We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I expected”
Review of Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lubango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lubango
Reviewed 27 September 2014

This is truly a remnant of colonial days! A bus traveler who sat next to me - and spoke English - and lives in Lubango - is Indian and married to an Angolan woman - claimed this was the best hotel in Lubango. He found a friend with a big truck to take me to the hotel - no taxis to be seen at bus depot - and sorted out all he could before leaving me on my own. No one spoke English. The room had an entry hall, a bathroom with bathtub and bidet, and a large bedroom. Very grand indeed. Hotel was huge, staff as attentive as possible without language, and I got lots of exercise walking to and from lobby, as it was the only place for wifi. Breakfast was good - eggs and sausages, along with cereals, bread and fruit. No taxi to airport when I was leaving, so one of what I assumed was the administrators left work and drove me there! Wow! And wouldn't take anything for it - same as the truck driver, and a man in Cabinda who took me to Maiombe Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank canaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

We originally booked three nights at this hotel at the recommendation of an Angolan colleague. We arrived and our reservation was in order, and oddly enough they didn't ask us to pay the bill right away. The rate was $140 for two, with breakfast.

The hotel is huge, actually, and it shows that it once was "grand" as the name suggests, with a huge lobby, dining room, and there is a very nice pool, with a spacious deck.

The rooms are good size, the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. I don't think there were many people there, so it was a bit strange and felt empty. This hotel is not cheerful at all.

The bathroom had a bathtub, toilet, wash basin, etc. The bathtub did not have a shower curtain... and, then, horrors of horrors, there was no hot water. Lubango is nearly a high altitude city, kind of cool, so, the water is very cold. Needless to say, I was not a happy camper, and this was the decisive factor to change hotels. We moved to the Casper Lodge down the road.

The breakfast, well, they make a good attempt, but it was not pleasant. There were cooked eggs ready, but were very greasy. The coffee was rather weak. We were not impressed.

On the second day, we moved to the Casper Lodge.

It's truly a shame they have not maintained this hotel.. could be grand again with a some TLC!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The hotel still has character but following competition from a new hotel up the road, the Grand Hotel needs a face lift and an change in attitude. This hotel has great potential. Service is poor arrive early for dinner as the choice is limited.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The Grand Hotel da Huila is the best hotel in Lubango, a relatively nice, central Angolan city.

The lobby and swimming pool exude an atmosphere of an old cold war spy thriller. A bit seedy, but somewhat attractice to people with a knack for this era.

The rooms and food were clean and ok.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hachanamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Dr. AntA3nio Agostinho Neto, Lubango, Huila, Lubango, Angola
Region: Angola > Huila Province > Lubango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lubango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing