We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Northern Canada Fishing Experience”
Deck with a view of the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck with a view of the lake
Just one of the monsters waiting for you View from the walkway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Deck with a view of the lake
Just one of the monsters waiting for you
View from the walkway
Chartered float plane
Fully equipped kitchen
Many lovely sunsets
Lots of water to explore
Lodge is situated on sandy point
Breathtaking sunset
Comfortable Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
La Ronge, Saskatchewan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SMRTTrave...
Red Deer, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Northern Canada Fishing Experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2021 for a stay in July 2021

This was are second trip to Wheeler and we found it better than the first. Can't wait for a return trip. The ecology of the Wheeler River Lodge provided us with an opportunity to do something different for each of the 7 days we were there. Fishing on the river was steady with Walleye and Northern Pike, while the many walk in lakes provided additional fishing experience with Northerns (30-40" plus), Lake Trout and Arctic Grayling. And on top of great fishing, the hospitality and facilities were 'best in class'. Cheryl and Kevin go the extra mile to help visitors get the most out of the time we spent there. Thanks for the great memories.

Date of stay: July 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jul 2021
You’re most welcome. What an honour to be a part of your 2021 summer memories - and now you’re officially part of the WRL Swim Club!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockrobst...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing experience once again!”
Reviewed 13 July 2021 for a stay in June 2021

This was our second time to Wheeler River northern paradise fly in camp, fishing was excellent, weather was perfect, and the lodge has everything we needed to make the trip one to remember. Cheryl and Kevin are world class hosts in a beautiful wilderness setting that would be hard to beat anywhere. We are already looking forward to our next fishing adventure extraordinaire with them!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jul 2021
Your group must be living right - the weather has cooperated with you 110% both years!! Calm, warm, glassy with a hint of horse fly!
Thanks for your positive review and we look forward your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwakes91
1 review
“Saskatchewan Paradise”
Reviewed 12 July 2021 for a stay in June 2021

This was our second trip to Wheeler River and I can not wait to get back for a third. The fishing was amazing and that was also topped off by the great accommodations provided by Kevin and Cheryl. If you are looking for a fly in fishing camp, this is definitely the place to go!

Date of stay: June 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jul 2021
Thank you for your kind words. It’s always a
Pleasure to have your group in camp and look forward to June of 2023!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexlers
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Fishery, outstanding hosts.”
Reviewed 10 July 2021 for a stay in July 2021

It's not just the fantastic fishing, it's the uniqueness of Wheeler River that brought us up for the second time. It's the relationship with the Rowswells which will bring us up for a third.
Clean, orderly accommodation - found everything we needed (even the knives in the drawers were all sharpened...). Lovely place to relax after coming back from a day on the water where lots of big walleye and pike were caught.
Kevin's made a number of other lakes accessible from the Wheeler River, so that when you'd like a change from the river you can easily find it. Lakes with different species, and lakes with trophies. He's made them accessible through invention and experience, and an outing with him is fun and rewarding.
Wheeler River is in a unique geography for a Canadian Shield camp - the same sand from Athabasca comes down and creates a very interesting landscape (and one a little more forgiving on propellers than normal shield granite). Beautiful.
We've been on many fly-ins, and if Wheeler isn't the best, it's right up there at the top. Thanks Kevin, thanks Cheryl. Thanks Jazz.

Date of stay: July 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jul 2021
The three of us (Jazz included) thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit. Hopefully, it won’t be so blasted hot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L B
Cut Knife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Northern Getaway”
Reviewed 3 July 2021 for a stay in July 2021

This was my 4th visit to this excellent northern fishing/hunting camp. Kevin and Cheryl clearly love this place and welcome each visitor who comes to enjoy the fantastic and varied fishing and other adventures.
Wheeler River Lodge is a wonderful place to enjoy the peaceful solitude of the north, hear the beautiful call of the loon, see the unique landscapes and plants that abound. You may also be lucky enough to glimpse some of the wildlife that roams in the area.
The taste of a fish cooked to perfection over an open fire of Kevin’s shore lunches cannot be replicated in the best restaurant back home.

Date of stay: July 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jul 2021
Kevin’s shore lunches are certainly a highlight!
We are thankful for your 4th visit and Hope soon to make it 5!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.