next day. It just doesn’t make sense that people are really going down to the beach in the dark to reserve every one of the palapas. Whatever is going on should be seriously looked into by management and stopped immediately – it’s extremely frustrating for the Sanctuary guests who paid to be in the Adults Only section of the beach to have no palapas available to them first thing in the morning. Also, there needs to be at least another 50 palapas added to the Sanctuary beach area – and there is plenty of room for them. On the bright side, our search for available palapas led us to the Diamond Club section of the Grand Memories beach where Marlon works! He was such a delight to meet and would run to carry our beach bags (or drinks) and get our beach chairs ready, rushing off before we could give him a tip...but he deserved it, so we made sure he got them! He had a great sense of humour and made everyone laugh. He loves his job and it shows! We also took a (Hobie Cat) catamaran ride which was lots of fun and gave us a nice view of the resort from the ocean.

We spent a little time at the pool to end our days late in the afternoon after leaving the beach, before returning to our room to get ready for dinner. There was usually live entertainment at that time and it was very good! The pool was clean, and the water was warm – and the pool bar drinks were great. That time of day, many of the pool palapas didn’t seem to provide much shade from the sun, so we didn’t spend a whole lot of time there, but it was still a fun way to end the afternoon. The towel exchange building is right there too, so it’s convenient to get a fresh beach towel on the way back to your room. Sweet young lady who exchanges the towels there. I can’t remember her name but she was very nice and gave us a little Spanish lesson!

After dinner, and a short walk to the Grand Memories Theatre, we ended our evenings watching the entertainment there. Loved the shows. The dancers really are talented and you can tell that they work hard to give their guests a great performance every night.

When we were a little tired, we’d flag down one of the drivers with the golf carts – our most fun rides were with the “Chicken Man” who was so much fun! You couldn’t help but laugh and sing along with the songs he played when riding with him! Our last morning, while waiting at Grand Memories for the bus to drive us back to the airport - even though he wasn’t our driver - after dropping off some other guests for their bus drive home, the Chicken Man came over to my sister and me and shook our hands, and said good-bye before going back to is golf cart. So nice of him!

We liked the close proximity to the market and visited it several times during our stay finding lots of lovely souvenirs to bring home. We also took the Panoramic Bus tour which was a fun ride – especially on the second level with the open top - and a nice way to see the Cayo Santa Maria area a little better.

We would highly recommend Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria. I just might return next year... this time with my husband!

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view rooms are wonderful!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheBachands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We hope you had a nice flight back home.

It has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Our team will be delighted once they read your wonderful comments. Thank you very much for recommending Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria to future guests. You have praised so many aspects, including food and staff, which are very important booking factors. Receive please our deepest gratitude because we are inspired by your positive feedback. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for those stays to come. It will be such a huge pleasure to welcome you back my friend, so we could share more wonderful moments. Make sure you send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your time with us.

Best regards form our little paradise.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews