We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Taiping British Architectural & Heritage Day Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
US$112.16
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Taiping War Cemetery
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
39
43
19
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
43
19
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soldiers headstones grave campaign unidentified freedom road fighting nationalities commonwealth commission sobering maxwell
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016

There are more than 850 World War II casualties commemorated here. This is the final resting place for World War II servicemen located in Bukit Larut and erected and maintained by Commonwealth War Graves Commission. No charges applicable for visiting. The notable grave here belongs to Royal Air Force Squadrom Leader, Arthur Stewart King. He was one of the first RAF fatalities in Malaya and was awarded Victoria Cross posthumously. Quite a heartbreaking sight

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank sargunarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 December 2016

we did not stop long at this destination. it was quick pass by. very clean and well kept. just to show respect

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Sunshine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 November 2016

imrealy like to admire everytime past by Taiping War Memorial ground for the upkeeping of the beauty and cleen environment by the british goverment staf who are taking care of this place . we can see the unity of the diferent nation and ethnic who were martyred in the world war one and two for the british who ruled malaya at that time/Leaving behind memories of British administration in Taiping with all the fist in Malaya like Railway,admin buildings and many historical places..it is situated on the way to bukit larut and next to Coronation swimming pool.about 1km from zoo taiong. at the foot of bukit larut and taman sentosa and Burmese pool.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank pvsubramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We came here after during the evening. There are 2 side of the war cemetary. One side was for the Muslims and Ghurka soldiers graves and the opposite sides was for the Christians graves.

We walked in and we can feel the peace. I really can not imagine the family behind those soldiers whom were sacrificed in this cruel war. Their family members were waiting for their sons to return home. It must be heartbreaking to know that their beloved was buried at the foreign land. I did notice from the date stated on the tombstones, most of them were young, really young at their early 20s. Really feel grateful for their services for our country!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank TooP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have finally made it after having visited Malaysia pretty regularly for the last 15 years. We arrived in the hot midday sun & was completely taken back by the serenity & the well kept site. There was actually a gardener weeding & he said he comes daily!! So humbling & grateful for his hard work. It was also so sad to see these very young but brave men scacrificed their lives for our freedom & democracy today!! Long should they be remembered.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Nellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews