We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Taiping British Architectural & Heritage Day Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
US$112.16
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Taiping War Cemetery
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
39
43
19
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
43
19
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soldiers headstones grave campaign unidentified freedom road fighting nationalities commonwealth commission sobering maxwell
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

we did not stop long at this destination. it was quick pass by. very clean and well kept. just to show respect

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Sunshine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 November 2016

imrealy like to admire everytime past by Taiping War Memorial ground for the upkeeping of the beauty and cleen environment by the british goverment staf who are taking care of this place . we can see the unity of the diferent nation and ethnic who were martyred in the world war one and two for the british who ruled malaya at that time/Leaving behind memories of British administration in Taiping with all the fist in Malaya like Railway,admin buildings and many historical places..it is situated on the way to bukit larut and next to Coronation swimming pool.about 1km from zoo taiong. at the foot of bukit larut and taman sentosa and Burmese pool.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank pvsubramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We came here after during the evening. There are 2 side of the war cemetary. One side was for the Muslims and Ghurka soldiers graves and the opposite sides was for the Christians graves.

We walked in and we can feel the peace. I really can not imagine the family behind those soldiers whom were sacrificed in this cruel war. Their family members were waiting for their sons to return home. It must be heartbreaking to know that their beloved was buried at the foreign land. I did notice from the date stated on the tombstones, most of them were young, really young at their early 20s. Really feel grateful for their services for our country!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank TooP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have finally made it after having visited Malaysia pretty regularly for the last 15 years. We arrived in the hot midday sun & was completely taken back by the serenity & the well kept site. There was actually a gardener weeding & he said he comes daily!! So humbling & grateful for his hard work. It was also so sad to see these very young but brave men scacrificed their lives for our freedom & democracy today!! Long should they be remembered.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Nellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The Taiping War Cemetery is the final resting place for Allied soldiers killed during World War II in Malaya. It is separated into two compounds: one side for Christian graves, the other for non-Christian graves. It is not a huge area, and for the casual visitor it may not have much to offer in terms of things to do, but it is a great reminder of those who lost their lives in combat during the war. The surrounding is indeed very peaceful, and also very well-maintained, and is conveniently located on the way from the Lake Gardens to Bukit Larut (Maxwell Hill). It would've been more interesting to have some interpretation signs around to learn and understand the history and significance of the place, but it's still a good place to stop for a while on your way to Maxwell Hill.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews